We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous spot for the right traveler”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eastsound
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Lodge on Orcas Island
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This is a spot where you can enjoy glamping (think camping with plumbing and a kitchen) or a room with the same amenities (shared bathrooms and kitchen) The lodge is about a mile from the main hub of town - so not super walkable but a short drive or bike ride. It worked out wonderfully for our family and our budget. Finding a place on Orcas is not easy and finding one for under $200 a night much harder. I want my lodging to be comfortable but luxury is not my thing. If it is yours, this is not your market. But if you like camping in a lovely yard or staying in a lodge with shared bathrooms and kitchen, this is your spot. Serendipity struck and a boy engaged mine for chess (companionship is the perfect antidote for the only child traveling without a friend) They were different ages but did well together. So well that we decided to share our planned sailing lesson with that family - making it more fun and less expensive. I would say that Dave makes this lodge work so well. He makes a pot of coffee every morning and when he saw our concern about noise from other campers, he gave us his number and permission to call any time. (there was no need, everyone was super quiet and considerate). When we moved into the lodge, I was worried about the ticking clocks (I am a light sleeper) and Dave offered to disable them. When we showed him a photo of a mystery flower we found in front of the library, he did a little research and reported back to us on its name. The lodge has quiet hours starting at 10pm and people seem to really take this to heart as does Dave. A proprietor who goes to those lengths to help make your stay a success is A+ in my book.

Room Tip: We were in room 6, very quiet and bonus, right across the hall from a bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluntrater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Just checked in and it is a wonderfully unique lodge.... So peaceful and beautiful.... One night stay but loving this little lodge. All my kiddos are in room 4 and it is the perfect size! I love the beautiful annuals and the backyard hammock is already being used by my girls...

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Lyn a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Excellent hospitality in aserene setting and beautifully equipped. A must for whom who appreciates a convivial yet quiet stay and in particular for flora lovers or aquarium fans, Brutus for one is very welcoming nd social :) .

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
Thank mapy_primavera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This lodge was phenominal in every way. Close in location to the beach, town, and Moran St. Park. Wood burning stove, spiral staircase, outdoor heated patio, hammocks....you name it, Dave has got it! Dave and Susan so kindly arranged to have us picked up and dropped off at the ferry terminal. Amazing people with an amazing place. This lodge is just teeming with personality! Highest recommendations from this satisfied traveler!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akern004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

Dave does a wonderful job of keeping everyone comfortable and paying attention to detail. Everything you need on a vacation and more! Our room was perfect for us, the kitchen was stocked with utensils you would have at home, the plants and flowers around the property are lovingly cared for, the hammock has big blankets so you won't get cold while napping under the pine trees, there is organic shampoo, conditioner and body wash in the shower and there are extra blankets for you in the bedroom. Every need is anticipated, which makes this the perfect place to stay on Orcas!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

friendly, relaxed atmosphere in a pleasant setting not far from
Eastsound. Ideal choice for active travelors with plans to hike,
bike or kayak on the island. Bring friends - there are several
options for rooms, with good choices for shared rooms with
twins beds. The open areas are comfortable and inviting.
Kitchen is clean, stocked. Come to relax - plan to stay a few
extra days just to relax. Stash your gear and explore.

Room Tip: Bring a friend! - rooms on both levels. Space for your bike. Plan for some meals & enjoy the up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MKristin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

With full disclosure, I've worked on projects for Dave Page, the proprietor of the Lodge. But I will tell you the King suite is every bit as nice as the best hotels on Orcas island, if not nicer. The room is brand new. Hardwood floors with supple asian rugs around the huge king size bed. Down feather bed and loads of pillows made it firm, but very comfortable. I tend to move around while I sleep and Wendy said she never woke up once.

The slade tile bathroom is huge. And a nice touch is the high, wide sliding glass window that you can peek out of while showering. The view is into a nice green space, surrounded by Doug firs, and Backen ferns.

The room has plenty of storage for our hiking gear and backpacks. And unlike some hotel rooms, there isn't a tight hall or crowded area anywhere.

There's a six foot + length leather couch, again feather/down filled, that's warm and so large I could stretch out and relax on it. The chair is similarly comfortable. The room was so comfortable we decided to return to the Lodge to make our plans with a bottle of wine and kicking back on the couch.

Its a short walk to the corner market, and they've got just about everything.

Overall outstanding room, one of the finest. The fact that the lodge has bunk rooms downstairs made me consider a longer vacation on the Island and bringing kids along, where they could stay in the bunk rooms. Can't beat the price $35 for bunk and a deal for the King Suite.

Definitely recommend the king suite for a romantic getaway.

Room Tip: Ask for the King suite, if its available. But any room is clean, and the location, just a 15 minute...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllIslandTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastsound
1.1 mi away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
7.1 mi away
Deer Harbor Inn
Deer Harbor Inn
#1 of 2 in Deer Harbor
271 reviews
6.2 mi away
Pebble Cove Farm
Pebble Cove Farm
#3 of 11 in Orcas Island
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Landmark Orcas Island
Landmark Orcas Island
#3 of 12 in Eastsound
78 reviews
3.2 mi away
Rosario Resort and Spa
Rosario Resort and Spa
#2 of 5 in Eastsound
576 reviews
3.1 mi away
Beach Haven Resort
Beach Haven Resort
#5 of 11 in Eastsound
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge on Orcas Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge on Orcas Island

Address: 32 Bracken Fern Ln, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245-9462
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Eastsound
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Eastsound
Price Range: £67 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge on Orcas Island is more than a hostel but different than a B & B.We call it a European Style Guest House.We offer 7 private rooms and 1 suite. The 7 rooms share 3 common baths, the kitchen and living areas. The suite has a private bath and sitting area. Although we do not serve food many of our guests appreciate having use of our fully equipped kitchen to cook for themselves.The Lodge is available for rent by the room or you may arrange to have exclusive use of the entire property.A private room/shared bath is $89.The suite is $149.Exclusive use of the entire property is $995.Prices quoted are nightly + 10.1% sales and lodging tax.Unless you opt for exclusive use of the property you can look forward to mingling and getting acquainted with other travelers from around the world. At the Lodge we do not care for the sound of blaring electronics so we are a television free zone.Rather, the sounds you will hear are the trickling of water, bird song, the breeze whispering through the trees, nocturnes by Chopin, ballads by Diana Krall.Our aesthetic is informed by the American Arts and Crafts movement. Though not a museum, you may notice many craftsman inspired touches throughout the house and adjoining property.We emphasize cleanliness. Allergy sufferers and those who are chemically sensitive will appreciate that we use only unscented soaps and cleansers for the laundry and household. The house always smells fresh, natural and clean.In the baths we provide shampoo, conditioner, body wash, and toothpaste. Brands currently featured are Dr. Bronners or Trader Joe's.The Lodge is recognized by Washington State as a Backyard Wildlife Sanctuary. Nature lovers will enjoy seeing the birds that flock to our feeders and baths and basking in their soothing song.If it is respite you are seeking, you've come to the right place. Put your ambitions aside and head for one of the several Pawleys Island rope hammocks hanging beneath the Western Red Cedars. Nothing spells relief like sinking into the quilt lined hammock and being lulled into a deep and restful sleep unlike anything you've ever experienced.Book any 2 nights between Sunday and Thursday and get the 3rd night free. Our way of appreciating your midweek business. :) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Lodge On Orcas Island Eastsound, Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing