We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eastsound's Best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Eastsound
Certificate of Excellence
Eastsound, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Eastsound's Best”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Regardless of your price range the Outlook Inn is by far the best location in Eastsound. Walk to everything that Eastsound has to offer. The Bay View Suites are the ultimate in comfort and view.
Good restaurant, very friendly staff and plenty of free parking.

Room Tip: Bay View Suites are the ultimate but the East Building keeps you comfortable but at a lower rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    105
    28
    25
    9
See reviews for
101
233
21
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I've stayed here twice now with more certain to come. It stormed on two of the five days. Even then the fireplace, a good book, a bit of wine, wind and rain pounding against the windows and watching white caps on the bay made for a very relaxing time. Not to mention a nap on the couch. A stocked kitchenette meant not having to leave the room unless I wanted to. Excellent food and service in the dining room and bar. I again enjoyed having other dining options and many small shops so close by.

Room Tip: The Bay View rooms are more expensive but worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed here in a Bay View Suite last weekend, and it was PERFECT! Arrived on the late side because we missed the 4 pm ferry, and once we were checked in, had a bite to eat at the New Leaf Cafe, which was warm, comfortable and relaxed. The salad with goat cheese hit the spot perfectly as a late dinner and was beautifully prepared and presented!

The room was beautiful and comfortable. The king bed was on the upper level, and on a pedestal, so while in bed, the view out the window to the bay was framed perfectly by the very large window. Down two steps was the sitting room with a full very comfortable couch (I think it's a fold out if traveling with children or friends), end tables with lamps, writing/game table and a gas fireplace in the corner.

The bathroom is a full bath with separate soaking jacuzzi tub and generous shower stall. Between the bath and the bedroom was a little area with fridge, microwave, and sink/cabinet that was stocked with plates, silverware and glasses. The coffee set up was a Keurig single-cup, and a variety of coffees/teas were available, along with half-and-half.

Breakfast brought more delights at the New Leaf Cafe, with a generous and again very well prepared meal.

It was a cool, drizzly weekend and I had a very bad head cold, so we spent a fair amount of time in the room, and I can tell you with certainty that it was wonderfully comfortable and a great space for two adults camped out for the day! Neither of us felt cramped, and with the sitting area, it was very comfortable for hanging out indoors once we had visited the Shakespeare festival's parade and taken a drive to Rosario.

Looking forward to visiting again!

Room Tip: I would definitely spring for a Bay View Suite again. Just lovely, romantic and spacious! We had roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylviemcgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

It's 9 years since I stayed at the Outlook Inn, and I was looking forward to my return. The location remains the same, with a view over Eastsound that takes your breadth away.

The restaurant and cafe are better than ever, with wonderful service, superb food and fantastic wine list.

Some things that need some attention - my bedroom was comfortable, but did not match the standard of the rest of the hotel. It was very very tired and looked like it needed new sink, carpets and paint.

Also for someone with jet lag, having no in room coffee available and none in the lobby until 7:30 was something I wasn't expecting.

Room Tip: Bring your own coffee maker!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drjasonclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I stayed here through a Living Social Deal. It was lovely, clean, comfortable, and quaint. The employees were incredibly friendly and helpful, and my breakfast at the New Leaf Cafe was delicious!

It's right downtown in Eastsound and on the waterfront. Beautiful and cozy.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The room was cozy and warm and the fireplace took the chill off during our off season visit. A small balcony with chairs to sit out in nicer weather with a perfect view of East Sound. Microwave, plates and utensils allowed for comfortable in room dining. The location on Main Street was a perfect home base for exploring the village of Eastsound.

Room Tip: The higher rooms have the best views of the Sound. We had room 56.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nskaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

My husband and I love Orcas Island. We've stayed at the Outlook Inn twice - once in the Shared Bath Queen and then once in a Bay View Suite. Obviously, they were two different experiences (you get what you pay for) but both were good experiences. We love the location of this property, and the charm of the hotel. The stay in the Bay View Suite was amazing; the views from the balcony are incredible. After we returned home, we received a call from the hotel, informing us my husband had left his electronic razor. They shipped it back to our address for us (just added the postage cost to our bill). We are very appreciative for their help, and look forward to the next time we are lucky enough to stay at this property.

Room Tip: The Bay View Suites are fantastic. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastsound
6.2 mi away
Deer Harbor Inn
Deer Harbor Inn
#1 of 2 in Deer Harbor
264 reviews
11.9 mi away
Edenwild Boutique Inn
Edenwild Boutique Inn
#1 of 2 in Lopez Island
147 reviews
12.3 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Orcas Hotel
Orcas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Orcas
150 reviews
12.5 mi away
The Orca Inn
The Orca Inn
#10 of 10 in Friday Harbor
275 reviews
12.0 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outlook Inn on Orcas Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outlook Inn on Orcas Island

Property: Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
Address: 171 Main St, PO Box 210, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245-9635
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Eastsound
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Eastsound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Outlook Inn on Orcas Island 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The islands oldest family run 40 room hotel in the heart of Eastsound on Orcas Island. Three distinct styles of rooms from luxury to economy, all just steps from boutiques, galleries, and the restaurants. On site restaurant the New Leaf Cafe and Lounge features seafood and incredible cocktails with a water view. Banquet facilities and off site catering to help you mark the special occasions of your life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Priceline so you can book your Outlook Inn on Orcas Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outlook Inn On Orcas Island Hotel Eastsound
Outlook Hotel Eastsound
Outlook Inn Orcas Island
Outlook Hotel On Orcas Island
Outlook Inn On Orcas Island Eastsound, Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing