We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“dreamy getaway”
Review of West Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
West Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Eastsound
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Mercer Island, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“dreamy getaway”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

the tiny, comfy cabins are perfect for a relaxing retreat--each one has its unique vista of beautiful waldron island and the president's channel between. the beach and dock are busy but not loud. tiny store has the essentials including fabulous ice cream and an espresso machine, and a beachside bar. what more could you ask?? we always buy dahlias or a seasonal bouquet up the road. settle into the comfy cedar adirondacks- get out your novel. ahhh.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank t m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    58
    16
    10
    20
See reviews for
114
62
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

We camped here in July 2014 and enjoyed the experience. It is not too crowded - maybe 30 basic campsites, RV sites, and tent cabins total. The bathrooms with coin showers were clean and functional. The proximity of the store and boat launch was a plus. As others have commented, the sunsets are gorgeous. Would return again, maybe for the waterfront cabins.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank dhkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This place is the best campsite camping out there! I rearly stay at paid camp spots but this actually has changed my mind about this style of camping. Everyone was mellow and minding there own business. It was so beautiful and right on the water. We snorkeled in wetsuits and had the time of our life. Great for kids. The staff was more than generous. Had some car problems and the maintenance man Scott went out of his way to help us figure out our problem and get us in the right direction. I couldn't be happier with the whole experience.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AshleyTsnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flower Mound, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed 2 nites then went to Seattle! Wish we had more time. So relaxing and the tent cabin was a nice compromise between camping and a hotel. The bed and futon were comfortable. One night of firewood was provided. They had a battery lantern and flashlight in the tent. There is a little car traffic behind the TC5 and we woke to the ducks each morning but I think nature is the best alarm clock! We used the laundry which was sufficient. The nicest surprise was the staff comprised of interns from all over the world-very friendly staff. Sitting around the community bonfire watching the fabulous sunsets were a treat! The smell of homemade waffle cones mixed with the fabulous view will be forever ingrained in my memory. We will definitely be back and hope to rent a cabin for a future family event!

Room Tip: The waterfront cabins would be my pick but better reserve a year ahead!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Page
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

My husband and dog stayed at this property in June for three nights. I wish we could have stayed longer! We got a cabin "above" the beach (sold out of beach front ones) which turned out really well since we had less foot traffic = dog barked less. The cottage was very clean and cute. Lots of room for the two of us. The sunset views were amazing! The deck with a grill was nice. We didn't use the fire pit, it was in an odd spot but they provided a face court of wood - which was nice. People were very nice & helpful. They even accommodated us to check in early. The store had a lot of good items for sale. We would stay here again when we return!

Room Tip: Beach front rooms are nice but keep in mind, you will have people walking by you so if you want a bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
137 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We just returned from a week at West Beach and had the best time, again. This is our 4th time that we have stayed and we always leave feeling rejuvenated but so sad that it is over. We love the rustic nature of the cabins and seaside setting is lovely, with outdoor cafe area, beach, dock and boat ramp. The kids can run free and we parents can relax and just enjoy the views and water activities (fishing, crabbing, kayaking). The resort organizes a daily activity for the kids and they provide popcorn for them at night. It is a nice touch. The nightly bonfire is wonderful and the sunsets cannot be beat. Will return again and hopefully for a fall retreat this time.

Room Tip: Beachfront cabins are the best to take it all in but the camping area and tent cabins look great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My two daughters (aged 12 and 10) and I spent 5 nights at a deluxe beach front cabin at West Beach Resort at the end of June and it was just perfect. The 2 bedroom was probably a little bigger than we needed for the three of us but we did enjoy the space. The cabin was clean and comfortable - it was really nice to have a kitchen to cook in. We also used the charcoal grill on the patio and certainly had some bonfires and smore's in the fire pit out front. The location was perfect - right on the water and the views of the sunset were spectacular. It was just so peaceful and relaxing, which is exactly what we were looking for. We did rent some kayaks a few times (for a small fee) which the girls and I loved. We were all looking for some R&R and this was the perfect spot to relax, read, nap, etc. The cabins are super close to each other so if you want complete privacy, this is not the place for you.

It was also really nice being so close to the town center for grocery shopping and going to some restaurants. Our favorite was Mijitas for Mexican - and we did have lunch at Rose's Cafe which was just delicious (just pretty expensive for lunch). But most of the time we ate at the cabin.

I would go back in a heartbeat and really recommend it to anyone!

Room Tip: We stayed in cabin #7 which was right in the middle of the beachfront cabins - I would pick one furt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PacificNWJenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastsound
2.3 mi away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
4.6 mi away
Deer Harbor Inn
Deer Harbor Inn
#1 of 2 in Deer Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
3.5 mi away
Pebble Cove Farm
Pebble Cove Farm
#1 of 11 in Orcas Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Orcas Hotel
Orcas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Orcas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
10.8 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
4.9 mi away
Rosario Resort and Spa
Rosario Resort and Spa
#1 of 5 in Eastsound
4.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Beach Resort

Property: West Beach Resort
Address: 190 Waterfront Way, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245-9226
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Eastsound
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Eastsound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront and ocean view cottages on a prime walk-out sand/pebble beach. We face due west for spectacular sunsets. 5 minutes from Eastsound. An amazing family vacation destination in the summer; a romantic retreat in the winter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your West Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Beach Hotel Eastsound
West Beach Eastsound
West Beach Resort Orcas Island/Eastsound, Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing