We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Golden Tree Hostel(Eastsound)(Great Value!)
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Deer Harbor Inn(Deer Harbor)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$197
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lakedale Resort at Three Lakes(Friday Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$331
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Friday Harbor House(Friday Harbor)
US$462
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kingfish Inn(Eastsound)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveller rating
76
18
7
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
76
18
7
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspelican roomolder homeb and bplace to stayyogurtbed and breakfastorcas islandsmall fridgefirst morningprivate balconyenglish muffinssan juanspleasant staycoffee makerview of the baywalrusegrets
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 103 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2015

I recently had the pleasure of staying at Blue Heron Bed and Breakfast in the cozy Walrus Room. The room came with a private balcony overlooking the harbor and sitting on the balcony with coffee (or wine) was a nice, relaxing way to begin and end each day. Carol and Bogdan were wonderful hosts and truly accommodating. I didn't bring a car with me to the island (rookie mistake - you really need one!) and they kindly offered me rides into the village and to the ferry, which was really above and beyond. The homemade breakfast was really tasty and enjoyed in the lovely, sun-drenched dining room each morning. If you're ever on Orcas Island, a stay at Blue Heron is highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled solo
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J1978HPclairec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2015

We stayed 2 nights in the Otter room which is toward the back of the house and you get to the room from an outside door, so it is very private. Since this room is on the main floor and backs up to the kitchen we did hear a little noise in the mornings but nothing overly loud. The room was nicely decorated and very clean! Private bathroom is spacious and has toiletries, hairdryer and even a towel heater. The location of the B&B is right across the road from West Sound harbor (about 10 minutes from the ferry landing and 25 minutes from Eastsound). We explored the island during the day (be sure to drive up to the top of Mt. Constitution). We spent both evenings sitting on the front porch sipping glasses of wine and watching the water. The upstairs rooms have balconies but we enjoyed our seats on the porch. It was very peaceful. The breakfast table was beautifully set each morning with nice china and there was a side table to help yourself to a good selection of bagels, granola, muffins, yogurt, and fresh fruit all nicely labeled. There was a different hot entrée made each day by the host. We had a Southwestern egg casserole the first day and homemade oatmeal waffles the second day. Both were good. We have not stayed in a B&B for many years so have nothing to compare the Blue Heron to, but the host couple were friendly and accommodating and we felt very welcomed. The room was clean and comfortable and the breakfasts were good. The location was beautiful, so what more could you ask for? We would recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank floridagal2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2015 via mobile

My husband, son, his fiancee and their sweet but anxious large rescue dog stayed here in early August. The event was a good friend's wedding- which required that we leave the anxious dog at the B and B. The hosts were very accommodating and helpful. As well, our rooms were comfortable and breakfasts very good. If you're looking for a reasonably priced, comfortable B and B I recommend the Blue Heron.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2015

Reminiscent of staying at my grandmother's farmhouse. Inn would benefit from updating. Perhaps we expected more as the two other B&Bs we stayed at in the islands were top notch. Room was clean, which was a definite plus. Mattress in need of replacement, linens far from luxurious. Breakfast very, very basic, not up to par with what we've experienced at other B&Bs. High priced for what you get, and when compared with other inns. Perhaps better for families as room arrangement would be good for parents in one room, children in others. Location quite a distance from Eastsound and Moran State Park. Hosts were pleasant.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Harperoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueHeron, Owner at Blue Heron Rooms and Glamping, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017



Hi Harperoo,

We are the new owners of the Blue Heron Bed and Breakfast! We really appreciate your honest review and hope you will stay with us again. We have updated the home. We do continue with a simple breakfast, but it is fresh and prepared with love.

Sorry you felt that way about the location. We personally love how sunny Westsound is compared to other areas on the island. We also enjoy the picturesque 13 min drive to town. It's also nice to avoid the crowds of Moran State Park and enjoy the equally beautiful Turtleback State Park with a trailhead only a mile down the road.

Take Care,

Abe, Kate, Jonah and Foster

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2015

We stayed in the tiny but lovely Walrus room. Everything was perfect and clean and comfortable. The private full bathroom across the hall included shampoo, soap, and a hair dryer. The side balcony offered a great view of West Sound.

Breakfast both mornings was amazing: migas on Saturday and Dutch babies on Sunday, along with fruit, granola, English muffins, and homemade baked goods.

Carol and Bogdan were warm and friendly. Carol gave us quite a few tips for things to see and places to eat. We highly recommend staying here and would return any time!

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EMFWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews