We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location, would come back just for the balcony views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rosario Resort and Spa
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Eastsound
Certificate of Excellence
seattle, wa
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Amazing location, would come back just for the balcony views”
Reviewed 24 June 2010

My husband surprised me and took me here for our one year wedding anniversary. The Main building is beautiful although some of it feels sad and abandoned because of the large unused open spaces. The accommodations are in somewhat outdated buildings to the side of the main Mansion and while they don't look great on the outside, the room itself was lovely and the bed was nice. I wish the walls were thicker, as we were nightly privy to what the other guests above us and next to us were up to. The restaurant had just reopened and was overall very yummy food and the service was great but some of the dishes were a tad overpriced for what was presented. All in all we would go back, the staff were friendly and the view from our room was perfect and relaxing.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seattlesuzanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosarioResort, General Manager at Rosario Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 13 July 2010
Thank you for spending your anniversary at Rosario and taking time to comment on your visit! Our location is indeed amazing and the views spectacular. Our guest accommodations were built in the 60’s, so the architecture is dated, but I am glad you let our future guests know that the rooms are lovely. Due to the building’s wood construction, there is a bit of sound transmission, but most guests are here to experience the peace and quiet of Orcas Island, and often comment on how quiet it is! The large unused space in the mansion is our former dining room. The more intimate mansion veranda is now used since we have fewer accommodations. The restaurant has gotten excellent comments and the nature of additional time and energy spent producing fresh, local ingredients on an island do tend to make dishes a bit more expensive. We do hope to see you back!

Christopher Peacock
General Manager
Rosario Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    189
    77
    26
    10
See reviews for
134
296
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Whidbey Island
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2010

My husband & I were looking to share a romantic & special get-away to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. We found it at Rosario Resort! From the moment we arrived, the staff made us feel happy to be there. Our well appointed room overlooked the bay & we could watch floatplanes and leisure boats come into the dock.

The misty weather was no deterant for daytripping to the entire island...Moran State Park, Olgas for breakfast, Eastsound for shopping and walking (& good food), etc.

Don't miss out on Rosario Spa for an expert staff (we had massages & facials) & wonderful treatments. This luxury is something we enjoy whenever we travel. The treatments here are sublime!

Do take advantage of the upstairs museum! The mere architectural details of the resort are enough to engage all of the senses...combined with vintage photos and artifacts, you get a flavor of the historical value of Rosario. Indeed, a treasure of a place. Stroll, sit, read...take advantage of the paths & people who have come here before.

How lucky the new owners must be with such a wonderful, warm and genuinely sincere staff assembled. Some of them have a great personal history with Rosario to share with guests. You may be as engaged as you like or as sequestered as you like. We will continue to savor our special & memorable time at Rosario. A great start to the next 20 years of marriage! We will return.

Linda Luka & Larry Calbert
Whidbey Island, WA

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lukabrasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosarioResort, General Manager at Rosario Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 6 June 2010
Wow! What a nice review. It captures the heart and soul of what we hope all our guests experience – a romantic, relaxing getaway in an amazing location.

What is most special to me are your comments about our staff… they are all talented and wonderful people who truly love to share the magic of Rosario and Orcas Island with our guests.

Thanks so much for taking the time to let us, and others, know about your experience! We look forward to your return.

Happy Anniversary!

Christopher Peacock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centralia, WA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2010

My wife and I wanted a mid-winter get-a-way. A colleague recommended Rosario Resort on Orcas Island. I looked it up on line and was able to reserve my room immediately. We arrived on the WA State ferry, which gave our get-a-way unique sense of an adventurous destination. When we arrived at the resort we were greeted with great hospitality and generosity, which continued throughout our entire stay. Our room was overlooking the waters and other surrounding islands. On the bed was a CD of local pianist and resort general manager, Christopher Peacock, and rose (NICE TOUCH). Everything was clean and comfortable. Do they have TV, yes...not great reception, but why would anyone go there to watch TV?? Its romantic, its peaceful; this is a place you go to be someplace and do things not offered during a normal day or stay. The rates were fantastic...my wife and I have 5 children and I am the only one working...WE could afford this taste of luxury.

Added bonus, the resort is also a museum!

The General Manager, Christopher Peacock, is a quality man, friendly and approachable to guests and staff.

Hope *you* have the opportunity to enjoy this retreat!

The Mettler's

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryant M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosarioResort, General Manager at Rosario Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 28 March 2010
Thank you so much for your nice review! This means a great deal to us as it is the first accommodation review since reopening under our new ownership. Although I am appreciative of being singled out, real credit goes to our wonderful staff, as Rosario is truly team effort.

Like you, most people have little time or desire to watch TV when they are surrounded by so much beauty; however, we are about to transition our television to satellite as the cable service on Orcas Island is unacceptable.

Thanks again and we look forward to your return!

Christopher Peacock
General Manager
Rosario Resort & Spa
Rosario Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta area
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2010

We didn't stay in the main building of the hotel, which surprised us. Instead we stayed in clean but dated rooms in an unattractive building. The view was nice, and there were lots of deer wandering around. The location was farther from the main part of town, not very convenient. The service was friendly, if a little slow. Not a horrible place, but not a good value either.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyfromGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosarioResort, General Manager at Rosario Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 28 March 2010
Since your stay in 2007, Rosario Resort was sold and is now under new management. We have just reopened our accommodations and I believe you will find our room rates to be a great value in an incredible location!

Christopher Peacock
General Manager
Rosario Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2009

Rosario's Resort was a premier resort--or so we thought! The internet info led us to believe that we would be staying at the "Resort", but we were shuttled off to condo's on the hill above the original Rosario's. The Resort actually closed to the public some time this year. The condo's were overlooking the bay. The accommodations were spacioius and well supplied and the view was wonderful. Our complaint was that we were led to expect one thing and got something different. The advertising for the "Resort" was mis-leading.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosarioResort, General Manager at Rosario Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 28 March 2010
I apologize you felt our website was misleading. Rosario Resort was closed by its previous ownership in October of 2008. As such, we were directing visitors to stay at a new neighboring property, Orcas Suites. In the transition to gradually reopen the closed resort we have made every effort to accurately describe what is and isn't currently available on the home page of our website. At the time of your visit it accurately stated that we were currently not offering accommodations at Rosario Resort, that neighboring Orcas Suites was offering accommodations and that they were under separate ownership and management. I am happy Orcas Suites took good care of you and apologize again you felt mislead.

Christopher Peacock
General Manager
Rosario Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2009

It was a very relaxing stay at Orcas Island Suites at Rosario. The kids enjoyed the pool, feeding the deer, and the organ performance at the Mansion. The grounds were beautiful, and it was very peaceful and quiet for a weekend summer in the San Juans. Rooms were clean and functional, with a great view of the water.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OlympiaNorthwester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosarioResort, General Manager at Rosario Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 28 March 2010
Thank you for your nice review, but I must give credit were credit is due. Rosario Resort's accommodations were closed during your visit. You did mention you stayed at Orcas Suites, which in fact were Rosario Resort's former hillside accommodations but are now separately owned and managed. Orcas Suites should really get the credit for this review. I am glad you enjoyed yourself on Orcas Island!

Christopher Peacock
General Manager
Rosario Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastsound
3.8 mi away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
5.8 mi away
Deer Harbor Inn
Deer Harbor Inn
#1 of 2 in Deer Harbor
264 reviews
8.6 mi away
Edenwild Boutique Inn
Edenwild Boutique Inn
#1 of 2 in Lopez Island
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
449 reviews
10.0 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
348 reviews
10.0 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosario Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosario Resort and Spa

Property: Rosario Resort and Spa
Address: 1400 Rosario Rd, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245-8570
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Eastsound
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Eastsound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rosario Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic waterfront resort located on Orcas Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rosario Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosario Hotel Eastsound
Rosario Island
Rosario Resort Eastsound
Rosario Resort Orcas Island
Rosario Resort And Spa Orcas Island/Eastsound, Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing