We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just too Noisy”
Review of Kingfish Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kingfish Inn
Ranked #4 of 12 Eastsound B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 June 2012

I stayed in the lower room, Spruce. The room was very clean (except the bath exhaust fan cover was very dirty). The bed was comfortable. The breakfasts were good. I did not like having to get there at a certain time though, 8:30. The view was marginal. The power line did not help the view. The deck was nice, but there was no privacy. We heard people on the deck at the restaurant, and I am sure they heard us. The people staying in the rental house right in front of us spent some time in the backyard which is right next to our deck. These guests were also very loud late at night and early in the morning - yelling, leaving their diesel truck idling, etc. Their noise and the traffic noise did not make this a very nice place for me to stay. Because of the rental in front this place was not very private. The bathroom door does not latch and the toilet seat was loose, but other than that, the place was well maintained.

Room Tip: I don't know what the other rooms are like, but I would not stay in the Spruce again because of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2012

My husband and I just returned from a weekend at this beautiful spot for our anniversary. It would have been a fantastic place, and one could rate it that way based on the food alone at the West Sound Cafe, located in the first floor of the inn. We had room number 3 and our cute little fireplace didn't work. The cafe staff immediately summoned the owner who tried to fix it and failed. He was nice enough in his apologies, but we thought a complimentary bottle of wine would have been nice, it was our anniversary after all (and a rainy, cooler night). But no comp of any kind was offered. Then, we called about renting a movie and the customer service person said she'd get right back to us, and didn't. Then, the bed was so sprung and sunken in the middle we had to pull the foam topper onto the floor and sleep there our second night. The food was so fantastic though that it almost made up for it. To summarize, I might stay there again just for the food, and bring my own air mattress.

Room Tip: Ask how old the bed is and if the fireplace works. Do not stay in room #3 unless you know they'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaulaP51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

My husband and I escaped for a weekend to Orcas Island. The Kingfish Inn was a great discovery! Cozy, comfortable rooms and privacy overlooking the water. Extremely clean. The West Sound Cafe downstairs has fabulous food (we had one dinner and two breakfasts there). The location is close enough to Eastsound but far enough away. Very close to Deer Harbor and great hiking at Turtleback Mountain. The restaurant staff were all helpful with tips about local adventures.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Madrona (#3) and liked the location at the end of the hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellvr52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

Nice secluded place outside the main town but easy access to points of interest and ferry. Tasty meals in the downstairs restaurant.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Closetlovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

This was my first trip out to Orcas Island and it was spectacular! We stayed at the most charming inn and had a terrific experience. The Kingfish Inn overlooks the west sound, with breath taking views. Our rooms were also beautifully decorated and gave us the rest/relaxation we needed. I truly never wanted to leave!

Aside from the accommodations being excellent, they have a fantastic restaurant! The West Sound Cafe serves a yummy breakfast! I loved having the chorizo & egg skillet. And again, can't beat the scenic views while having your morning cup of coffee.

The Cafe also has wonderful wine selection. They even have local wines from San Juan. ;0)

All in all, this was a fantastic experience and we are already planning our trip back. We hope to catch a whale watching tour on our next trip out!

Thank you so much Kingfish Inn!

Katherine & Robin

Room Tip: Room number 1!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Breakfast was wonderful! Really tasty and filling. Not sure though what happens if you stay at Kingfish on the days the West Sound Cafe is closed? (Mon and Tues)
The rooms could also be wonderful with more care to the small details. The linens and decor from the previous owners are great. The maintenance/changes of the new owners seem cheap. For example, the shampoo was a grocery store bottle of Suave. The room key had 2 safety pins as its "key ring". (For $1 it could have a "Orcas Island" key ring.) The smoke detector was hanging from the ceiling by its wires and there is a hole in the curtain. None of the suggestions from previous visitors have been implemented: no TV channel listings, no games, playing cards, microwave, etc. The outdoor tables could use an umbrella or two and colors/cushions to make it look more inviting, No hosts on site with you ever has its pros and cons; this place feels like its owners may have abandoned it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annabelle101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

We stayed at the Kingfish Inn for 3 nights in June as part of our Northwest anniversary road trip and just loved it. Our only complaint - beyond the control of our hosts - was that a cable company/power line ran through the absolutely gorgeous view of Westsound and the marina as seen from our room. Our room was great, and the complimentary breakfasts in the cafe that is part of the inn were absolutely filling and delicious. We also enjoyed dinner in the cafe and were pleased to be able to reserve a table as guests of the house since the cafe seemed to be enjoying a well deserved overflow of local residents as clients. Richard and Nanae Fralick - the new owners - are gracious hosts. Our main dilemma on our next trip to Orcas will be deciding whether to stay at the Kingfish again, or to enjoy one of the Fralicks other charming 'dream' cabins located in secluded spots around the island - what a great problem to have.

Room Tip: Absolutely, do NOT miss the food in the cafe!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joe_vansteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastsound
5.0 mi away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
1.7 mi away
Deer Harbor Inn
Deer Harbor Inn
#1 of 2 in Deer Harbor
271 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pebble Cove Farm
Pebble Cove Farm
#3 of 11 in Orcas Island
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Rosario Resort and Spa
Rosario Resort and Spa
#2 of 5 in Eastsound
576 reviews
4.9 mi away
Landmark Orcas Island
Landmark Orcas Island
#3 of 12 in Eastsound
78 reviews
5.9 mi away
Kangaroo House Bed & Breakfast on Orcas Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingfish Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingfish Inn

Address: 4362 Crow Valley Rd, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245-9223
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Eastsound
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Eastsound
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With just four very individual suites, Kingfish Inn housed in a historic 1902 building, is a treasured Orcas Island secret. At the junction of two designated scenic byways, our Inn is just steps away from the sparkling waters of West Sound and the bucolic and verdant farmlands of Crow Valley. Kingfish Inn is the perfect place to experience the healing "magic" of Orcas Island, the most spectacular of the San Juan islands. Having operated All Dream Cottages on Orcas Island for many years, we appreciate our guests desire for a more romantic and private lodging experience. We strive to provide that cozy and intimate, yet comfortable space for our Inn guests. We respect your privacy and unless asked, no one enters your space while you are here. Lie in bed all day with a good book or just sit still looking at the ever changing views from your window. Kingfish Inn is NOT a Bed and Breakfast. We do, however, provide coffee makers, tea and COMPLIMENTARY breakfast items like fresh fruit, yogurt, juice) in a small in-room refrigerator so that our guests may start their day on their own schedules. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kingfish Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingfish Inn Orcas Island/Eastsound, Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing