We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kingfish Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kingfish Inn
Ranked #4 of 13 Eastsound B&B and Inns
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2011

We stayed at the Kingfish Inn for 3 nights in June as part of our Northwest anniversary road trip and just loved it. Our only complaint - beyond the control of our hosts - was that a cable company/power line ran through the absolutely gorgeous view of Westsound and the marina as seen from our room. Our room was great, and the complimentary breakfasts in the cafe that is part of the inn were absolutely filling and delicious. We also enjoyed dinner in the cafe and were pleased to be able to reserve a table as guests of the house since the cafe seemed to be enjoying a well deserved overflow of local residents as clients. Richard and Nanae Fralick - the new owners - are gracious hosts. Our main dilemma on our next trip to Orcas will be deciding whether to stay at the Kingfish again, or to enjoy one of the Fralicks other charming 'dream' cabins located in secluded spots around the island - what a great problem to have.

Room Tip: Absolutely, do NOT miss the food in the cafe!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joe_vansteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    23
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
59
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2011

The location was great--nice view of the water, easy to get around the island.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pippy_the_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marysville, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2011

My wife and I enjoyed our stay at the Kingfish Inn so much so that we already want to return. While the inn and cafe just changed hands in January and the season is just starting things weren't perfect. However, Richard and Nanae seem dedicated to understanding this property and making it perfect.
When we first arrived my Type A personality wife from the East Coast didn't like the idea of not having a desk to check in at, I on the other hand found it a small fun adventure to walk around and find our spot and was already in the room reading the house rules while she was calling around Nenae. You see when you check in, you don't "check in" you walk around to the northside of the building and either go up stairs for the majority of the rooms or wrap around underneath for the other room. You will find the key in the door and an envelope attached with your name and your suite name. Inside the envelope are breakfast coupons for free breakfast at the attached Westsound Cafe, use them! (more on that later). At ths point you have arrived. The room is yours until you leave, they are very hands.
The rooms are clean, the linens good, the view great! We really enjoyed being right across the street from a county dock / small beach area where we could launch our kayaks into Westsounds protected waters.
However the two biggest pluses were the Cafe and people. We ate dinner there the first night and enjoyed the Cod cakes with a yellow curry sauce as well as mahi-mahi tacos both fabulous. The dinners were so good we didn't eat anywhere else by choice. The next night we had an appetizer of prawns with a delicious, spicey red sauce that which I don't remember the name. What I do remember is asking for more bread to soak it up *so good*. Our entrees were a skirt steak with a port demiglaze sauce and the salmon with a corriander vinegrette that blew our minds. It was also great to enjoy a bottle of wine and walk back to our room. This combined with the "free" brekfasts were amazing; apple cinnamon french toast, a fried oyster omlet and the spinach, mushroom, goat cheese omlet! Holy smokes you can see why the locals go there. Since the cafe had just opened for the season you could see all the local folks coming out of hibernation and saying hi to each other after all winter. Having our rooms attached to the cafe was in no way a detriment but was such an added plus.
As I said we also enjoyed interacting with the people. Within 20 minutes of arriving we found our cork screw was busted and we were in need of a knife. On both occasions we asked the kitchen crew, Joe the head dinner chef specifically and he was more than happy to help. Joe is a kick to talk to a self taught chef, and a 9 year NFL veteran at linebacker that came up to the island a few years ago and has never left. With the wait staff you never felt they were rushed to get to another table, they would engage in conversation and even genuinely seemed interested in my dorky stories. They even moved a couple cars around so we could pull back in, as they get busy on a Saturday evening. At dinner and breakfast Richard and Nenae walked around and talked to all their guests at the cafe. Nanae talked to us individually to find out what we thought about the property, what did we think needed to change and how we thought they were doing in general. I anticipate that the things we gave feedback on will get adressed, so much so that I am planning our next trip back to "reinspect"! This time I will let my wife find the room.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLo_and_Bri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
99 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2011

Richard and Nanae Fralick bought the Kingfish Inn this winter and have been working on the transition reservations since then. As you can imagine, they have been discovering glitches and correcting them ever since. We could have been upset about minor things, but since talking to the staff and the Fralicks, we completely understand the challenges they faced and have overcome. Stay here!

Their West Sound Cafe is excellent. They opened the cafe 3 days before we arrived, and we couldn't tell it was their opening week. The food is excellent and the waitstaff was weloming and treated us like loving family.

On this island, this is the place. Thanks.

Room Tip: 4 rooms. Any would be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeremiahred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
123 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2011

"What a wonderful world" came to my mind when I sat there this morning on the wooden chair on the terrasse of my room and was overwhelmed by the sunrise from the left side, sending the shafts of sunlight acroos the silent water of the bay iluminating the lilac on the right side of the terrasse. Sitting there, listening to the birds and the wind calmed me down and made me feel incredible happy.

The room was very big and very nicely equipped. No roomservice during my stay but as announced in front. No fridge, no coffee/tee in the room, no table for working with the notebook (the kingsize bed is good alternative). Don´t forget to make a reservation for your breakfast, as guest you are not automatically on the list and many locals come for breakfast.

The owners of the Hotel are very nice and helpful people.

Room Tip: I´d suggest the seaview rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Vernon, Washington
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2011

This inn has recently changed owners and our stay was one of the first with the new owners: locals who couldn't stand to see the inn be bought by outsiders who might want to change it.

Our room was lovely, even by my wife's exacting standards. Exellent king bed - very comfy. Clean and warm, even in February during a wild, windy night.

Breakfast was a highlight. Nanae (the new owner) prepared a several course, sit-down, elegant meal featuring lots of healthful veggies as well as eggs and breakfast meats. We visited with her (very friendly and accommodating, she) and learned that she's got a background in restaurants of many ethnicities.

The owners also own several very nice cabins on Orcas, so are adept at the business. To summarize The Kingfish has been a highly-regarded B&B for many years and appears to be continuing with that tradition.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimG0860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechanicsville, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2011

Our family traveled from Virginia to Washington for a vacation in summer 2010 and we stayed on Orcas Island at the Kingfish Inn for 3 days. We liked everything about the place, but especially the way that Bob and Lori made us feel at home and welcome. The food was delicious...especially the Thai halibut and breakfast. Our first floor room was comfortable and spacious with a great view of West Sound harbor. Our 9-year old twins enjoyed the pebbly beach where they hunted for beach glass and driftwood. They found starfish and sea anenomes attached to the sides of the boat docks. Our time at the Kingfish Inn and West Sound Cafe was wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank otter57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastsound
4.9 mi away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
1.7 mi away
Deer Harbor Inn
Deer Harbor Inn
#1 of 2 in Deer Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
2.5 mi away
Orcas Hotel
Orcas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Orcas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
7.9 mi away
Edenwild Boutique Inn
Edenwild Boutique Inn
#1 of 2 in Lopez Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pebble Cove Farm
Pebble Cove Farm
#2 of 11 in Orcas Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingfish Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingfish Inn

Property: Kingfish Inn
Address: 4362 Crow Valley Rd, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245-9223
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Eastsound
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Eastsound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With just four very individual suites, Kingfish Inn housed in a historic 1902 building, is a treasured Orcas Island secret. At the junction of two designated scenic byways, our Inn is just steps away from the sparkling waters of West Sound and the bucolic and verdant farmlands of Crow Valley. Kingfish Inn is the perfect place to experience the healing "magic" of Orcas Island, the most spectacular of the San Juan islands. Having operated All Dream Cottages on Orcas Island for many years, we appreciate our guests desire for a more romantic and private lodging experience. We strive to provide that cozy and intimate, yet comfortable space for our Inn guests. We respect your privacy and unless asked, no one enters your space while you are here. Lie in bed all day with a good book or just sit still looking at the ever changing views from your window. Kingfish Inn is NOT a Bed and Breakfast. We do, however, provide coffee makers, tea and COMPLIMENTARY breakfast items like fresh fruit, yogurt, juice) in a small in-room refrigerator so that our guests may start their day on their own schedules. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kingfish Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingfish Inn Orcas Island/Eastsound, Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing