We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Old Lady Struggles to Retain Her Dignity”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rosario Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Eastsound
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An Old Lady Struggles to Retain Her Dignity”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Anyone who stayed here in the 80's marveled at the fusion of island beauty and resort luxury. And anyone who has followed the property knows she fell into great disarray in the 90's, and then the recession finished her off. Eight years ago the property was purchased at auction by a well meaning local wealthy interest, and monies have been spent bringing her back. But time waits for no man, or vacation resort, and so even though things are moving in the right direction the glory days remain out of grasp for now. If you have a soft spot for Orcas and Rosario, still, an enjoyable stay. A picture can tell a thousand words, check out my photograph of what was once a reliable and fun tennis court for resort guests.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Seattle1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosarioResort, General Manager at Rosario Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for your loyal patronage of Rosario Resort & Spa. I am glad you are noticing that we are working hard towards restoring this great resort. I do have to point out that Rosario Resort has not owned the property with the tennis courts you have photographed for at least 8 years. This property, located about a half mile from the resort is actually owned by a water company. It is my hope you will have a better than average opinion of the resort on your next visit!

Christopher Peacock
General Manager
Rosario Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    183
    72
    23
    9
See reviews for
122
285
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
pa
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

This hotel was very dated. I looked at the reviews and felt that I could adjust to the charm. While the main building is unique and full of charm - there are no rooms there. We were in a haborside room - facing the boats and not a lot of the harbor. The room was old- smelled and extremely dated. The building reminded me of a 1960's apartment complex in the hallway. We were supposed to stay longer than one night - but decided to checkout the next day. The room was clean - I just found the property to be dated and lacked the charm that I was looking for in an island hotel. I thought this property would be situated in a private area - but all around the resort are private homes. From our room we could hear a dog barking for a very long time. The property is far off the main road and just lacks the charm that you believe you are getting when you review the website. I can only comment on the room that I was in - which is in need of a remodel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilimadsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed mid week after memorial day weekend with only a handful of other guests. Cascade grill and store was closed but all other services were available. Resort is in the process of upgrading all areas and doing a wonderful job! New kitchen is putting out AMAZING food. We stayed in the harborside building beautiful views of the mansion and water, if you stay on the far end you will get Sun...but a walk to services if you did not bring a car, a couple golf carts would be a good addition for this case in the future. New fitness area is clean and includes several new pieces of precore equipment but only a view of the gift shop. Older weight room has some older equipment but a great view. Planning on taking a class there too. The mansion museum is a walk back in time. The lounge has happy hour all week from 3-5. Half off draft beers 5.00 glass of wine. Alex the bartender is informative and a lot of fun! All in all a great stay with great service!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Getawayfix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

The Rosario is surrounded by the natural beauty, close to Moran State Park, great food, great service, special activities including history and music and storytelling by the very talented Christopher Peacock. Simply memorable. We loved our 3 night stay and could have stayed a week.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portland or
Level Contributor
84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

I'd probably give them a 3.5 if I could. Based on most of the options on Orcas, this is def. the place to stay if you like relaxing, quiet time with outstanding views. We had a bayside room over the water. It was clean and updated but the main bed area was a little small. I'd recommend trying to get one of the hillside rooms facing the mansion to get the afternoon sun to sit outside on your deck. We went last wkend and realize it's only May but that wind was cold!

The front desk and housekeeping people were all very nice and the mansion and grounds around it looked great (though I think the roof may be in the process of being fixed or painted). The marina area was old and run down and the pond was full of nasty yuck which seemed surprising, they have a lot of work to do before the holiday wkend. Also, the outdoor pools were closed (not heated) and even though we brought swimsuits, the indoor pool and jacuzzi were not appealing. Indoor pool is basically a lap pool for 1 person and the jacuzzi is in an enclosed room by itself with no windows and small. No thanks. We didn't eat there but the lounge and dining room looked nice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank embr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenmore, Washington
Level Contributor
270 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

I'd expected an opulent resort, and the main building (no guest rooms) was beautiful, but from outside the guest room buildings look like mini motels. The bedrooms were smallish, but the linens were nice, the view was beautiful and everything was clean. We made the great decision to reserve the king with the attached living room and kitchen. That additional space afforded a much larger view of the water. We were in the 2400 building. We were there early May before the season started, so it was quiet and relaxing, but the outdoor pool wasn't open yet. We had very nice dinners and breakfasts in the dining room. The menu mentions maple syrup, but it's breakfast syrup, not 100% maple syrup; even the server sounded disappointed by that. There's a museum about the founder upstairs and piano/organ concerts in season, but there is no elevator at all, so the mobility impaired can't get to the museum nor the spa or indoor pool in the basement.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

This resort is nice but, desperately needs a remodel all around! The location is fabulous and it is worth staying here but, don't expect it to be up to date, just take it as it is and enjoy what is. The local hiking, kayaking, and nearby Moran state Park make this a wonderful location. Flying into the harbor on Kenmore air can also be a very memorable experience.

Room Tip: I prefer peace and quiet so, I prefer rooms as far form the mansion as possible, on the opposite sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTravelGoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastsound
3.8 mi away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
5.8 mi away
Deer Harbor Inn
Deer Harbor Inn
#1 of 2 in Deer Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
10.0 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
10.0 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
8.6 mi away
Edenwild Boutique Inn
Edenwild Boutique Inn
#1 of 2 in Lopez Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosario Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosario Resort and Spa

Property: Rosario Resort and Spa
Address: 1400 Rosario Rd, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245-8570
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Eastsound
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Eastsound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Rosario Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic waterfront resort located on Orcas Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Rosario Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosario Hotel Eastsound
Rosario Island
Rosario Resort Eastsound
Rosario Resort Orcas Island
Rosario Resort And Spa Orcas Island/Eastsound, Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing