We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep driving into the city and you'll find better options”
Review of Tollgate Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tollgate Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glen Osmond
Jomtien Beach, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Keep driving into the city and you'll find better options”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This is the very lat of a bunch of motels along Fullarton, this one at the start of the freeway with a hill as a backdrop, so when the traffic dies down, all you hear is crickets and cicadas at night. That said, the place shows its age. My room was spacious enough but the bathroom was tiny and inconvenient and the old-fashioned aircon poked through the wall and made such a terrible racket I had to switch it off after a few minutes. There's a small pool but suitable only for kids. The water looked clean but the bottom of the pool didn't. Wifi was sporadic, with no connection at all on my last morning. Also, because it's out in the sticks, it's far from everything, with your only eating option next to the gas station across the street a burger joint selling carb, sugar, and salt combos labeled as fast food. Try the Welcome Inn a couple of kilometers into town instead. Far better for the money!

Room Tip: All the rooms are much the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TollgateM, Owner at Tollgate Motel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Paul B,
Thanks for the review, however we'd like to clear up a few mis-representations you've made.
We are at the base of the freeway, a convenient location for those travelling back east or those not wanting to engage city traffic. We are a mere 10 to 15 minutes from the centre of the city (hardly in the sticks!)
We are an older style 3 star establishment with a reputation for cleanliness and affordability.
I'm not sure how you know "All the rooms are much the same." having only stayed in one. They are not and we have many rooms with larger bathrooms should you have required one.
We're sorry your air con was noisy - should you have reported it at the time we would have been more than happy to fix it or move you.
There are many excellent restaurants close by (5 to 10 mins) and many takeaway options to choose from. The "burger joint" down the road is popular and you'll find one all over town (including adjacent the Welcome Inn down the road.)
Thanks again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    11
    16
    6
    4
See reviews for
8
14
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Stayed at the Tollgate Motel once again and it still impresses me with its cleanliness, affordability and friendly obliging staff members. Can't fault it. Will be back again soon. The free wifi is great for emails after work meetings.

Room Tip: Great walking areas up on the hillside. Fab views from the even numbered rooms upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TollgateM, Manager at Tollgate Motel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thanks for the excellent review Phillip! We really appreciate your positive feedback. We try really hard at the Tollgate to improve and update where possible yet maintaining affordability.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Had a flying visit to Adelaide recently and needed an inexpensive place to crash. The Tollgate was great. Clean, Friendly, Good Value and a pool that got a good workout during Adelaide's hot spell. Staff helped me out enormously with directions and recommendations. Give it a try.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OnTourGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TollgateM, Owner at Tollgate Motel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thanks for your kind review of the Tollgate Motel.
We're pleased you found our staff members to be helpful with directions and recommendations. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

Clean and neat. Quiet and most of all very friendly staff who'd go out of their way to help the guests. Definitely will be back and would recommend this plc to any one. Been here 4 times during the past.2 years and it has always been consistent with their good service.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Krishan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TollgateM, Owner at Tollgate Motel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you for your kind review of the Tollgate Motel. We really appreciate your feedback and welcome you back to the motel very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I recently stayed at Tollgate Motel for 3 nights; having read the numerous online reviews and seen the photographs, my expectations weren't very high. However, I was pleasantly surprised by the free parking spaces, the clean room and the kitchen facilities. I just made it in time for check-in after the long drive over from Melbourne and was greeted by a very friendly man on reception, who instantly made me feel welcome.

For the price of the room, I have no major complaints. Yes, the shower made the bathroom soaking wet and the toilet wasn't the nicest. It was nearly impossible to do any washing up in the tiny wash basin and the bed was a bit creaky. But having said that, I had 3 comfortable nights and was able to easily access the city for work purposes.

The only thing that drove me nuts was the flipping birds fighting on the roof at midnight!!

Thank you Tollgate for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jem H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TollgateM, Owner at Tollgate Motel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
It was a pleasure having you stay with us and hope you'll be back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhyll, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We were not expecting much - you get what you pay for - but we were willing to put up with a cruddy room after a long drive to adelaide.
First impression was what a crappy run down building... We opened the door and couldn't believe our eyes! Yes the room itself could do with some maintenance - mostly due to idiotic guests jumping on beds and damaging cieling I think, but the actual service and cleanliness is great, spotless linen, little things like dish liquid, fairly new appliances, and the most comfortable motel bed I've ever slept on! We certainly regretted spending the rest of our trip with the relatives - next time we will be booking in here for the whole trip!

As I said- the building itself could do with a tidy up, but the cleanliness and personal friendly service more than make up for it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thebadegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TollgateM, Owner at Tollgate Motel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you for your kind review. we agree that the Tollgate is excellent value. we strive towards presenting the best venue possible and your review has certainly encouraged us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 December 2012

Comfortable and very convenient. Excellent considering the price. Rooms are well appointed and cleaned. The staff and owners are really helpful and cheery. Highly recommended. Great location for touring the Adelaide Hills and wine regions or Adelaide and the beaches.

Room Tip: Northern side rooms are nicer and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ric K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TollgateM, Owner at Tollgate Motel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thanks for the feedback. We've taken your comments onboard and have acted on your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Osmond
1.7 mi away
Arkaba Hotel
Arkaba Hotel
#1 of 2 in Fullarton
197 reviews
1.2 mi away
Welcome Inn 277
Welcome Inn 277
#1 of 2 in Frewville
71 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#2 of 6 in Burnside
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Princes Highway Motel
Princes Highway Motel
#2 of 2 in Frewville
16 reviews
3.3 mi away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 57 in Adelaide
1,114 reviews
3.9 mi away
Mount Lofty House - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tollgate Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tollgate Motel

Property: Tollgate Motel
Address: 20 Mount Barker Rd | (Corner Gill Terrace), Glen Osmond, Burnside, South Australia 5064, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Burnside > Glen Osmond
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glen Osmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tollgate Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The picturesque Tollgate Motel is 15 minutes from the heart of Adelaide city and is situated next to the historic toll house and old Glen Osmond mines.Self rated as a 3 star facility with easy transport to and from the city, the Tollgate Motel provides 22 clean and comfortable rooms, 2 with in-room corner spas.There are Double, Twin and Family rooms.The Tollgate Motel is a welcoming spot to recuperate, particularly for guests arriving via the South Eastern Freeway and for those either visiting South Australia or merely visiting townships of the hills region.Consider making an early start to your journey by choosing the Tollgate Motel as your convenient home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Tollgate Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing