We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”
Review of Tollgate Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tollgate Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glen Osmond
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We were not expecting much - you get what you pay for - but we were willing to put up with a cruddy room after a long drive to adelaide.
First impression was what a crappy run down building... We opened the door and couldn't believe our eyes! Yes the room itself could do with some maintenance - mostly due to idiotic guests jumping on beds and damaging cieling I think, but the actual service and cleanliness is great, spotless linen, little things like dish liquid, fairly new appliances, and the most comfortable motel bed I've ever slept on! We certainly regretted spending the rest of our trip with the relatives - next time we will be booking in here for the whole trip!

As I said- the building itself could do with a tidy up, but the cleanliness and personal friendly service more than make up for it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thebadegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TollgateM, Owner at Tollgate Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Thank you for your kind review. we agree that the Tollgate is excellent value. we strive towards presenting the best venue possible and your review has certainly encouraged us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

38 - 44 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2012

Comfortable and very convenient. Excellent considering the price. Rooms are well appointed and cleaned. The staff and owners are really helpful and cheery. Highly recommended. Great location for touring the Adelaide Hills and wine regions or Adelaide and the beaches.

Room Tip: Northern side rooms are nicer and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ric K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TollgateM, Owner at Tollgate Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Thanks for the feedback. We've taken your comments onboard and have acted on your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

Had a stay here a few months ago, and was really happy with it.
Cheap motel, comfortable. Good service and was able to check in early without any problems.

Had a spa room. Was nice and relaxing.

Loved the location, easy to get to by car and public transport.

24 hour servo that has drinks, chips etc etc easy walk away, less than five minutes.

Customer service, both pre and at the hotel was FANTASTIC!!! Had torubles getting my net working (the free wifi is a massive bonus) and they helped out without any qualms.

Also were easily able to give me a clock radio.


Would of liked to see an exhaust fan in the main room as that's where the spa was. Ultimatley I'd like to see the spa in the bathroom. Previous person said there was no shower curtains, agree that this would be good to have.

Would also be nice to be able to blockout all the light, curtains were a bit see through and one window wasn't covered at all.

Parking can be tight...spaces need to be defined.

Overall a great experience and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TollgateM, Owner at Tollgate Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Thanks for the valuable feedback. We have already acted on your suggestions and look forward to having you stay in one of our Spa Rooms once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Hi. We've (my three mates and me), have been travelling around Australia for the last 6 weeks experiencing all sorts of weird and wonderful things!
It was our good fortune to stumble across the Tollgate Motel as we were entering Adelaide city. It's just on the right as you come to the end of the freeway.
It's a gracious old building set across from a small park which is adjacent an old silver/lead mine and the old toll house.
We were warmly greeted by Scott who gave us various options for a 3 night stay. We settled on the Family room which had three beds and was extremely well priced.
Our room was spacious and spotlessly clean. Everything we needed was there (Scott even produced wine glasses so we could sample our purchases from the Adelaide Hill wine region.)
The room had a kitchenette (no sink) which had a microwave oven, small fridge, kettle etc. Tea and coffee was all available. The bathroom was large and there was plenty of hot water.
The property also has an outdoor pool (which was closed due to the dodgey weather) and we had parking alongside our room.
The location was extremely handy to all areas of Adelaide without having to go through the city traffic. Although the city is only 15 minutes by car and bus (we had quite an adventure with the bus and tram while in Adelaide. Great fun!)
We found the beds comfortable with crisp white sheets and fluffy pillows. After a full on day sight seeing, it was fab to lie back in bed and watch tv with a glass of red.
We highly recommend the Tollgate to travellers like us. It was a friendly, comfortable stop along the way.
Look out Perth, here we come!

Room Tip: Room 28 has lovely afternoon sun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sammy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TollgateM, Owner at Tollgate Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Thanks for the glowing report Sammy! We try hard here at the Tollgate and really appreciate your feedback. The Tollgate Motel is indeed a 'fab find' and at an extremely affordable price. Please visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

I regularly stay at the Tollgate when on business in Adelaide. It's a quick drive to the city and has plenty of parking.
I've always found the rooms clean and tidy. Sure they are showing their age (a cracked tile in the bathroom, older fixtures and fittings) but the beds are comfortable and the linen very clean.
The noise from the trucks can be a little loud at times, but once in your room the double glazing reduces this significantly.
I've just read the previous review and was surprised. This has not been my experience at all. The staff have always gone out of their way to assist me from booking taxis to where to grab a meal.
It's a great place to stay and I'd recommend it to anyone!

Room Tip: Rooms 2-8 seem the quietest to me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

This motel was the only horrible thing about our stay in Adelaide and as part of a package deal we were stuck with this motel.

In short:
Dirty and poorly maintained rooms.
Bathroom has broken tiles, extremely small, no shower curtain and cheap shower heads.
Old, broken and unsafe furniture.
The noise from the trucks is the worst if you are a light sleeper.

And don't bother complaining about anything, the management just insulted us when we complained about the conditions.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank alicewc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank seve1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Osmond
1.1 mi away
Welcome Inn 277
Welcome Inn 277
#1 of 2 in Frewville
73 reviews
2 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#2 of 6 in Burnside
66 reviews
1.6 mi away
Arkaba Hotel
Arkaba Hotel
#1 of 2 in Fullarton
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
BreakFree Director's Studios
3.1 mi away
Chifley on South Terrace
Chifley on South Terrace
#37 of 56 in Adelaide
1,312 reviews
1.2 mi away
Adelaide Granada Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tollgate Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tollgate Motel

Address: 20 Mount Barker Rd | (Corner Gill Terrace), Glen Osmond, Burnside, South Australia 5064, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Burnside > Glen Osmond
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glen Osmond
Price Range: £39 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tollgate Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The picturesque Tollgate Motel is 15 minutes from the heart of Adelaide city and is situated next to the historic toll house and old Glen Osmond mines.Self rated as a 3 star facility with easy transport to and from the city, the Tollgate Motel provides 22 clean and comfortable rooms, 2 with in-room corner spas.There are Double, Twin and Family rooms.The Tollgate Motel is a welcoming spot to recuperate, particularly for guests arriving via the South Eastern Freeway and for those either visiting South Australia or merely visiting townships of the hills region.Consider making an early start to your journey by choosing the Tollgate Motel as your convenient home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Tollgate Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing