We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint Waterfront Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Heron Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 12 Eastsound B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed at the Blue Heron B & B for one night prior to a sail trip we did last week. The hospitality was warm, and Bogdan and Carol both very gracious hosts. The rooms were small and quaint, but had everything we needed for a great first night in the San Juan Islands. Breakfast was wonderful and filling (we paid additional for the full breakfast - continental breakfast is included), and Carol was so kind to take us to Deer Harbor in the morning to meet our sailboat. We very much enjoyed our stay at the Blue Heron and would recommend it!

Room Tip: The upper rooms have a wonderful view of the harbor and a semi-private deck area to enjoy the scener...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank jennifr5280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

Our daughter, who lives part of the year on Orcas describes the island as magical. We concur but believe this scenic spot is enhanced by a staya t the Blue Heron . The rooms are appealing, the breakfasts warming and the hospitality provided by Carol and Bogdan unmatched. Our hosts went out of their way to help us enjoy the many pleasures of the island and fter a week, we discovered that we had made fast friends. Treat yourself. Follow in our footsteps.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank bpbRochester_Newyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The location was superb, right on the water and a 5 minutes drive from the ferry landing. Our room was very nice and our little balcony overlooked the water. Great for coffee in the morning and an evening glass of wine. Breakfast (included) was very minimal for a B and B (muffin, coffee, juice). There was a more comprehensive breakfast available for purchase.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the water with balcony were very nice. I think there were two of these.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank chester1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We booked Blue Heron because of its close proximity to the ferry and because the room had a balcony overlooking the sound. Bogdon, Carol and P Man were excellent hosts, appearing only if we had a question or need. The breakfast was first class and Carol met our special dietary needs; she even made a to-go bag for each of us to enjoy on the early ferry to Friday Harbor. Our favorite part was having coffee out on the balcony in the evening. One afternoon we enjoyed a seal playing in the marina waters. Orcas Island is a great place to get away from it all and Blue Heron the place to stay.

Room Tip: Choose one with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

This B&B has so many personal touches and little things that make it special that it's hard to know where to start! From the art on the walls and the beautiful furnishings to the home cooking and friendly generosity of the innkeepers, everything about the Blue Heron is special.

The property itself is beautiful, quiet, unique and immaculately clean and the views are amazing. Mark and Shannon, the innkeepers for our stay, were hugely welcoming, friendly and accommodating and they catered perfectly to the dietary requirements and antisocial timetables of 2 eccentric distance runners on race weekend. Basically they fed us whatever we needed, whenever we needed it and everything came with a smile and great conversation. These people genuinely care about sharing their knowledge of the island and making sure you have the most comfortable and enjoyable stay with them.

Room Tip: Small B&B so any room is quiet and private
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank El B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

While most people don't think of going to the San Juans in winter, Orcas Island is perhaps even more beautiful then as the natural silence and beauty of the place return after summer's tourist season. The Blue Heron was a winter delight. The breakfasts were amazing, and Mark and Shannon were friendly and very helpful in pointing out places and things to do in the off season.. I had a great time, and recommend visiting this B&B even in the off season, or perhaps especially in the off season.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philotera b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

This is a great place to stay and get away from the busy world with distractions. We were the only people staying in the Inn because it was during the week and in the off season. We were late getting to the island and Bogdan called us to make arrangements to get into the inn. Our room had a great view of the bay and we had a great breakfast made by Bogdan the first day. The Inn is within walking distance to the Kingfish Inn. Carol made us another outstanding breakfast the next day. We would definitely return to the Blue Heron in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichK45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastsound
5 mi away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
4.7 mi away
Otters Pond Bed and Breakfast
5.9 mi away
Kangaroo House Bed & Breakfast on Orcas Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Turtleback Farm Inn
Turtleback Farm Inn
#5 of 19 in Orcas Island
111 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kingfish Inn
Kingfish Inn
#4 of 12 in Eastsound
101 reviews
4.2 mi away
Rosario Resort and Spa
Rosario Resort and Spa
#2 of 5 in Eastsound
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Heron Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Heron Bed and Breakfast

Address: 982 Deer Harbor Rd, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245-9284
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Eastsound
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Eastsound
Price Range: £53 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Heron B&B, an historic 1910 home, is located on West Sound Bay and has beautiful water views and beach access. It is close to the ferry and the village. Continental Breakfast and afternoon snacks are included. Upgrade to a full, hot breakfast for only $5.50 Per person. Internet and information about activities and restaurants available. Friendly hosts. Pets and children welcome. This B&B is for sale on Orcas Island in the Pacific Northwest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Blue Heron Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Heron Bed And Breakfast Orcas Island/Eastsound, Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing