We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“needs TLC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rosario Resort and Spa
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Eastsound
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The Rosario resort is waiting for some renos, we were given a room that was advertised as a suite at 159 Dollars, but the room was like a 39 dollar Motel room. we complained and the gave us a modern 2 bedroom suite . Very nice, but was priced a lot higher .
The restaurant wea very good and we had a lovely time

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank hongsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosarioResort, General Manager at Rosario Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2012

This guest had booked a room in our newly acquired neighboring property Cascade Harbor Inn.
The room rate for a one bedroom waterfront condo was $139. This great rate for a waterfront suite on Orcas Island is our pre-renovation price (these units will be renovated before summer). Since this guest was obviously not happy, we were able to offer an upgrade for the same price.

Christopher Peacock
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (577)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

527 - 533 of 577 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2012

While searching up and down the BC and Washington coast for a great, origional, west coast style wedding location, we found Rosario Resort and Spa. For us as Canadians, it was perfect. It was far enough away from home to get that, "away," feeling, but close enough for all our friends and family to be able to attend. The Point lawn was affordable and offers a great backdrop to be married, and the Discovery house was the perfect spot for our reception. The Discovery house reception hall is large enough to accomidate good size party, with a really cool deck, right over the beach, looking out into the bay. The staff at Rosario Resort and Spa helped us out in any way they could, with a smile, and a great attitude. Jolene, the resorts wedding coordinator/manager was always available to help us in any way she could, and answer any questions we had. There was plenty of accommodations at and around Rosario Resort for our entire group, which made it a great weekend away for all of us. We highly recommend Rosario Resort and Spa for anyone planning on getting married.

Room Tip: Book a block of rooms months in advance, it books up fast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

My family started our 10 day island hopping vacation last summer - on bikes - on this island. While I wouldn't recommend this island for the bike part, I would highly recommend this island as a beautiful stop. And I would highly, highly recommend this property as a place to consider staying. It's a ways from the ferry drop off and it's somewhat secluded from most of the island's population, but it's a great location. The rooms aren't fancy. But many, including ours, have a water view with a small patio. We watched seaplanes land regularly as there's a marina here, too. Fun outdoor grill/food/patio and a GREAT restaurant on property. There's also a pampering spa on site. While I was there, my family biked to the top of Mt. Constitution one day while I sat by the pool and soaked up some rays. The hotel staff made margaritas to order poolside. Aaaaahhhh...Tip: If it's available, don't miss the afternoon piano "concert" in the main house...it's a fun musical review of the property's history and those who built it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ca_wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at this wonderful hotel for two nights last week. We actually stayed in the recently purchased part of the resort (Cascade Harbor Inn) which the staff told us will be remodeled in the near future..which would be a nice improvement because the decor was a bit dated. Our room included a small deck with chairs and a table...and an amazing view of the harbor and Rosairo Mansion.
The night we arrived, we enjoyed some appetizers in the lounge - seared Ahi and salads (it was great and the food we spied in the restaurant looked fabulous!). The staff at the hotel was very friendly and knowledgeable about the area. We didn't have time to experience the spa or athletic room, but the facilities were nice! There is a indoor Jacuzzi and a pool which was under renovation. Don't miss the Mansion's museum located upstairs (while exploring that, I swear that one particular room felt haunted - weird, but seriously! I later read that there are stories of the hotel being haunted). Also, there is a beautiful music room which includes a pipe organ and grand piano...we were sorry to have missed the weekly concert (every Saturday).
We drove up Mt Constitution and were lucky enough to have perfect weather and visibility to experience the 360 degree views of the San Juans (and into Canada) from the observation tower - lots of history here too!
We highly recommend the New Leaf Cafe in East Sound - wonderful service and incredible food!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

While a bit on the pricey side for my income, it was certainly worth it. The staff are amazing, friendly and will go out of their way to help you with whatever you desire. The food in the restaurant in the main building was excellent, the bed was heavenly, the towells were awesome, and the scenery - amazing, simply amazing. Even in January, when we went the first time, it was freezing cold but still absolutely beautiful. Highly recommended for a couples getaway or even for the family. There is plenty to do on the island for everybody.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clairbear69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

First off i have to say that orcas island has some of the friendliest people. our trip was a dual purpose trip, but it was mainly to focus on planning budgets for household and a wedding. We arrived on Orcas and really had no idea where to go to eat (to early to check in and wanted to ck out town). We looked on t.a. for restaurants and came up with Chilada's. We weren't disappointed. it was like someone's kitchen with real placemats, a real ceramic water pitcher, a fireplace. then we headed over to enzo's cafe across the st for ice cream (yes, ice cream in jan) and the girl behind the counter was very nice and helpful.

now about the resort:

first off they emailed me about 2 weeks ago to let me know the pool would be closed and it was ok if i wanted to cancel my reservation due to that, knowing that is sometimes the reason people book a hotel. that wasn't our case at all, so we kept the reservation and i'm glad we did.

the check in was smooth, they even had my name on the room key envelope. our room was in the skagit building, a 2 min walk to the mansion where the pool/spa/restaurant is, facing the bay with a very nice, long balcony. if we had traveled during nicer weather (we had snow), we would've spent more time out there, it would've been very peaceful and a chance to relax after our stressful budgeting.

the room- it was huge. it had a dining area w a stereo, and a sitting area with a very comfy couch facing the bay. it had a nice, warm, gas fireplace that we used alot due to the cold. there was a decent size l shaped counter near the sink outside teh bathroom that also had the microwave on it. the fridge was on the floor under the counter. the bathroom only had a toilet and tub, but a decent size tub (not jetted).

the grounds- were very nice. again, had it been spring or summer, i'm sure it would've been filled with flowers, but it was nice with snow as well.

the staff- very nice and helpful. after a few stressing moments in planning a couple of budgets, we went over the mansion for drinks/appetizers. i ordered a drink and after tasting it, i didn't care for it. the waitress was very willing to bring one i liked instead, no problems, no questions asked.

the breakfast- this area could've used some help. not a big variety nor selection. one thing we learned about the island is that it's very healthy. that's fine, but not all of us are on diets, watching our weight and only like grape jelly. being picky i've learned restaurants aren't going to cater to me and that's fine, but they only had 1 kind of bread, 1 kind of jelly, no peanut butter or honey, no bagels, toaster didn't work properly, bread didn't fit the toaster. the staff, again was helpful in getting me hot water for the oatmeal in a cup. there was a tub for dirty dishes, but it was taken away, i'm sure because it was full, but another one wasn't put in it's place so we didn't know where to put our dirty dishes.

overall, this resort was nice. we felt we got a great value compared to some resorts at home. the island is more expensive then the mainland, but not so high priced i wouldn't go back. note to self: gas up before going over and places don't sell ice cream in jan. the people were great, very nice and personable and it defintely had the small town feel.

Room Tip: if you want a great bay view, ask for skagit room 1307. the balcony was big enough to have 2 sets of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ginni74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

My husband and I were married at Rosario Resort in September 2011. We couldn't have asked for a more perfect setting for an outdoor wedding venue (Point Lawn) with on-site reception option (Discovery House), and nearby accommodations for our guests (Rosario, Orcas Suites, and Cascade Harbor; plus Outlook Inn in Eastsound). We had a large wedding (250+ guests) and it was a great place to accommodate our size. It was hands-down the perfect setting, especially given that the weekend was blessed with 75 degree sunshine. A light breeze, sailboats gliding over blue waters, birds in the trees....you get the point. This is what Rosario has going for it, and why it continues to be such a popular resort in spite of recent ownership changes and management issues.

Also, we loved the history of the Moran Mansion and Moran State Park, and made sure our guests were aware of the "vintage" nature of some of the buildings. It has charm, if you get my drift. For example, our first visit was the year before when we were considering Rosario, and the mansion was buffeted with 60 mph winds and sideways rain (and still, Rosario is beautiful in a storm!). However, a few of the windows were quite leaky, and there was water damage on the wood window sills. Also, we stayed in the Round House over our wedding weekend, and there were plenty of cobwebs and spiders making their home inside the room. Part of this is the age of the buildings, and the nature of the island. In the interim, Rosario did repair part of the roof at Discovery House, and put in a beautiful new deck. However, a lot of the repairs seem to be emergency rather than long-term planned overhauls. Although it does sound like some new investments are going in now.

As for the management of its wedding services, Rosario could stand to have a few more dedicated staff and customer service trainings. All of the staff at Rosario are extremely hard working, friendly, and helpful. However, our wedding maxed out the facility, which we had warned them about repeatedly, but it didn't seem to register until the actual guests started showing up and it was too late to change some things. The poor wait staff were running around trying to get orders filled in the restaurant, make espresso, clean dishes, and keep smiling. On my wedding day, my sister literally had to wait for 30 minutes to get me an espresso because there was only one very sweet but overworked girl serving 4+ tables and making all the drinks, managing orders, etc.

We hired a day-of wedding coordinator which helped immensely with some of the details that Rosario should have taken care of but hadn't (setting up chairs for the wedding at Point Lawn!?). She pointed this out, and Rosario promptly responded and got the chairs set up, but it was the little things we had to keep asking/reminding them about. Also, our minister from on-island was aware of some of the under-staffing help and stepped in for last minute things as well - setting up a table for the readers, for example. In the future, Rosario staff would benefit from some sort of general protocol for what is expected by a paying wedding party, when things should get done, who to contact, etc. They do have a basic information form, but a lot of the details needed to be repeatedly ironed out.

Overall, I would not change anything about our wedding at Rosario. All of our guests raved about it, and most of this review is for those considering Rosario for their wedding. The extra help from other on-island local vendors combined with Rosario's staff made it a successful event. I'm not sure how things are changing for 2012, but I recommend Rosario as a wedding location - just be sure to ask every single question and clarify every detail at least 3 times, otherwise it may not happen.

Feel free to contact me if you have specific questions.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bethyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosarioResort, General Manager at Rosario Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2012

I’d like to thank this bride for taking the time to review her wedding experience at Rosario Resort & Spa. It is so nice to hear that Rosario was the perfect setting and she would not change anything about her wedding at Rosario. Most importantly, it is wonderful that out our hard working, friendly staff is recognized. Thank you!

Our staff spends a great deal of time helping wedding couples plan their special day; however, due to our limited size and staff levels the last few years, we took great care in marketing and contracting weddings as “facility rental” only. Anything beyond basic set-up required third party vendors. We were very clear that the facility rental did not include additional wedding services, but unfortunately, this review shows that expectations were not met and I apologize.

I would like future brides and wedding planners to know we are excited to announce increased room availability, staff size and wedding services, including catering, in 2012 and beyond.

To address specific comments in this review, chair set-up is our responsibility. We schedule chair set up to be 3 hours before a ceremony. In this case it was morning when the wedding coordinator wondered why the chairs were not set up for a 3 pm ceremony.

There should be no cobwebs and spiders in our rooms, no matter how old the building. I certainly appreciate guests letting me know of situations like this during their visit so it can be addressed immediately. I take direct responsibility for any “management issues” that may arise and I encourage guests to contact me at anytime.

Finally, I would like to believe, based on recent trip advisor reviews and guest feedback, that Rosario Resort & Spa continues to be a popular resort because of, not in spite of, recent ownership changes.

We all enjoyed working hard for this wedding, as they are a delightful couple with a fun group of family and friends. I look forward to their return (1st anniversary?)!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastsound
3.5 mi away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
9.2 mi away
Edenwild Boutique Inn
Edenwild Boutique Inn
#1 of 2 in Lopez Island
163 reviews
6.3 mi away
Deer Harbor Inn
Deer Harbor Inn
#1 of 2 in Deer Harbor
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Pebble Cove Farm
Pebble Cove Farm
#3 of 11 in Orcas Island
252 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 11 in Friday Harbor
360 reviews
10.6 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 11 in Friday Harbor
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosario Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosario Resort and Spa

Address: 1400 Rosario Rd, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245-8570
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Eastsound
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Eastsound
Price Range: £98 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rosario Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic waterfront resort located on Orcas Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Rosario Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosario Hotel Eastsound
Rosario Island
Rosario Resort Eastsound
Rosario Resort Orcas Island
Rosario Resort And Spa Orcas Island/Eastsound, Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing