We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, one catch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rosario Resort and Spa
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Eastsound
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2012 via mobile

We have never stayed in their rooms. But, we always stay in their marina (on our boat). The marina is well managed with a great Dockmaster. The power and water are good.

The mansion is spectacular. Don't
Miss the 4p organ concert.

The restaurant is still finding its way bit it is not disappointing.

The problem is that the indoor pool is not in service. Thy hired a contractor to do the pool and staff says the contractor is very very slow. The staff (and guests)?are frustrated. The outdoor pools are nice and heated. But, nothing beats a good indoor pool on a rainy day.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenjakew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (579)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

525 - 531 of 579 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2012

Just returned from a 2 day trip to Orcas Island, staying, again at Rosario Resort. The rate was attractive, off season, midweek, $109 on Expedia. This included a small, but not advertised, continental breakfast in the bar. Our room was in the Skagit building, lovely view of the sound and the mansion. The small deck had 2 teak chairs and a small table, perfect for a cup of coffee or glass of wine. There was a tub/toilet area, separate sink/closet/'fridge area with coffeemaker, and two queen beds. Though the dated bamboo furniture reminded me of Hawaii on first entering, it made sense after spending some time here. It is completely quiet, except for the birds and an occasional seaplane (which I flew, Kenmore Air float plane right to the dock). There is WiFi in each building, and since our room wasn't ready, we cleaned up a bit of business while waiting in the mansion. It would have been nice to get a coffee or beer while waiting, but the bar wasn't opened until later. The marina store/cafe is being remodeled, but it looks as if it should be finished by Memorial Day. There are workers everywhere, new landscaping, fresh paint. The place was sold recently, and it's grandeur is returning. I loved it for a quick getaway with my daughter. We hiked Moran State Park, poked around Eastsound, ate deliciously at several restaurants, took in all the beaches around the island. The bathroom floors need a good grout cleaning.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MONichols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We had a great one night stay in a historical setting with an amazing view of the bay, mountains and small waterfall into the bay. The location for the hotel is fairly central to the Moran state park and mountain as well as a short drive to Eastsound. The majority of rooms sits at the edge of the bay. We were able to see river otters, eagles and star fish from the balcony. Overall, the room is very nice (decent size, price, quiet and clean); however, the only critiques that I have are that the bed is a little hard and the grout in the bathroom should be redone. I highly recommend staying at the Rosario.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BMAN27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

The venue is located at very nice and quiet spot in Orcas Island. Needs update both the rooms and the whole premises. They´re doing some repairs on the draining system but still I´m afraid they still have a long way to run.

Rooms: 3/5 The pictures you can see in the website with the balcony and the bay as a landscape are true, but only that. I mean, the bay view is amazing but the room still needs update, for example the carpet or the bathroom. They have the sink out of the shower/toilet room which is nice but don´t forget to grab a towel from inside the shower room if you decide to wash your hands as there is no towels there (disappointing if somebody is having a shower while you´re using the sink.

Restaurant: 3.5/5 Nice, great service but it looks pricy; however I have the feeling that it´s below the average of this island for this category of restaurants. Food is good, seafood is excellent and the menu is nice. However the brunch looked to me very poor, both quality (the mashed potatoes were disgusting) and presentation. The lady who was our server at the brunch time (no other servers were there) was very kind but lack of professionalism (slow, didn´t refill coffee, forgot stuff, misunderstood the order, etc).

Spa: The fitness center is small but enough for some work out. The machines are outdated too. The jacuzzy is ok but lack of coziness. They are remodeling the indoor pool and it looks like it will be very nice. Don´t expect at all an luxury Asian-looking spa.

What they call the Mansion is worth a visit. A building of the 1920´s when Orcas Island started to receive "excursionists" or tourists. There is a museum on the second level with a lot of artifacts and pictures of those times. I spent easily 1,5h strolling and wandering that floor enjoying a lot.

Room Tip: Bay View was amazing but only the view though it´s nice for a romantic getaway. The Skagit building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Marchador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosarioResort, General Manager at Rosario Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

Thank you for being our guest. We do currently have a great deal of remodeling going on. We are about to remodel our guest rooms as well and are awaiting the arrival of the furniture, drapes and soft goods by June. Your suggestion of a towel rack by the sink area is excellent.

I apologize for your lack of service during brunch, but I appreciate that you thought the food was good and seafood was excellent. Our menu (posted online) is mid-ranged price compared to other restaurants on Orcas Island and we are one of the few that have a beautiful waterfront location.

Our Spa is also going through a remodel with a complete renovation of the historic indoor pool. Inspired by the original design of the resort centerpiece, the 1909 Moran Mansion, all of our remodeling designs are influenced by the Arts and Crafts period, emphasizing hand-craftsmanship, time spent with family and inspired by nature.

Christopher Peacock
General Manager
Rosario Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

This was our 1st visit to Orcas Island - thus to Rosario Resort - & - we thoroughly enjoyed our stay!
We had read several articles about Rosario Resort - incl in Coastal Living mag & hot it might be a good place to go (someday).
Then with our 50th anniversary on the horizon - I thot it might be a nice touch to surprise my 'bride' & take her there !
Due to the President's Day weekend - I had to book it for a couple of days after our
anniverary - which worked out fine.

From the time we arrived - til' we left for home - we had a wonderful time there.

Our room was awesome ! = the vistas - privacy - and the decor !

And... when we arrived we discovered (in our room) a 'special' surprise gift - a CD of beautiful piano music by Christopher (the General Mgr) - which we will treasure ! What a thotful gesture that was !

We had our Sunday dinner in the Mansion Dining Room - the food & service were superb !

We spent a good deal of time exploring ( and hiking) in various areas on Orcas Island - from one end to the other - and were very impressed !

All of our other meals were at other restaurants (in Eastsound - and - again- the food & service was fantastic ! We highly recommend the New Leaf for dinner !

In sum - we wish to give HUGE kudos to the staff of Rosario Resort for making our 50th anniversary very "special" - as my wife has aptly put it ... " It was 'magical' ! "

And... to paraphrase Gen. Douglas MacArthur ..." We SHALL return ! "

WF
Whidbey Island, WA

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wayne963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The Rosario resort is waiting for some renos, we were given a room that was advertised as a suite at 159 Dollars, but the room was like a 39 dollar Motel room. we complained and the gave us a modern 2 bedroom suite . Very nice, but was priced a lot higher .
The restaurant wea very good and we had a lovely time

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank hongsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosarioResort, General Manager at Rosario Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2012

This guest had booked a room in our newly acquired neighboring property Cascade Harbor Inn.
The room rate for a one bedroom waterfront condo was $139. This great rate for a waterfront suite on Orcas Island is our pre-renovation price (these units will be renovated before summer). Since this guest was obviously not happy, we were able to offer an upgrade for the same price.

Christopher Peacock
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

While searching up and down the BC and Washington coast for a great, origional, west coast style wedding location, we found Rosario Resort and Spa. For us as Canadians, it was perfect. It was far enough away from home to get that, "away," feeling, but close enough for all our friends and family to be able to attend. The Point lawn was affordable and offers a great backdrop to be married, and the Discovery house was the perfect spot for our reception. The Discovery house reception hall is large enough to accomidate good size party, with a really cool deck, right over the beach, looking out into the bay. The staff at Rosario Resort and Spa helped us out in any way they could, with a smile, and a great attitude. Jolene, the resorts wedding coordinator/manager was always available to help us in any way she could, and answer any questions we had. There was plenty of accommodations at and around Rosario Resort for our entire group, which made it a great weekend away for all of us. We highly recommend Rosario Resort and Spa for anyone planning on getting married.

Room Tip: Book a block of rooms months in advance, it books up fast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastsound
3.8 mi away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
5.3 mi away
Pebble Cove Farm
Pebble Cove Farm
#3 of 11 in Orcas Island
253 reviews
4.6 mi away
Orcas Hotel
Orcas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Orcas
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 11 in Friday Harbor
534 reviews
8.6 mi away
Edenwild Boutique Inn
Edenwild Boutique Inn
#1 of 2 in Lopez Island
172 reviews
10.4 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 11 in Friday Harbor
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosario Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosario Resort and Spa

Address: 1400 Rosario Rd, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245-8570
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Eastsound
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Eastsound
Price Range: £94 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rosario Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic waterfront resort located on Orcas Island in Washington States beautiful San Juan Islands. Enjoy waterfront accommodations, local cuisine at The Mansion Restaurant, three pools (indoor year round, outdoor summer season only), spa services, marina with whale watching, fishing, and kayak tours, and historic museum. Listed on the National Historic Register. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Rosario Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosario Hotel Eastsound
Rosario Island
Rosario Resort Eastsound
Rosario Resort Orcas Island
Rosario Resort And Spa Orcas Island/Eastsound, Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing