We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter wonderland”
Review of West Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
West Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Eastsound
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Spend a snowy couple of nights here in late December. It was the great pre-Holiday get-away; we read, played games, cooked and went into town to shop. The woodstove fire was a perfect foil to the light covering of snow. The water was so cold that the snowballs we threw in wouldn't melt!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VacationDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2013

My daughter and I have just come back from spending 3 wonderful days and nights in a well appointed rustic cottage at this facility. Not only was the location superb but so was everyone who took care of us! It was very hard to leave this peaceful place and come back to 'reality'. We will definitely have this on our calendar again and hopefully soon!
Claire and Pam

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pamela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

For about two hundred dollars a night, in a promised "fully equipped beachfront cottage," in the winter at the West Beach RESORT on Orcas Island, we DID NOT get: wifi- NONE whatsoever; then, to "respect our privacy" there was NO cleaning/maid service (NONE whatsoever), but we were welcome to publicly traipse along the road in front of all the other units with our armloads of dirty towels to take to the office (like a gym, kinda); we had to take out our own garbage down the road to a dumpster- OK, they gave us an extra plastic garbage bag, so we didn't have to reuse it; there was NO TV offered in the room, except we could rent one for 15 bucks extra for every night we wanted one in the room, we could borrow a few five year old DVDs, but we had to promise to bring them back (what, I want to steal Vin Diesel in The Pacifier?); there was a wood stove, which was nice, and they did- are you ready for it- give us one bundle of firewood, but then we had to pay for any additional firewood, and we were non-refundably booked for six nights. I certainly don't mind rustic living, but not at a "resort" for two hundred dollars a night. Please take them off of life support- this pretty setting needs new owners for the run down cabins, so at least you feel a little like you are in the 21st century in the United States.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cacktus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeBish, Manager at West Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Thank you for your comments and we're sorry if we missed the mark. We want to note that we have always offered free WIFI in the lobby, beach patio, and surrounding grounds. A guest computer is also available. This winter we are installing free WIFI that will service the beachfront cabins and hopefully the upper cabins soon (in the works). Regarding rates, your stay was over the busy Thanksgiving Holiday period. Your unit was $169/night but I notice you also had some incidentals (flowers and champagne) and brought two pets. These added to your total cost. Winter rates for your unit (standard beachfront) start at $119/night, and we often offer specials on top of that rate. We hope you will visit us again during the slower periods when you can take advantage of these low rates.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Remote location for those wanting a respite. 100 miles north of Seattle and then a 1-hour ferry ride. Need to plan ahead for the ferry as on a busy day you should plan on getting there 2 hours in advance as the next ferry may mean a 5 hour wait. Once on Orcas there is a 15 minute ride to WBR. We stayed in cabin #7 which was a comfortable 2 bedroom cabin. Kitchen fully equipped with dishes and utensils and even a cork screw. Covered patio includes a large grill. All you need is the charcoal. One car can fit right on the side of the cabin. Roadway in front of the cabin is not a problem as only a dozen oceanfront cabins share the road. On the Oceanside of the road is a small firepit with chairs and a picnic table.

Cabin has a woodburning stove which is a highlight for kids and kids at heart. There is electric heat in all rooms for those not wanting to start a fire. Shops close early in winter so buy food and supplies in Anacortes before boarding the ferry.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kimokeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed here in late September and we shared beach front cabin # 4 with another couple. We also had friends staying in a bigger cabin on the upper level. This was our first time on this Island. Orcas is a really pretty island. Lots of hills and valleys, beaches and little towns.
The West beach resort is a short drive from the artsy little town of Eastsound. The resort is small, quaint and boasts terrific water views. The managment is friendly and helpful.

Cabin #4 is SMALL. You don't really realize how small from the website photos. Also the floor in our cabin was slanted. The website does state that these sort of cabins haven't been changed since they were built. Very true. Had we known how small, we wouldn't have shared with another couple. The bedrooms are tiny, barely enough room to walk around the bed, no closet, no bedside table. Probably a better choice for 1 couple or a couple with a small child. That being said, we made the best of the small quarters and still had a grand time. The cabin is very cute. Beds and linens comfortable, all appliances worked fine ( except floor was slanted enough that the birthday cake we baked in the cabin oven was also slanted!) The kitchen was very well stocked and that was appreciated.

Each of the beach front cabins have their own firepit, table and chairs which we really enjoyed. I thought from the web photos that the road was behind the cabins but actually it runs in front of the cabins by the beach so your "private" firepit area is not so private and has a driveway running through it. Oh well, surprised me but it was doable. Parking as stated on the web site is indeed VERY cramped. The water views were outstanding. There are bigger and more deluxe cabins that are beach front too. Spend a few more $ if you want to stretch out more.

Our other friends had a bigger 2 bedroom cabin on the upper level. Huge difference from the rustic cabin we were in. MUCH bigger, brighter, newer and had a TV. Still had a nice water view and a big fire pit area. I think we would go this route if we returned.

We walked all around the resort ( short walk) and there is also a nice camp area that includes a few large platform tents that looked like a fun place to spend a weekend if you can handle less ameneties. The office/ store had a lot of items you might want while there, drinks, snacks, wine and beer if you don't want to leave during your visit. But touring the island is very worthwhile. We visited Eastsound and the BEAUTIFUL state park. Make sure you go up to the lookout tower if you go to the park. The views are awesome.

All in all we really enjoyed our visit to this island and to this resort. It's a bit pricey but a fun experience and we're glad we went.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harleytravelerx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

I currently live in Seattle and go to the West beach about once a year for nearly 25(?) years now. But prior to moving here I'd go there from NY. It is worth the trip from either locale.
My cabins( 15 if travelling alone or 18 if traveling with friends) are fully stocked, clean, private, spacious enough and both have delicious views. Off season the serenity and silence are simply sublime. I will return over and over again as long as they remain as they are-unpretentious , family owned and fairly priced.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meshugah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

West Beach resort has become the getaway spot for my Seattle friends and I. We have spent holidays there or just a low-key weekend. We have never stayed in the Summer where it seems to more lively but its perfect for a fall and winter getaway with good company and a book. The cabins are all nice and well kept. Their little store is part gift shop, part mini-mart and part cafe and have brews on draft if you get cabin fever. The grounds along the water are rustic and relaxing. It has become a home away from home for us. Highly recommended for groups.

Room Tip: Some cabins allow animals. Some cabins are right on the water while some are a little more inland bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aimee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastsound
2.3 mi away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
3.6 mi away
Pebble Cove Farm
Pebble Cove Farm
#3 of 11 in Orcas Island
252 reviews
4.6 mi away
Deer Harbor Inn
Deer Harbor Inn
#1 of 2 in Deer Harbor
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 11 in Friday Harbor
531 reviews
11.5 mi away
Edenwild Boutique Inn
Edenwild Boutique Inn
#1 of 2 in Lopez Island
165 reviews
6.2 mi away
Orcas Hotel
Orcas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Orcas
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Beach Resort

Address: 190 Waterfront Way, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245-9226
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Eastsound
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Eastsound
Price Range: £114 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront and ocean view cottages on a prime walk-out sand/pebble beach. We face due west for spectacular sunsets. 5 minutes from Eastsound. An amazing family vacation destination in the summer; a romantic retreat in the winter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your West Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Beach Hotel Eastsound
West Beach Eastsound
West Beach Resort Orcas Island/Eastsound, Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing