We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Truly an All Dream Cottage!”
Gloaming at Sea Dream, a beach cottage at the water's very edge.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Gloaming at Sea Dream, a beach cottage at the water's very edge.
Sea Dream:  A wall of windows;  wood burning fireplace (wood provided). Sea Dream:  View as you wash dishes.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
100 reviews
Gloaming at Sea Dream, a beach cottage at the water's very edge.
Sea Dream:  A wall of windows;  wood burning fireplace (wood provided).
Sea Dream:  View as you wash dishes.
Sea Dream:  All Nova Foam with gel top King Bed
The most spectacular sunsets Orcas Island can offer are from this very spot.
Serene, sublime, peaceful, awesome, too good to be imagined. . .morning at Sea Dream Cottage.
Sea Dream: Hammock (summer only)
Sea Dream:  Bathroom.
Orcas Island: Sunsets from Intense to sublime.  The light show lasts for hours.
Orcas Island:  Ferry lights reflected in water
Mariner's Dream:  Hammock (summer only)
Mariner's Bedroom:  Nova Foam King Bed with gel top
Mariner's Bedroom: see stars from skylight
Mariner's Dream: small but efficient kitchen
Mariner's Dream:  A shower for two.
Isle Dream: Hidden Hideaway.
Isle Dream: Welcoming red door
Isle Dream:  Room with a View
Isle Dream: Small efficient Kitchen
Isle Dream:  Shower for Two built into Skylight
Isle Dream: Big wrap around deck & View
Isle Dream:  Hammock on Waterfront (summer only)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Deer Harbor, Orcas Island, San Juan Islands, Washington

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 100 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Cindy U
Sterling, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Truly an All Dream Cottage!”
Reviewed 27 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Mariner's Dream Cottage was our home on Orcas Island for 6 lovely days in September 2014. It's a perfect base for exploring the rest of Orcas Island. We never tired of watching the ferry traffic or the otters or the hummingbirds from the deck. We found the cottage to be thoughtfully decorated and supplied - in abundance - with everything a visitor might need. There were even coffee beans in the kitchen!! I applaud the owner's decision not to provide Wi-Fi. It's quite restful to truly unplug.
There are several steps down to cottage which might pose a problem to someone with mobility or balance issues. We came to appreciate them - as it made us feel like we were burning off a few calories!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location - close to ferry, grocery store, water views - yet still very private
Liked least: We liked everything!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan S
Washington
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Excellent view and pretty quiet when the Ferry is not near”
Reviewed 22 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is fantastic, rather large and a lot of windows to enjoy the view. I would not recommend this cabin to those that have mobility issues, the 50 stairs are pretty steep. We truly enjoyed the listening to the waves lap up on the rocks. There is no beach at this property, just a rocky hillside. That being said there is a nice little fire pit that is accessible on the hillside and was quite nice in the evening (they do supply a little bit of firewood). If you don't want to wash the dishes bring paper plates and plastic utensils. There is also a really nice gas fireplace in the cottage that's a nice touch. I could only imagine how pleasant it must have been when the hot tub was on the deck.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view was wonderful
Liked least: The instant hot water kept coming on all day and night. The exterior of the shower could have used some more cleaning.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
144James7
Sumneytown, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Deer Harbor - very enjoyable stay with exceptionally good breakfasts.”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We had a very scenic harbor view from our room, nice quiet evenings, with comfortable beds, plus friendly and very helpful staff.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2017
Thank you. We are happy to have this review of our Kingfish Inn (a sister property we own with its own Trip Advisor page). Regrettably, there are no breakfasts at our ALL DREAM COTTAGES--the cottages are all self catering with fully equipped kitchens.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jen M
Portland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mariner's Dream Cottage: Falsely Advertised and Over-priced”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I rented the Mariners Dream Cottage for 5 nights for our honeymoon and were very disappointed. We thought we'd splurge a bit, being that it was a special occasion, but were really let down when we checked in and realized the house was not at all worth the money we spent ($328/nt). It was more space than we needed but we were looking for a quiet waterfront house with a hot tub and the Mariner's Dream reportedly satisfied our wish list so we were happy to pay a bit extra. Unfortunately, when we arrived we realized the house was grossly misrepresented on their website, as listed below.

Hot tub - Nope. It was removed prior to our arrival. When I complained the owners refunded us $20/nt (whoop-dee-doo!).
Quiet - Not a chance. This house is VERY close to the ferry... you can hear every announcement over the loud speaker and the foghorn every time the ferry comes in/out, morning till night.
Private - Negatory. There is another property next door (appearing to be another rental) and you can hear everything that goes on out on the deck, including very loud sex.
Walk down to the water - Maybe. If you're very nimble and not afraid of falling down the cliff onto rocks in the water below.

Other cons...
Dirty - All of the utensils, pots, pans, etc. in the kitchen were filthy. The shower was covered in soap scum, spiders and their webs.
Unsanitary - Wall to wall carpet in the BATHROOM! Nasty!
Old and not well maintained - This property has not been updated in quite some time. The living room furniture was old and faded, the carpet was stained, the grill was filthy and the ignitor was broken, and the wood in the backdoor was rotted and cracked.
Accessibility - This was not a problem for us but I think it should be mentioned because it was not described on their website when we made our reservation. The house is accessed by a long steep staircase, probably 50 or more steps. This would not be a good place for elderly or anyone with a handicap.

And now for some pros...
View - The waterfront view was very beautiful.
Wildlife - We awoke to a mother deer and her calf lying on the grass below the deck, were visited by humming birds, bald eagles and other fowl, and watched the seals play in the water just behind the house.
Hammock - There's one on the deck. It's great for watching the wildlife and stargazing.

I'd like to note that we are well traveled people, having spent most of our vacations in third world countries and are very happy with modest accommodations. However, if we're splurging for a special occasion and paying over $300 a night, we expect - at the very least - to have a clean space and an honest description on what to expect for our money. Unfortunately, the folks at All Dream Cottages were not honest about this rental and in my opinion, are ripping their customers off.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Aug 2014
We take the "dream" in our name seriously and are happy to have an opportunity to respond to this "Bad Review" promised by guest a full month prior to her visit. We gave her many opportunities to cancel this reservation when she told us that the "only reason" she booked with us was the hot-tub, never mind the location, convenience, bountiful nature, stunning views or 1 full acre of private waterfront.
Our hot-tub was damaged by a winter storm in 2013 and all guests who booked prior to its removal was notified and all reference to the hot-tub (including pictures) were removed from our website. This guest booked with us after this fact. We, however, recognized that she may have read reviews mentioning the hot tub and understood completely when she called to express her disappointment. We gave her the opportunity to cancel (without penalty). Moreover, we gave her some suggestions for other rentals on island with hot tubs that might satisfy her criteria (all lovely and still available since she called us early enough in the season). She called again a few days later to say that she could not find anything like our Mariner's Dream Cottage and that she intended to keep the reservation. She had already gotten a discounted price when she called a third time to impress upon us her disgruntlement about the hot tub AGAIN. We listened (there was little more we could do) and offered to cancel her reservation AGAIN. She did not want that but articulated very clearly her intent to write a Very Negative Trip Advisor Review before hanging up. The guest was determined (a full month before arrival) to be unhappy with us.

Guests who came a few days prior to reviewing guest wrote (in our guestbook): "We are grateful for the opportunity to stay at such a serene place. Mariner's Dream Cottage is the Best of the Best."

We do not think that our cottage could have changed so dramatically between these two stays. And, since she did not call once during her 5 nights stay to give us an opportunity to correct any deficiency on our part, we offer no more apologies.

We do, however, want to take this opportunity to apologize to our Housekeeping staff who were seriously maligned by this reviewer. Our Housekeepers take ownership and pride in the role they play in making the "Dream Cottage Experience" for our guests. The reviewer's attempt to chastise us came at the expense of our hardworking staff and hurt them. We are sorry about that.

Also, we are glad, that in spite of her predisposition, she could still enjoy stargazing from the hammock on deck, see the beauty of the waterfront, be moved by the sight of a mother deer and her fawn on the lawn and could experience watching seals in the water.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLRaceGir...
Sutter Creek, California
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Beautiful home, wonderful garden, lovely location”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

What a beautiful, well cared for home. Built by a local boat builder, the wood throughout is wonderful. Beds and rooms were very comfortable, even a hairdryer and curling iron in the bathroom! We usually end up cooking breakfast and lunch, but this house was so wonderful to sit and watch the sunsets, and had the right pots and pans, a BBQ grill, and we decided to eat dinners in. We had some wonderful clams and salmon, steaks from the local market and lots of vegetables. We also enjoyed the blackberries from the gorgeous garden. The only problem was there was only one hammock! For those interested, it is an easy drive into Deer Harbor, or Eastsound and just a few miles from the ferry landing. There were 4 adults on the trip and the accommodations were perfect, we each had our own bed and bath, plus an extra half bath downstairs. The only problem we had was with the directions...should have included the actual street address, but the blue barn out front was the key!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Perfect size house, well laid out and with the right amount of kitchen tools, etc
Liked least: Just had problems finding the place
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2014
Thank you for your kind words. The Day Dream Farm with its ever changing garden and central location, we think, is the best place to share a vacation with family or friends.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueandFra...
Edmonds, WA
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Sea Dream cottage a relaxing place”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We weren't disappointed after walking into the Sea Dream cottage in Deer Harbor, Orcas Island. Everything you would wish to have is there, including a wall of books, magazines, games and movies. The owner have thought of everything to make their guests comfortable. Nicely decorated with lovely wood flooring.The view off the deck is beautiful, we sat nearly one full day just watching the boats go by, the changing tide and the sunsets.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the secluded quiet setting
Liked least: not a great beach
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2014
Thank you. We reflected long and hard to come up with the adjectives on our website. Sea Dream is our "Magic." We, too, never tire of the views from its wall of windows.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loves2Tra...
El Dorado Hills, California
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Comfortable Cottage with Incredible View”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We very much enjoyed our recent stay at the Waveside Dream Cottage on Orcas Island. If you like to be able to hang out at your place of lodging and just enjoy the views of the ocean and islands and boats, this is the place for you. Beautiful views from almost everywhere both inside the cottage and out, with several exterior deck areas to sit outside.

The cottage has a full kitchen, well-equipped with appliances and cookware and utensils for making your own meals. Also two bathrooms -- the master bath had a spacious shower with dual shower heads that we enjoyed, as well as a two-sink vanity. Also loved laying in the king size master bed and gazing out at the view. The living room has a couch that folds out into a bed, so I think the cottage could accommodate four guests, and the cottage was quite spacious for just the two of us. The big screen TV has a DVD player for bringing your own movies, but no cable or TV service, which suited us just fine. Also no wi-fi. If you have Verizon service with a smart phone or tablet device you should do fine, we had good connectivity with our Verizon service. Not sure about other carriers. Overall the cottage was clean and comfortable and nicely furnished. Hardwood floors with rugs, and they do ask guests to honor their "no shoes" policy inside the cottage. There is a second smaller unit on the property that was not rented out during our stay, so we had plenty of privacy. The cottage is very close to the Westsound ferry landing. You can see the ferry docked from the the cottage. The location is convenient for getting to and from the ferry and we enjoyed watching the ferries come and go as well as watching other saillboats and watercraft from our cottage. It does, however, mean that you'll be driving to around the island if you like to go into the main village of Eastsound and over to Moran State Park and other popular destinations. Eastsound is about a 15-minute drive, but it's a lovely drive so we didn't mind doing it repeatedly.

We believe that All Dream Cottages just recently added the Waveside Dream Cottage to their group of cottages, and it seemed to us that they were still working out a few kinks .A minor plumbing problem, a gas fireplace that did not work and some kitchen cleaning supplies that were not adequately stocked prior to our visit. We found the owners to be very responsive to addressing the issues when we informed them, and I would not characterize any of these issues as significantly affecting the enjoyment of our stay. However, it did prevent us from giving this cottage an excellent rating, which in our opinion is reserved for an absolutely flawless lodging experience.

Overall, we very much enjoyed our time at Waveside Dream and won't hesitate to return if we're ever splurging on an Orcas Island vacation like this again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views, views, views.
Liked least: Plumbing issue
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2014
Thank you for your detailed review. We truly appreciate feedback from our guests that help us make the Dream Cottage experience better for those coming afterward. The adjective chosen for this cottage is "Spellbinding" and it is bound to become our ULTIMATE Dream Cottage given its local and fine craftsmanship.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing