We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Family Getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of West Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
West Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Eastsound
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
“Perfect Family Getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

My busy family needed some down time so I booked a weekend getaway in Cabin #2 for 2 nights over Mother's Day weekend. Although technically "off season" the weather was perfect for my young beach enthusiasts. The kids spent hours looking for critters on the beach. The cabin came fully furnished with all the basics. We made a quick trip to the grocery store in town for a few items for snacks and planned to enjoy the restaurants in town for our bigger meals. Highly recommend this place for families!

Room Tip: Cabin 2 includes 2 rooms each with a double bed. Good for a family of 4 with smaller children. Rig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwinMom575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    58
    16
    10
    20
See reviews for
114
62
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kirkland, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

We've stayed at West Beach for the last few years, and every year it gets better. The upgraded linens and amenities are nice touches. This year they added a local beer and wine bar, which was great! We love the people who work there, and everything about the setting is perfect. If you are looking for a place to relax enjoy the PNW, this is it. Your kids can play right in front of your cabin on the beach and you can relax with a glass of wine or a morning coffee (or latte from the office/cafe) and then enjoy the view. We saw whales from the beach this last time, which made an already perfect trip even more memorable!

Room Tip: We love Cabin 8, a little more deluxe, nice big porch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gretchen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Issaquah
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed in cabin #5 for 3 nights during Spring Break. We had a great time! The loft is super cool and our daughter was very excited about having her own space. The deck has a table and we watched beautiful sunsets while having dinner. The kids were having a great time just playing on the beach and around the house (there is a small creek and a little bridge over it just behind the house). Highly recommend this resort and this cabin.

Room Tip: Cabin #5 has a very cool loft in addition to 2 bedrooms. Kids are just crazy about this loft! Cozy d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stayed in cabin 19, the 2 bedroom/2 bath cabin which sits above the beach-front cabins on the property. The cabin was clean, bright and airy, with great views through the windows, and a sizable back deck. The cabin is much more secluded than the ones below on the beach, which are built pretty close together, and has a good amount of front- and back-yard space. The staff we encountered were pleasant and professional, and we enjoyed our time there very much.

Room Tip: Cabins 18 and 19 are much more private and secluded than the other cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank insOma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chehalis, Washington
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

We chose to stay in a cabin for the first time ever, what a delight! It was right by the water with a fire pit out front and a picnic table on the front porch, with a beautiful view! Our cabin was very cute, clean, and had all the accommodations we needed. The staff was super friendly. We will definitely revisit West Beach Resort! It was just right!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R_Gburbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

My friends and I recently stayed for a few days and realized immediately upon entering our beautiful cabin that we had made a huge mistake in not planning to stay for a whole week instead if just a few days! The staff was friendly and helpful. It was a wheelchair friendly cabin that had beautiful wooden floors and an open, easy to access kitchen! Next year we will plan for a longer stay!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yayato4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

My wife and I had been looking for a weekend getaway for way too long. We figured out we'd like to stay in a cabin, but couldn't decide between the mountains or the beach. We decided on a beach cabin and chose West Beach Resort based off of their website and guest reviews. We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend!

We stayed in a 1 bedroom Ocean View cabin, just a quick walk up the hill from the beach and the Beach Front cabins. Bed was nice and firm. There was baseboard heating, but there was also a wood stove and NOTHING beats wood heat! There is a small complimentary bundle of wood by the stove on arrival and more can be purchased in the resort store. I actually had extra wood in my truck bed, so we didn't need to purchase extra.

We didn't do a lot all weekend there but relax and talk, and it was wonderful! We hope to return this summer, when the weather is warmer and more activities are going on. If you're looking for a 5 - star hotel, this isn't it. However if rustic accommodations are your thing and you want to enjoy the simple life, this place is perfect!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Gene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastsound
2.3 mi away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
4.6 mi away
Deer Harbor Inn
Deer Harbor Inn
#1 of 2 in Deer Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
3.5 mi away
Pebble Cove Farm
Pebble Cove Farm
#1 of 11 in Orcas Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Orcas Hotel
Orcas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Orcas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
10.8 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
4.9 mi away
Rosario Resort and Spa
Rosario Resort and Spa
#1 of 5 in Eastsound
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Beach Resort

Property: West Beach Resort
Address: 190 Waterfront Way, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245-9226
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Eastsound
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Eastsound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront and ocean view cottages on a prime walk-out sand/pebble beach. We face due west for spectacular sunsets. 5 minutes from Eastsound. An amazing family vacation destination in the summer; a romantic retreat in the winter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your West Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Beach Hotel Eastsound
West Beach Eastsound
West Beach Resort Orcas Island/Eastsound, Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing