We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were so lucky!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Heron Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 12 Eastsound B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 17 August 2006

My mother and I just spent 5 nights at the Blue Heron and though we did not do extensive research- we read their website and reserved by phone- we felt extremely lucky to have found them!
The house is very quaint and attractive and right on the water and there is a suspended wicker chair on the front porch where we could look out on the water and chat with our hosts or other guests or in solitude. Such a treat these days!
Carol and Bogdan have realized a dream of theirs in the Blue Heron so they put their hearts into making it perfect. Carol gives a lot of attention to food so that the breakfast is always delicious and varied (sometimes to good for the dieter!) and she puts out some snack food (cookies, brownies) every afternoon. They are flexible about breakfast hours and the early riserers can make their own coffee or keep food in a small refrigerator upstairs. My mother and I always enjoyed a glass of wine and crackers on our private balcony overlooking the bay.
Last but not least, they provided us with extremely useful information about the island and things to do. Orcas is a magical island and the Blue Heron a wonderful way to discover it.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank easterling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2006

We just returned from a stay with Carol and Bogdan at their Blue Heron B&B and got such excellent treatment we had to write about it. We are middle class citizens, not used to luxury, but the out of the ordinary care they dsiplayed throughout our stay made us sure that our next trip to Orcas Island will be at their place as headquarters for the whole trip.

The breakfast she served was outstanding, peach stuffed french toast, and all kinds of fruit. It was far beyond anything else we have ever seen anywhere and we have been a lot of places, all over the US, some of Canada and Mexico and around the world and are thoroughly familiar with the Pacific Northwest.

3  Thank usedman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Bremerton, Washington
12
Reviewed 19 June 2006

This B & B was absolutely terrific!

Hosts: Carol and Bogdan were great folks to chat with - and their dog Pulaski was a great ambassador who played non-stop with our 17 pound terrier.

Food: Top-notch - the brownies were to die for!

Rooms: We stayed in the Pelican, and only left to go to the Summer Solstice parade. The private deck was fantastic - and we fell asleep with the door open to the sound of lapping waves.

B'n B itself - great little fireplace, very comfortable porch swing, and two bicycles ready for riding. The decor was welcoming and comfortable - without making you feel like you were in a museum.

Two thumbs up - thank you!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Elma, Washington
11
Reviewed 9 June 2006

Our experience at the Blue Heron was wonderful! Our room was exceptional, overlooking the bay and marina.
The food was wonderful and our host and hostess so gracious and willing to help with our plans for the day. Fun things to do included hiking, kayaking, whale watching, beach combing or just sitting on your balcomy overlooking the bay and reading a book.
The whole island of Orcas was a very warm and friendly place to visit.
We are looking forward to returning again for a wonderful relaxing time!

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Gunnison, Colo
11
Reviewed 9 June 2006

My husband and I truly enjoyed our too brief stay at the Blue Heron Bed and Breakfast. Orcas Island is a relaxed, laid-back island in the San Juans. The ferry from Annacortes, Wash. started the trip....very easy to do and very interesting to watch the wide variety of travelers. We drove on with our pickup and dog and had no problems. The Blue Heron is less than 10 minutes from the ferry. Bogdan and Carol Kulminski were so welcoming to us and our dog. Of course, their willingness to accomodate us and dog was the main reason to try them out. It helped that their dog, Pulaski, was an eager playmate for our dog, Dakota. The covered, outside porch outside our bedroom was a perfect place to watch the marine life and activity on the Sound. Our room was very spacious and clean and well appointed. The Kulminskis are new to the bed and breakfast trade but they will surely succeed....they have many plans for their older home and we hope to go back in a few years to see their progress. The breakfasts were great and Carol and Bogdan had lots of ideas and information about exploring the island. We would highly recommend the Blue Heron Bed and Breakfast.

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Seattle, Washington
1
Reviewed 31 May 2006

The Blue Heron B&B was the perfect home away from home for me AND my dog. The proprietors, Carol and Bogdan, could not have been more thoughful and helpful and made both of us (human and canine) feel very welcome and cared-for. And Pulaski, their black lab, was an excellent playmate and host for my pooch. Our stay at the Blue Heron was great!!

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
DuPont, Washington
1
Reviewed 29 May 2006

My wife, baby, and I had an outstanding stay at the Blue Heron. Located right on the water, the Blue Heron offers excellent views of the harbor. The breakfasts were fantastic and the service was more than we could have asked for. We felt at home at the Blue Heron during our 4 day stay and will definitely come back! Thanks Carol and Bogdan!

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastsound
5 mi away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
4.7 mi away
Otters Pond Bed and Breakfast
5.9 mi away
Kangaroo House Bed & Breakfast on Orcas Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Turtleback Farm Inn
Turtleback Farm Inn
#5 of 19 in Orcas Island
111 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kingfish Inn
Kingfish Inn
#4 of 12 in Eastsound
101 reviews
4.2 mi away
Rosario Resort and Spa
Rosario Resort and Spa
#2 of 5 in Eastsound
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Heron Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Heron Bed and Breakfast

Address: 982 Deer Harbor Rd, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245-9284
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Eastsound
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Eastsound
Price Range: £69 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Heron B&B, an historic 1910 home, is located on West Sound Bay and has beautiful water views and beach access. It is close to the ferry and the village. Continental Breakfast and afternoon snacks are included. Upgrade to a full, hot breakfast for only $5.50 Per person. Internet and information about activities and restaurants available. Friendly hosts. Pets and children welcome. This B&B is for sale on Orcas Island in the Pacific Northwest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Blue Heron Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Heron Bed And Breakfast Orcas Island/Eastsound, Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing