We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveller rating
11
9
3
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
11
9
3
3
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 27 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2009

The Pros:
We reserved one of the Moran rooms which was a clean room at a reasonable price. The rooms appear to have been remodeled recently. Each room has a patio/balcony with a nice view of the harbor / sound. Our room had a TV/VCR/DVD combo unit with access to 41 cable channels. We were all able to get hot showers.
Despite the fact the office closed at 6:00 and we arrived at 6:30 to check in, it was not a big issue as a key was left along with a phone number for an onsite manager. The office staff was very friendly.

The cons:
The Cascade Harbor Inn is an old wood-construction building that is showing it's age, despite the fresh coat of paint. On the way to our room, there is a sign warning you to watch your step given that the concrete steps were beginning to sink and pitch a bit. There is very little sound insulation - when the neighbors make noise (both the residence adjacent and the next room), it sounds like you're right in the mix of it. The floor of the room sags in places under your weight, the mattress of one of the two beds pitched significantly on one side to the point where my wife felt that she almost fell out of bed a couple of times in the middle of the night.

Overall impression:
Although this is not a 4 star hotel, I do not think one exists on the island. If you are coming for the nature and the beauty of the island, this will suffice as a clean place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rbhiking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2008

We've been coming here for the past six years, and we love it. The balcony is a great place to sit quietly, relax, and watch the boats in the bay. The very tame deer are everywhere, and there are great places to hike. A thick forest and a little stream (the cascade of the name) are across the street. It is a quick drive to Inn at Ship Bay, the finest dining on the island. Staff is always very nice to us, and helpful when we need the unexpected.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TucsonRLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2007

Clean and cofortable place with a great view and location. Staff was very friendly and helpful w/ great restaurant recommendations. Bed a bit hard, but was a great deal for the best price on the island. I would definitely stay again. The moss on the roof that others described is really nonthing more than ambiance to me. A ton of deer around the property.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sjbrouwers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2007

I booked our room the week before Labor Day for Labor Day weekend, so we were a bit desperate, but the website for Cascade Harbor Inn mentioned that they have been included in the Northwest Best Places book for the last 10 years, so I was expecting someplace fairly nice. We were disappointed with the quality of the room we had and the property overall. It is in dire need of updating and our room had no place to sit except 2 sad dining table-style chairs or on the bed. There were bags of dirty laundry that remained outside the door to our building the entire time we were there. The bathroom towels had absolutely no absorbency. And, as another reviewer mentioned, there is so much moss on the roof that you can barely see the roof at all. We were only there for one night, so it was bearable, but we were expecting much more. The view from the balcony was nice and it was nice to pass the Rosario grounds as we came and went. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank suee98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2007

My husband and I have stayed at Cascade Harbor many times and brought friends and family with. It has a beautiful view, and the rooms are clean. They have some cute shops in town. The ferry is close and if you walk on board youo can catch the ferry to Friday Harbor to rent scooters, shopping, eating etc. The Rosario next to Cascade Harbor has a great brunch and a beautiful view while at the Rosario dont miss going upstairs to see the Library/built in Organ room, and the old ship rooms. It is amazing. Cascade Harbor is a perfect getaway wether you want to relax, kayak, rent a fishing boat in deer harbor, shop, take a seaplane ride there are many options but either way its a beautiful vacation destination. Colleen Schmidt Portland Oregon.

Thank COCOSCHMIDT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews