We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous cabins!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eastsound
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cabins on the Point
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous cabins!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Fantastic! We called Jennifer at the last minute for a one night stay that included 2 young children three adults and a dog. She could not have been more accommodating. The cottage house (we stayed in willow) was perfect for us, close to the water and plenty of room for all of us. Jennifer suggested several places to eat and they we all great! She also was very knowledgable about what to do on Orcas and we visited the Mountain Lake, kayaked on the beach right in front of the cottage and hiked some trails in east sound. It was truly a perfect quick weekend retreat. None of us wanted to leave.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Debbisd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    6
    0
    3
    1
See reviews for
17
38
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Steilacoom, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

My husband and I stayed in the primrose cabin. It was a beautiful night, a little windy but the view of our cabin was speechless. The cabin is made for a couple looking to get away for a week or more. They have about everything you need, so women you don't need shampoo, cond. or q-tips, etc. They had it all set up for you. Loved the nature of the area! Defiantly advise a couple staying here, it is peaceful and absolutely beautiful! Loved it! We plan on coming back in the summer time to get more experiance around Orcas Island!

Room Tip: This is cabin is made for a couple. bring slippers for the morning, the floor is freezing if you v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BryceLynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hansville, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

I've stayed at Heather numerous times over the past 12 years loving every stay. Heather is as romantic as one could hope. From the moment I walk in the door and see the beautiful country place setting with two ready wine glasses on the table overlooking the water, I feel at home. I've been there in the great summer weather and stormy winter weather.... on those days a few minutes by the royal blue wood stove and snuggle in to the captains bed in the living room and watch the waves lap over the bluff below.. The kitchen is well stocked and adequate and the grounds are spectacular... a double swing made of driftwood near the edge of the bluff and several other great spots to enjoy the view. My favorite is the bed surrounded by windows that give you stellar views as you wake, as well as the sound of the wave through the night. If you want a peaceful, well crafted romantic getaway you won't go wrong here!

Room Tip: I've loved it so much that Heather has been my only choice .
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Russ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

We are a couple and stayed at Willow Cottage on Cabins on the Point and found it to be a very lovely cottage and property. The cottage is very pretty and roomy, with lovely wooden floors and nicely furnished. The chocolates on the dining table and bedside were a nice touch. The kitchen was pleasant and well-stocked, and the bed was very comfortable. We really enjoyed the wood stove and there was ample firewood.

Jennifer was a most pleasant host and called to make sure that we had everything we needed, and to let us know what the weekly events were on the island.

The other great feature of the cottage was that it is within walking distance of the Turtleback Preserve, which is a great area to hike.

Orcas is a very nice island, and the people quite friendly. We enjoyed exploring Moran State Park and doing the loop around the lake. We really enjoyed visiting Rosario Hall and would highly recommend this, especially if you like history. Enjoy!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank SharonGVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

My friends and I stayed in the Sunset House for two nights during thanksgiving weekend. Our stay was amazing....beautiful sound view, clean house, full kitchen. Since it was winter, we didn't go out a lot but it was relaxing place to cook, have drinks and read books as it is full of lovely and comfortable furniture.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walla Walla, Washington
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

So the good first, The hostess is very nice and easy to talk to, and the house location is very nice, it is set back in a wooded area where you feel isolated but yet close enough to east sound that you can travel for supplies in a matter of minutes. The views of the sound from either the yard or the large windows is amazing and very relaxing.

Now the bad, The house is very outdated, with sheets that look like the belong on the grandmothers bed, furniture in the house is sort of a hodge podge that does not match and is so random that it is a distraction. There were so many spiders in the house that we killed a few each day, and these were very large spiders, the outside of the house was covered with them, we had my grandson with us and this was not fun for him at all and sort of ruined alot of the time staying there. With as much as they charge this could be fixed with a simple spraying. Then the fact that the circuit breaker kept blowing and we did not have either hot water or warm air from the heaters in the master bath and bedroom. I contacted the owner and was told where to reset the breaker. This did not help as it continued to shut off and we froze during th night and had no water to bathe in by morning.

It rained the entire time of our trip and so we had to stay indoors, so instead of grilling we decided to fry the hamburgers, only to find out that the frying pan had a huge crack in the bottom of the pan and was unusable.

Inside the house you will find between 20 - 1000 little cards placed everywhere telling you what you can and cannot do in the house, while the cards are somewhat helpful and nicely done, they feel more like instructions or commands then helpful pieces of info, like the ones saying to take off your shoes while inside, This makes going in and out, especially to unpack a real chore, plus for people with feet issues this can be a real problem.

So to sum up, great view and nice hostess... Outdated pricey house with poor wiring, alot of spiders and instructions.

I would not recommend this house to anyone staying on Orcas, Maybe once the wiring is fixed and the house looked after a little, So I would ask first. I would rate this property terrible if not for the hostess and the view.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Troy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bend, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

We have been spending New Year's eve in Heather Cabin for more than a decade. Every time we arrive, it feels like coming home. This cozy, romantic cabin is nestled on a rocky outcrop so close to the shore that it feels like you are on a boat - a perfect place to watch winter storms while reading a book or doing jigsaw puzzles in front of the Franklin stove. Peace and quiet and a charming window-frame bed (see photo) make this a one-of-a-kind experience. Orcas Island in the Winter months is enchanting, with fewer tourists you really get a sense of the island's real character. And the Cabins-on-the-Point staff are perfect hosts. We love this cabin!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastsound
1.4 mi away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
7.6 mi away
Deer Harbor Inn
Deer Harbor Inn
#1 of 2 in Deer Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
6.6 mi away
Pebble Cove Farm
Pebble Cove Farm
#1 of 11 in Orcas Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Orcas Hotel
Orcas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Orcas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
4.9 mi away
Rosario Resort and Spa
Rosario Resort and Spa
#1 of 5 in Eastsound
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
2.9 mi away
Beach Haven Resort
Beach Haven Resort
#5 of 10 in Eastsound
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabins on the Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabins on the Point

Property: Cabins on the Point
Address: 2101 Deer Harbor Rd, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245-9218
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Eastsound
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Eastsound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering 6 Unique Orcas Island Accommodations ALL with Kitchens and Island & Water views: The 4 accommodations at CABINS ON THE POINT ESTATE have access to a shell beach, free kayaks for guest enjoyment of the quiet bay rich with sea life, a fire ring to roast marshmallows and relax under the star bright sky and a hiking trailhead nearby. *The HEATHER CABIN & PRIMROSE CABIN both have a devoted following for a 2-person, honeymoon or romantic getaway, with a Hot Tub in a privacy grove of trees at the water's edge. It is hard to be any closer to the water without getting wet! *The 2-Bedroom WILLOW COTTAGE is a family favorite with plenty of room and charm both inside and out. *The WESTSOUND HOUSE is the main house on the Estate, with a broad deck overlooking the beach. The King-size bedroom, kitchen and living room are spacious and comfortable. We also offer 2 Private houses located on different areas of Orcas Island. *The SUNSET HOUSE is a 3-Bedroom, 2 bath waterfront house with stellar views of water, Islands,and wildlife, located near the main town of Eastsound. The large deck and waterfront yard offer outdoor living areas to enjoy the unparalleled beauty of the Island. *The very private HIGHLAND'S HOUSE is a cedar and glass mountain view home on the side of Mt. Constitution, just outside the 5000 acre Moran State Park. The two bedroom & bathroom suites flank the spacious cedar great room with stone hearth fireplace. Every room, and the extensive deck with Hot Tub, all feature a breathtaking view of Islands, water and sunsets. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cabins On The Point Orcas Island/Eastsound, Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing