We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gluten free snacks at cafe.”

Darvill's Bookstore
Ranked #2 of 3 Shopping in Eastsound
Attraction details
San Diego
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Gluten free snacks at cafe.”
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

I loved the art book selection which featured books on how to sketch the scenes of the pacific northwest. My daughter loved the cozy children's area with a beautiful view. Cappuccino was perfect.

Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    3
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Fantastic Bookstore”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Every town wishes it had Darvill's. Great selection of books, magazines, games and puzzles for children and adults alike. Coffee, tea and local treats to eat make it more special. Sunday morning at 9 AM the New York Times was already there for the reading.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank nskaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“The warm heart of Eastsound - calm browsing, great coffee,...”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Sometimes you can feel how much personal care goes into making your experience specially good! Darvil's gives us a sense of home, matching our favorite places to hang-out in Santa Barbara. The book and magazine selection, and coffee and other drinks and goodies are superb.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 2retiredinSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Book Knowledge”
Reviewed 20 May 2013

The San Juan Islands are a mix of sophistication and rural beauty, and Darvill's bookstore is representative of that culture. The latest fiction, travel books, history and current events mix with the art and crafts of island life. The owner is a long time resident who can inform a visitor about Orcas and the other islands, as well as about what is a good read. On my visit, one of the staffers took the time to engage me in a discussion of the library book I happened to be carrying. My guess is that Darvill's is one more reason why tourists often end up becoming islanders.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonds, WA
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Gotta Go!”
Reviewed 8 May 2013

A must while in Eastsound. Great selection of books, helpful staff and a joy to browse. I found an amazing book while browsing ~ you never know what they will have!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Bicostal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Darvill's Bookstore also viewed

 
Eastsound, Orcas Island
 

Been to Darvill's Bookstore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing