We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful View!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Eastsound
Certificate of Excellence
Sammamish
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful View!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

We stayed in the upper view level with small sitting area and fireplace. Nice decor and
view was magnificent. Kitchenette was a surprise. Bed was comfy, but quilt was pretty
heavy, so if you are a warm sleeper, you may need a lighter cover. Proximity to town is
good. Restaurant serves very good food...we ordered seafood and it was cooked to perfection.
Balcony was a nice place to sit out and view the bay...great mid week stay and a fun town
to explore. If you go to "happy hour" keep in mind it might be FULL as it was too busy and we
were turned away. Also: restaurant doesn't serve every night, so be aware that you may
have to go elsewhere for breakfast and dinner!

Room Tip: Ask to stay at the luxury suites above the main hotel...the view is better up there too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leenza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    102
    27
    24
    10
See reviews for
98
222
21
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lynnwood
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013 via mobile

Brought my husband here on a 2 night Internet winter special. The view from the balcony of our 2nd floor rm was beautiful. The rooms kitchenette was perfect for several simple in-room meals. Large fridge, sink, and microwave. We were pleased to see dishes and utensils provided. Very quiet on the island mid-week. Just what we needed. Would like to return to beautiful Orcas and te Outlook Inn.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scrockett57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

We have been back three times and love the convenience and proximity to restaurants and the peace and quiet. They also have a locked gazebo on site for kayaks, bikes, and other outdoor equipment so you can leave your gear at the hotel if you need to. We brought two bikes and a canoe and also did some great street runs from the hotel. It was so easy and convenient. The only kink we ran into is that you have to pay $30 more to take the ferry with bikes on top of the car due to the overheight vehicle charge. You can beat the charge by putting the bikes in the car if you have the time and space.

Room Tip: Suites on the upper level have the best views of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BruinSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

The location is beautiful, and the staff friendly and helpful. Did the travelzoo package for 2 nights in the East Wing - stayed in one of the upper rooms, which had a lovely window seat. The inn is right across from the bay, and there are plenty of shops and cafe's in walking distance, as well as lots to do on the island - sea kayaking was great fun. I ate in the lounge my last night and the bartender was incredibly helpful with both wine recommendations and interpreting the ferry schedules. I will definitely be back for another visit.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms have a window seat and small view of the bay - but the stairs are steep, so not r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachelbusygrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

This has got to be the must-go-to stop for anyone planning to stay on Orcas Island. A half- hour drive from the ferry landing at Orcas Ferry, Eastsound is breathtakingly beautiful. The hotel sits commandingly at the head of East Sound facing due South down the Sound, an impressive building, immaculately maintained with serbly planted gardens. Apart from having much more than its fair share of natural beauty, the food is a further , major attraction. The kitchen specialises in local sea- food, freshly prepared in a recognisably American manner. I could not believe that there exists better cooked seafood anywhere. The staff are another good reason for staying and eating here, warm, friendly and overwhelmingly local, helpful without being obsequious. Real assets.

Room Tip: Try for a South facing room, the views are to die for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomast1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
450 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

We were staying at the hotel-style side buildings (not the main building).
Couple little rough spots in the beginning: the key card did not work twice so had to run back and forth the front desk and back to the rooms.
Then the heater did not work (was told for the first floors, only space heaters worked)...which was a huge problem since I was there with my elderly parents.
But I asked for a different room and was promptly given another one.

Everything else was quite smooth since then on. It is in a great location (just a toss away from East sound town). Rooms are quite nice with (the 2nd floor one has a lovely window seat!).
The reservation for restaurant is recommended...as mostly nothing is open on the island other than the dinner restaurants so it was packed.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vamsally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, Oregon
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013 via mobile

Did the travelzoo package for sat/sun night in there king suite. Best view of east sound, nice to have the fireplace(although it was sunny and warm for the weekend). Enjoyed the gardens with all the spring flowers in full bloom, searching for seaglass on the beach in front of the hotel and drinking the wine and complementary caramel's. Great stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ballyloves2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastsound
6.2 mi away
Deer Harbor Inn
Deer Harbor Inn
#1 of 2 in Deer Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
12.3 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
12.5 mi away
The Orca Inn
The Orca Inn
#10 of 10 in Friday Harbor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Orcas Hotel
Orcas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Orcas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
11.9 mi away
Edenwild Boutique Inn
Edenwild Boutique Inn
#1 of 2 in Lopez Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
5.3 mi away
Pebble Cove Farm
Pebble Cove Farm
#1 of 11 in Orcas Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outlook Inn on Orcas Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outlook Inn on Orcas Island

Property: Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
Address: 171 Main St, PO Box 210, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245-9635
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Eastsound
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Eastsound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Outlook Inn on Orcas Island 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The islands oldest family run 40 room hotel in the heart of Eastsound on Orcas Island. Three distinct styles of rooms from luxury to economy, all just steps from boutiques, galleries, and the restaurants. On site restaurant the New Leaf Cafe and Lounge features seafood and incredible cocktails with a water view. Banquet facilities and off site catering to help you mark the special occasions of your life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Booking.com so you can book your Outlook Inn on Orcas Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outlook Inn On Orcas Island Hotel Eastsound
Outlook Hotel Eastsound
Outlook Inn Orcas Island
Outlook Hotel On Orcas Island
Outlook Inn On Orcas Island Eastsound, Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing