We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Getaway- feels farther away than it is”
Gloaming at Sea Dream, a beach cottage at the water's very edge.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Gloaming at Sea Dream, a beach cottage at the water's very edge.
Sea Dream:  A wall of windows;  wood burning fireplace (wood provided). Sea Dream:  View as you wash dishes.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
104 reviews
Gloaming at Sea Dream, a beach cottage at the water's very edge.
Sea Dream:  A wall of windows;  wood burning fireplace (wood provided).
Sea Dream:  View as you wash dishes.
Sea Dream:  All Nova Foam with gel top King Bed
The most spectacular sunsets Orcas Island can offer are from this very spot.
Serene, sublime, peaceful, awesome, too good to be imagined. . .morning at Sea Dream Cottage.
Sea Dream: Hammock (summer only)
Sea Dream:  Bathroom.
Orcas Island: Sunsets from Intense to sublime.  The light show lasts for hours.
Orcas Island:  Ferry lights reflected in water
Mariner's Dream:  Hammock (summer only)
Mariner's Bedroom:  Nova Foam King Bed with gel top
Mariner's Bedroom: see stars from skylight
Mariner's Dream: small but efficient kitchen
Mariner's Dream:  A shower for two.
Isle Dream: Hidden Hideaway.
Isle Dream: Welcoming red door
Isle Dream:  Room with a View
Isle Dream: Small efficient Kitchen
Isle Dream:  Shower for Two built into Skylight
Isle Dream: Big wrap around deck & View
Isle Dream:  Hammock on Waterfront (summer only)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Deer Harbor, Orcas Island, San Juan Islands, Washington

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 104 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jack D
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Getaway- feels farther away than it is”
Reviewed 3 July 2012 for a stay in May 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Property lives up to its photos. Spacious and relaxing living room. Functional kitchen. Very close to ferry terminal but makes for wonderful views especially at night.

Very steep and many steps to parking at the road. Very steep at back of property going toward water. BUT with the view and great livingroom and deck there is no need to go anywhere. Just curl up and relax.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Wonderful views, close to ferry and grocery, quiet
Liked least: steep climb to road and steep climb down to water
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Feb 2018
Thank you. We have added a note on our Mariner's Dream Cottage telling them about the 50 steps down (which guarantees privacy) that may be a challenge for some.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Browngirl...
Laguna Niguel, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“Truly a dream!”
Reviewed 2 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012

Sea Dream cottage was stunningly beautiful from the dreamlike view to every detail of the decor. If you like the kind of place where you have absolute peace, a spectacular view from every angle (including the kitchen sink), sunsets, and sea glass treasures with every tide, then plan your trip around staying at this cottage. Our last evening we were blessed to have 6 orcas swim right out in front and were bid farewell with a pair of deer on the beach below.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: We did not dislike a single thing
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Feb 2018
Thank you. Our guests who sit still see more.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachman7...
LA, CA
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Private with Stunning Views”
Reviewed 9 March 2012 for a stay in March 2012

We were very fortunate to have found this gem on Orcas Island. The Sea Dream Cottage is located at the end of the road on the West side, with its own private beach. The full glass window front made for an exceptional view of the islands, with the sun and the moon. The fireplace with extra wood on the side of the cottage was a nice touch. Everything that you need for great get a way awaits you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and view
Liked least: Black ants
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Feb 2018
Thank you. The fireplace is the highlight of a winter visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jalado
mukilteo
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A little peace of heaven”
Reviewed 5 January 2012 for a stay in January 2012

Sea dreams cottage is the most tranquil and relaxing cottage I have ever stayed at. The sound of the waves on the beach in the mornings and the sunsets at night not to forget the wildlife and beauty of the area. Sea dreams is definelty a dream come true. We are third timers there and will surely return as soon as we can. A hidden treasure for sure.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and surroundings
Liked least: having to leave
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Feb 2018
Thank you. Come back often.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy B
North of Boston, MA USA
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Awesome! Beautiful! Peaceful! Renewing!”
Reviewed 12 November 2011 for a stay in September 2011

Stayed in the Sea Dream cottage the first week in September for three nights. We thought we'd be out and about all day and just come back to the cottage for dinner and to sleep, but we did not want to do more than take short breaks away to sightsee. We LOVED this cottage and everything about it - the location (facing west into spectacular sunsets); the serenity (almost on top of the water); the cottage itself (floor-to-ceiling windows and beautiful but comfortable furnishings). We hated to leave and would definitely, absolutely, without a doubt return here if/when we are lucky enough to get back to the San Juan Islands. The kitchen was small but efficiently laid-out and well-equipped. The bathroom was also small, but adequate and we had plenty of hot water for showering, plus there were plenty of deliciously-soft towels (thank you, Nanae!!). After dinner we'd just sit on the deck (full width of the cottage), listen to the waves lapping the shore below us, and watch the sun set behind the other islands. No TV, no internet, but who needs it when you have a place as perfect as Sea Dream Cottage?

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location & the serenity
Liked least: That I don't live there
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Feb 2018
Thank you. Times change We have internet now.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanderers...
lehigh valley, pa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, but spoiled by late night intruders.”
Reviewed 6 August 2011 for a stay in July 2011
1
person found this review helpful

The Isle Dream is a 375 square foot, open floor plan cottage with a spectacular view. The trail to the rocky beach is difficult to navigate, but worth it to see all the sea stars. Their is a "ghost deer" and her fawn that come around. We did manage to get a photo of the fawn. The dual shower with the sunlight is great. There is also a property that is under renovation(not progressing rapidly) adjacent to the cottage.
Our last night we were woken up around 11pm by someone trying to get into the cottage though the front door. Terrified, we screamed and yelled for them to leave. We could see there were 2 people up on the doorstep and wrap-around deck. They eventually left yelling they had the wrong cottage. We could hear a car at the top of the path that leads down to the cottage. Finally, we hear the car leave. Fortunately, our nightly habit includes locking the doors. If that had not occurred, things could have gotten very bad. The intruders would have been met with fire tools to the head. After our heart and respiratory rates returned to normal(about 30 minutes) we called the owners to tell them what happened. We were a bit surprised to find out they already knew about the event. Apparently, the people trying to get into the cottage were the next renters due to come in the next day. While the owners stress respecting their guests' privacy, this is an incident in which they should have immediately called us to tell us what had occurred. We told them we did not feel safe and were assured that they had never had any safety issues(not sure what they considered the 2 idiots trying to get into the cottage). The owners get low marks for customer service in this regard. We obviously did not sleep much the rest of the night and left early in the morning. While the owners can't idiot proof who they rent to, we feel they should have contacted us immediately after finding out what had occurred. The owner seemed to downplay the event and did not show any concern for safety. While the setting was physically beautiful, we will not return to this place. The event of the last night there accounts for our low rating of this property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The deck and the view
Liked least: Attempted break-in last night of stay.
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Feb 2018
February, 2018. Not being social media savvy, I did not know that I could respond to reviews until lately. And on this quiet day in February, 2018 I reflect on what these guests are saying. We did handle this situation BADLY. The call came in the middle of the night and Richard did not quite understand the situation. The other guests in this drama had booked two cottages--and had called a minute before to ask for directions to their first cottage. We were aware that they were lost and had been to Isle Dream but they had not shared that they had knocked at the door. So, we did not think to call our guests at Isle Dream. However, when they called, we should have listened and empathized with the situation far better than we did. Island living makes us complacent and, possibly more detached than we should from the intense safety concerns from those that visit us from the city.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico city
Reviewed 13 June 2011 for a stay in June 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 25-34
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 Feb 2018
February, 2018: Tree House has been retired.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing