We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice but, old”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rosario Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Eastsound
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“nice but, old”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This resort is nice but, desperately needs a remodel all around! The location is fabulous and it is worth staying here but, don't expect it to be up to date, just take it as it is and enjoy what is. The local hiking, kayaking, and nearby Moran state Park make this a wonderful location. Flying into the harbor on Kenmore air can also be a very memorable experience.

Room Tip: I prefer peace and quiet so, I prefer rooms as far form the mansion as possible, on the opposite sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTravelGoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    186
    72
    24
    9
See reviews for
126
289
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We came to Orcas island for an overnight stay and did some research ahead of time. We looked for a hotel that was pet friendly and found this place. We stayed in the hillside area but the view was amazing! Overlooking the bay and some of the islands it was priceless. There is no cell service there however there is free wifi that works great. The mansion is beautiful and a drink in the lounge is a must. The room was really nice and the bathroom is large. However, the bathroom does not fit the decor of the room it was a little of a surprise since the room was updated. The balcony was nice and it was nice to have a microwave and fridge as well. I would recommend this place to anyone as you can't beat the views!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cck02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moses Lake, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 11 April 2014

The staff was very nice and accommodating. Wonderful views and a great time. Things I think they could do better would be to pick up their guests at the dock when flown in by float plane, which is what we did. We had to walk up to the mansion. If you do fly in we recommend renting a car if you end up in the harbor side suites. Quite a ways from the mansion where the restaurant is. nothing is close by. Town is about 6 miles and so are the other sites. The staff shuttled us a few times which was nice. We recommend the brownie souflee. Patricia and bobby were great. Patricia is the housekeeping supervisor who got our rooms ready and was very willing to make our stay the best it could be. Bobby gave us a tour of the mansion the first night and showed us areas which were locked and closed. Bob in the restaurant was very friendly and made us smile and laugh. Elaine at the front desk was very sweet and kind. The last night my wife and I went to the lounge for desert and drinks. We played games and had a great time. Elaine left her post to go find a deck of cards for us since there were none with the games. She succeeded in finding a brand new deck for us. Thanks Elaine, Bob, Bobby and Patricia. Wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffnevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenbank, Washington
Level Contributor
96 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Once again we returned to this FAB resort - and stayed in a Bayside room.

We were - again - treated with professionalism & warmth by the staff ... from the front desk ( Rhonda & Elaine) to the restaurant.

We ended up extending our stay for 2 additional days because we enjoyed ourselves so much !

I am sure we shall return !

Room Tip: All of the Bayside rooms are great !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wayne963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poulsbo, WA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

My husband and I stayed in the Cliffhouse Suite for our anniversary for two nights.

The Cliffhouse was BEAUTIFUL. It was right next to the Mansion. The room was beautifully appointed. It has a huge jacuzzi tub, separate shower, King bed, two sliding glass doors, a fireplace, two televisions, and a fold out couch. The bed was very comfortable and the view was amazing.

The grounds are beautiful. The mansion has been restored beautifully, and we enjoyed wandering around and looking through the free museum upstairs. They are still working to restore the grounds, unfortunately it looks like a lot of the grounds and outside buildings have been neglected and have fallen into disrepair, which was disappointing because the mansion and grounds have the potential to be gorgeous.

Regardless, there are several buildings on the property that appear to be brand new, but are farther up the hill away from the mansion. You'd probably have to drive to get down to the mansion, or face walking up steep hills in the dark.

They are working on the rooms closer to the mansion, and if I had my choice I would stay in one of those or in the Cliffhouse again to be closer to the mansion. We ate at the mansion as well, but I will write about that in a separate review.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay here and hope to be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blackandwhite88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I wish I could give this a rating of 3.5. It was above average, but not quite very good either. The property of Rosario Resort is beautiful. It's a treat to stay at the hotel just to enjoy the area and history. We stayed in a Harborside Double Queen room, and the view was spectacular. The room was clean, and the beds comfortable. However, the walls of this buildling are paperthin. We could hear the conversations taking place in the room next to us. If you are a light sleeper, you may not want to stay in the Harborside building. I would also advise Rosario Resort to not book rooms right next to each other if possible (there were only two rooms booked in the Harborside building that night, and the occupied rooms were right next to each other). Overall, I would try staying at this hotel again, but I would choose a different building.

Room Tip: The Harborside building has paperthin walls. If you are a light sleeper, you may want to sleep in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonney Lake, Washington
Level Contributor
110 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We came to Orcas Island and Rosario Resort after many years of wanting to. Off-season rates were the final hurdle. I won't go into it here, but reading up on the history of the resort, the Moran Mansion, and Robert Moran himself would be a great primer to a visit here. The more recent history (the past 20 years or so) go a long way towards explaining the obvious deferred maintenance on some of the buildings. That being said, there are plenty of renovations going on in the lodging areas - the latest owners seem to be trying to present a good product to match the history and reputation the place has.
We stayed in a Harborside Room, in the trees just above the rocky shore, with a great view of Cascade Bay and the Mansion. An adjacent waterfall provided background music. The rooms are nice - not opulent - and comfortable; the bed is comfortable, and there is a microwave and mini-fridge as well.
In the winter, from the private balcony, this is a quiet scene...I imagine in the summer there would be a ton of boats in and out of the resort's marina. There are more rooms in buildings higher up the hill.
The Mansion contains the front desk, a lounge, restaurant, gift shop, a full spa, and a second-floor Mansion museum which is well worth the time to walk through (it is free). We did not partake in the Spa (a little too pricy for our tastes), but I would recommend driving your car to the Mansion from the rooms on the hill. I would think after dropping all of that dough on spa treatment that you would not want to ruin it with a 10-minute uphill walk back to your room.
Absolutely we will come back next winter, but it looks like summer would be a lot of fun, too.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoadTrippersWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastsound
3.8 mi away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
5.8 mi away
Deer Harbor Inn
Deer Harbor Inn
#1 of 2 in Deer Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
10.0 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
10.0 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
8.6 mi away
Edenwild Boutique Inn
Edenwild Boutique Inn
#1 of 2 in Lopez Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosario Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosario Resort and Spa

Property: Rosario Resort and Spa
Address: 1400 Rosario Rd, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245-8570
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Eastsound
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Eastsound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Rosario Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic waterfront resort located on Orcas Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Rosario Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosario Hotel Eastsound
Rosario Island
Rosario Resort Eastsound
Rosario Resort Orcas Island
Rosario Resort And Spa Orcas Island/Eastsound, Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing