We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to relax - amazing hot tub view”
Review of Anchorage Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eastsound
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Anchorage Inn
Ranked #8 of 12 Eastsound B&B and Inns
Mt Vernon, WA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place to relax - amazing hot tub view”
Reviewed 10 June 2011

Great place to go for the views, hot tub, and chance to relax. While this B and B, like many others we've been to, has rooms that are average (why are so many B and Bs so cheaply/oddly decorated?), they are comfortable with wonderful views. The setting is very peaceful and quiet. No TVs but rooms have ipod dock and fireplace, so perfect for cuddling up with a book (or your sweetie). The views are beautiful from each room, but especially from the hot tub that sits on a bluff overlooking the sound. Could have stayed in it all day! We stayed in Ocean View which is the most central room of the three with perhaps the best deck and view. Breakfast is a bit skimpy but they also provide juice, milk, yogurt, and home-made granola. The little kitchenette (microwave, refrigerator, sink, fully stocked for two people) is perfect for making lunches as well. Close to Eastsound for dinners (highly recommend Inn at Ship Bay and New Leaf Cafe) and Moran Park for hiking. Overall a great place to get away.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dosma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
25
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 31 May 2011

We just returned from a lovely 2 night stay at the Anchorage Inn. Upon arriving at the property we were immediately greeted by deer crossing the driveway, including the very interesting "mutant" white and brown deer. We were greeted by Michelle when we first arrived and shown around the property and then to our room. We were assigned the "Seascapes" room, which we quickly decided was perhaps the nicest room with the best view based on where the other rooms were. The room was bright and well appointed with a small kitchenette complete with yummy homemade granola, yogurt, oatmeal, coffee, juices and a bottle of port to enjoy - all complimentary. The room was also extremely clean. The view was amazing, the windows were large and brought the outside in for us. I read another review where some complained about the size of the deck, we found it to be perfectly comfortable for sitting there. While it isn't large, it isn't meant for a large group and it was fine for 2 people.

The grounds are beautiful, we walked down to the beach and sat on a piece of driftwood and were so relaxed, it was very quiet and private. They also have a lovely garden and they encourage you to "forage" from it. It was a bit early in the season, but we did have some red leaf lettuce and spinach from it. I would think that later in the season there will be more to choose from.

Breakfast was delivered around 8 in the morning and left outside our room on the table on the deck. We were very excited to unwrap our goodies and we were starving - so I do admit that we were a bit disappointed in what was left for us for breakfast. Two servings of strawberry rhubarb cobbler and two slices of orange bread (kind of like a Challah bread with orange in it). Granted, there was yogurt, granola, oatmeal, juice and coffee in our room, but we did hope to have a bigger bounty in our basket. Reading some of the entries in their guest book, it does appear that they might have recently scaled back. Previous breakfasts included quiche as well as more plentiful snacks. We ate the bread (very good), put the cobbler in the refrigerator (who eats cobbler for breakfast?) and headed out to Doe Bay Cafe in Olga and had a delicous breakfast there. Other people have posted about using the grill, and we would have done that but the local market didn't have anything that we really wanted to cook and without a cabinet full of spices to cook with, it wasn't really an exciting option for us. The following morning our breakfast box consisted of two scones and two yogurt/fruit parfaits. Again, we are not really sweet eaters in the morning and tend to enjoy a heartier, protein heavy breakfast, so we went to Rose's Cafe in Eastsound for a fantastic breakfast of baked eggs and bread.

Overall, the room was beautiful, the view was amazing, it was quiet, romantic, no TV, just time for the two of us to relax and have a nice little "pre-moon" before our July wedding. They have taken some real care and have some very nice touches:
-binoculars
-games
-books
-port wine
-fresh flowers (the heavenly scent of the lilacs filled the room)
-plush towels
-robes
-snacks in the refrigerator (the granola is really very good!)
-cookies in the room when we checked in
-free wifi
-wine opener
-nicely appointed kitchenette - really everything you need
-walking sticks for getting down to the beach
-flashlight if you need it for the hot tub at night

We would go back, we will just know that we need to prepare to go out to breakfast. If you go, request the Seascape room!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparkles0729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, CA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2010

Aaaaahhhh. Had I known what a gem Anchorage Inn is, the entire vacation would have been spent right there. Well designed and contemporary with every creature-comfort that you need is provided, but without its feeling prissy and pretentious--enough kitchen to prepare a meal, already stocked with light snacks, binoculars, music, games, real hardwood floors, comfortable bed/pillows. Add to that--- woodsy view of the sound; lush gardens with Thumper and Bambi lingering nearby; outdoor hottub; walking sticks to help you down the path to its private beach (the full moon enticed us out for a midnight swim!); Not your typical B&B where you must socialize with others: a private balcony and entrance; sumptuous gourmet breakfast magically brought in a romantic basket; friendly guests and innkeepers who respected our privacy. I plan to return again and again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FranklyFrannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Federal Way, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2010

A wonderful couples retreat. So peaceful and relaxing. Would stay there again

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LDSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, FL
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2009

This is a nice place to get away from it all. The views are beautiful, the grounds lovely and there's an abundance of wildlife. The rooms are large and comfortable. The downsides, for us, were that there was a pretty skimpy offering for continental breakfast - muffin or english muffin, store-bought granola or instant (flavored) oatmeal, and fruit. While we don't necessarily need a huge breakfast, perhaps if it is a continental breakfast, we could get a little healthier option? The other thing we missed was the interaction with other guests. Since there is no common areas other than outside, there's not much chance to chat with other guests, or for that matter, the owners or Michele, the manager. Even though she said she was available for anything we might need, it felt a little intrusive to knock on her door.

All that being said, we did enjoy our stay, even with the rainy weather!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank apopkab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2009

Nestled away in a woodsy grove on Orcas Island, the Anchorage Inn commands an excellent view of the ocean. Wildlife abounds--my wife and I spotted deer, eagles, river otters, and even a mink during our stay. The breakfasts were home cooking at its finest. Every morning we were served scrumptious, hearty fare that hit the spot. The rooms were cozy, clean, and comfortable. Even though the proprietors live right next door, we always felt that we had our privacy. The grounds were well kept and the ocean breeze was so pleasant that we were content to sometimes just lounge around the Inn rather than explore the island. We also enjoyed the fact that the Anchorage is only about a 12-to-15-minute drive to the ferry landing, so we could easily island hop when we wanted to. In short, if you're looking to escape all the noise and nonsense of modern life, then you would be hard-pressed to do much better than the Anchorage Inn.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CecilPeoples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuPont, WA
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2009

The Anchorage Inn totally exceeded our expectations. The manager and owners were very friendly and helpful, they offered good suggestions on places to visit and restaurants. The location is a little out of the way but, the seclusion and quietness is worth it. If you are looking for a relaxing, quiet vacation; we would highly reccomend the Anchorage Inn!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MillFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastsound
1.4 mi away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
5.1 mi away
Deer Harbor Inn
Deer Harbor Inn
#1 of 2 in Deer Harbor
266 reviews
5.5 mi away
Orcas Hotel
Orcas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Orcas
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Edenwild Boutique Inn
Edenwild Boutique Inn
#1 of 2 in Lopez Island
154 reviews
2.8 mi away
Rosario Resort and Spa
Rosario Resort and Spa
#2 of 5 in Eastsound
556 reviews
2.3 mi away
Otters Pond Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Inn

Property: Anchorage Inn
Address: 249 Bronson Way, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245-9274
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Eastsound
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Eastsound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the water's edge the grounds include a private cove. On a high bluff is a secluded hot tub with dramatic views of the pristine waters of East Sound. Bald eagles frequent the trees next to the inn. Seals, herons, loons, and sea birds populate the area. Each of three suites has a private deck and exceptional water views. All have queen beds, fireplace, private bath, dining area, and kitchenette. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Anchorage Inn Orcas Island/Eastsound, Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing