We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unplug and enjoy nature.”
Review of Beach Haven Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Beach Haven Resort
GreenLeadersBronze level
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Unplug and enjoy nature.”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

If you want an upscale resort this place is not for you. The cabins are rustic but clean and have all the items you need to cook, sleep and relax. We spend most of our time outside on the deck watching the otters, geese,birds,eagles, etc. There is a little charcoal BBQ on the deck which we use every night. A wood stove can heat the cabin as well as an electric heater for chillier times.

The weather has always been good to us, we stay in early June. We have secured our spot and book one year ahead so we always have our cabin waiting. It is hard to find a spot some times of the year, but getting to be a regular is so worth it.

This last visit we were treated to a show of four adult bald eagles flying around and playing with each other above the bay. They perched on trees right next to our deck, how amazing. You will not miss your computer, cell phone or television with the shows put on by wildlife for entertainment.

The cabins for adults are in a separate place from the family area.We have always had friendly help from the staff and if we had a concern it was addressed right away. I am not posting pictures as the ones posted by other reviewers are similar to mine. I would and have recommend this wonderful place to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roberta H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhresort, Manager at Beach Haven Resort, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Thanks for taking the time to share your "unplugged" experience. We agree that watching a bald eagle glide through the crisp clear sky beats a screen of any kind. The best part of Beach Haven is the view and wildlife change every day so each day of the year is a new experience. See you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    5
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
13
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saranac Lake, New York
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

If you like rustic but comfortable accommodations with world class views and your very own private beach, get to Beach Haven!

two friends and I spent 3 days here in May. We lucked out with nearly perfect, summer like weather. Beach Haven consists of a dozen or so cabins of various sizes, all located on the water or within 20 feet of the beach. The cabins, built mostly in the 30's and 40's have the feel of an oldschool cabin with all the creature comforts of home! Out our front door was a breathtaking view of the Straights of Juan De Fuca and in the distance, Canada. Few things can be as relaxing as sitting in the Adirondack Chairs on our cabin porch watching the sun set over the islands.

We're all 20 something adults, but this place would also be PERFECT for kids. There is a playground located under the dense forest canopy and when the place is full I imagine there are a lot of other children around to play with as well. They also have outdoor ping pong, tetherball, and a horseshoe pit.

If you're looking for a relaxing vacation, i don't think you can beat the local or the price for a cabin at Beach Haven! We would definitely like to come back!

Room Tip: We stayed in Cabin 6, a two bedroom with a queen size bed, full size bed, and twin. Also had a pull...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adk1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhresort, Manager at Beach Haven Resort, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Thanks for your lovely review. We never get tired of hearing how much our guests enjoy their time with us. Looking forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle,
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I first saw this resort 40 years ago and vowed I would stay there someday. Luckily the time came when my cousin and I were able to spend time in this magical place. Having grown up boating in the San Juan Islands in the 1950's when the beaches were pure and magical...I have those memories stored forever. Beach Haven steps right out of those years. I have traveled the world and can honestly say there is not a better location anywhere. Although the water is essentially from the Pacific Ocean, it is much like a lake at the doorstep. Our little log cabin #6 has a big deck and only a few steps from the pebbled beach to the water. Boats for rent, wood for the beach fires or in the cabins....camping charm without the hassle. Orcas Island has so many natural sights to see when not sitting just gazing west over the water. Such a gem.....loved it but also saw young families enjoying the many pleasures available.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaureenWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhresort, Manager at Beach Haven Resort, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you for your review. We are so glad that we lived up to your memories of the San Juan Islands. We hope you'll come stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Stevens
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

We had a cozy one bedroom with a lovely deck right on the beach. No tv or internet so it was wonderful just sitting in the adirondack chairs reading and watching the sunset! Our second evening was chilly so we built a fire in the wood stove! The beach is rocks so it's a bit hard to walk on but the views are unequaled!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wrzsjz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhresort, Manager at Beach Haven Resort, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for the review and please let us know when you're ready to come back, relax and enjoy the view!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We've been coming to Beach Haven since the early 80s, first as a "courting" couple, then as newlyweds, then as new parents. Our son grew up with Beach Haven friends among other families who had reservations the same time of year each year. Because of Beach Haven, I fell in love with kayaking and viewing the otters, porpoises, bald eagles, herons, seals, deer and more both from the cabin on the water. Our son became the best crabber around and even I caught a lingcod and let it go. I do personal art and writing retreat each year in Cabin #1, followed by family vacation in the downstairs lodge. No TV or phone in cabins. Quiet time after 10pm. Feels like being at camp!
And just when you think you've seen the most gorgeous sunset ever, another comes along...

Room Tip: #1 is great for seclusion for couples and solo retreats if you can handle the terrain. For all cabi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peaceleaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhresort, Manager at Beach Haven Resort, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
We're so glad you've created so many wonderful memories here at Beach Haven. Hope to host your family many more times. Thanks for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Beach Haven is our most loved family tradition. We started going Labor Day weekend 13 years ago and haven't missed one since. The kids have enjoyed each and every year and start talking about it months in advance and we so enjoy Cabin #10. The excitement starts when we line up for the Ferry in Anacortes and check the lines to see if our friends who are in Cabin 8 are on the same ferry. Then we'll look for the families who are in Cabin 11 and 12 - same families each year! We've met some wonderful friends and always look forward to catching up with them. No phones, tvs, computers - a perfect place to get away from it all. The cabins continue to have little upgrades each time and the managers are wonderful. Nothing better than to sit on your own deck and watch the boats, ducks and sea lions out on the water. If you're lucky you might get to see a deer or otter too. A great play area for the kids with swings, slides, ping pong table and horseshoes. After a day spent exploring the beach or driving around the island you can end the day with a wonderful time around the communal campfire catching up with old friends and roasting s'mores!! We hope to continue this family tradition for many years to come.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BLbeaudry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhresort, Manager at Beach Haven Resort, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Your time is coming soon and we look forward to seeing you as well. It is great that you have made this a tradition for your family as we have seen the generations share the experience and it is so refreshing to see families share such a beautiful place. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayden
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We have been visiting this hideaway annually for 10 years now. There are many others who have been coming for much longer than we .. all for the same reasons. Peace, heartwarming comfort, familiarity of the animals, the rocks on the beach, the trees along the shore, the sounds (and the science) that are Beach Haven. It is HOME to many of us who don't even know each other. Quiet nights under stars, with only the sound of the waves on 'our beach', 30-40 ft off the low deck. The 'welcome back' visits by the otters, multitude of birds, harbor seals, deer, bald eagles. Walking the beach in search of ever elusive 'sea glass' for my spouse. Paddles to islands and around the shore in our kayaks.

If all this sounds like what you're after, some caveats. The older cabins are ... older cabins, rustic, but well maintained to BE RUSTIC! No WiFi and no phones (at the cabins). The office has a land line available and cell coverage is available near Eastsound. The cell coverage along this NW corner of Orcas Island is minimal, so you're likely to hit Canadian towers from Vancouver Island or one of the other Canadian Gulf Islands at Beach Haven. If you are need of constantly looking at your phone for texts, for scanning your email ad the web, all as if your life depends on it ... Beach Have will help you learn or reconnect with what really matters.

Cabins offer rustic minimums, for those expecting hotel luxury of a 'resort'. For those of us who like to camp or have RVs, these accommodations are right up our alley without all the prep time and setting up you would otherwise expect, offering a 'private' slice of heaven for the period of your stay with much to do right at your cabin or our about on Orcas or one of the adjoining San Juan Islands. So schedule a time to 'get away' and make peace with yourself and nature! It really doesn't matter what time of year. Nature changes constantly and so does the weather and water at BH. But many of the above aspects never change. ENJOY!

  • Liked — essentials for peaceful solitude
  • Disliked — For us there is NOTHING not to like!
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhresort, Manager at Beach Haven Resort, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thanks for the detailed and lovely review. We always inform new guests, before they book, that there are no televisions, telephones or internet access in the cabins. We know that in our technological age, many people need to be connected, but happily, most of our guests treasure the days away from it all here at Beach Haven. Thanks again for sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastsound
2.0 mi away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
5.0 mi away
Deer Harbor Inn
Deer Harbor Inn
#1 of 2 in Deer Harbor
266 reviews
11.8 mi away
Edenwild Boutique Inn
Edenwild Boutique Inn
#1 of 2 in Lopez Island
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
461 reviews
4.8 mi away
Rosario Resort and Spa
Rosario Resort and Spa
#2 of 5 in Eastsound
556 reviews
0.4 mi away
West Beach Resort
West Beach Resort
#3 of 5 in Eastsound
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Haven Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Haven Resort

Property: Beach Haven Resort
Address: 684 Beach Haven Rd, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245-9313
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Eastsound
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Eastsound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful log cabins are nestled along private beach among old growth forest. Full of tranquility, beautiful views and wildlife. Furnished with full kitchen and wood burning stoves. No phones, TV or pets. Families welcome. Open all year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Beach Haven Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Haven Resort Orcas Island/Eastsound, Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing