We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, with a great view”
Review of Anchorage Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eastsound
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Anchorage Inn
Ranked #8 of 12 Eastsound B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 November 2009

This is a nice place to get away from it all. The views are beautiful, the grounds lovely and there's an abundance of wildlife. The rooms are large and comfortable. The downsides, for us, were that there was a pretty skimpy offering for continental breakfast - muffin or english muffin, store-bought granola or instant (flavored) oatmeal, and fruit. While we don't necessarily need a huge breakfast, perhaps if it is a continental breakfast, we could get a little healthier option? The other thing we missed was the interaction with other guests. Since there is no common areas other than outside, there's not much chance to chat with other guests, or for that matter, the owners or Michele, the manager. Even though she said she was available for anything we might need, it felt a little intrusive to knock on her door.

All that being said, we did enjoy our stay, even with the rainy weather!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank apopkab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2009

Nestled away in a woodsy grove on Orcas Island, the Anchorage Inn commands an excellent view of the ocean. Wildlife abounds--my wife and I spotted deer, eagles, river otters, and even a mink during our stay. The breakfasts were home cooking at its finest. Every morning we were served scrumptious, hearty fare that hit the spot. The rooms were cozy, clean, and comfortable. Even though the proprietors live right next door, we always felt that we had our privacy. The grounds were well kept and the ocean breeze was so pleasant that we were content to sometimes just lounge around the Inn rather than explore the island. We also enjoyed the fact that the Anchorage is only about a 12-to-15-minute drive to the ferry landing, so we could easily island hop when we wanted to. In short, if you're looking to escape all the noise and nonsense of modern life, then you would be hard-pressed to do much better than the Anchorage Inn.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CecilPeoples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2009

The Anchorage Inn totally exceeded our expectations. The manager and owners were very friendly and helpful, they offered good suggestions on places to visit and restaurants. The location is a little out of the way but, the seclusion and quietness is worth it. If you are looking for a relaxing, quiet vacation; we would highly reccomend the Anchorage Inn!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MillFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2008

I stayed at The Anchorage Inn with my partner, looking for a quiet weekend at a scenic location. We definitely got our wish. The rooms and property are charming, with a beautiful view of the water. The studio suites are detached from the owner's house, so you avoid the feeling that you can get from other B&B's of staying in a stranger's home.

Our room was very clean, had a stereo, gas fireplace, a very comfortable bed and a kitchenette. The property also has a BBQ and gazebo where we cooked and ate our dinner one night.

There is a typical Northwest beach (i.e. small rocks) on the property. It was a perfect place to look for sealife such as tons of colorful seastars, at low tide.

We definitely will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichellefromSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2008

The Anchorage Inn is a wonderful place to stay while visiting Orcas Island. The rooms are clean and beautiful with the added feature of a fireplace, kitchen and a bottle of port to welcome you upon your arrival.

You get some of Sandra's fresh baked goods each day for you breakfast. Don't forget to check out the jacuzzi - it overlooks the ocean and you have complete privacy because only one room can use it at a time. We stayed a week and I did not want to leave.
Bobbie - Alaska

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank BSueAlaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2008

The Anchorage Inn was quite a treat! The peaceful setting in the woods, the views of the water and the yummy homemade breakfasts were all fantastic. The hosts greeted us warmly and made suggestions for activities we could do while on the Island (kayaking, boat trips, scenic flights, shopping, etc). We explored the Inn's private beach at low tide and found tidepools and rocks teeming with sealife...tiny crabs and purple and orange starfish by the dozens! We also saw blue heron, eagles, deer, and rabbits from the property. The town is only an 8-minute drive away, but for nature-lovers that want to get away from it all, this is the perfect place to be!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank tlmitche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2008

The Anchorage is a wonderful B&B. The grounds are large so you feel alone in the forest. Except for the owners house, there are no other neighbors that you can see. The views through the fir trees to Mt Moran and across the sound to the village of Eastsound are spectacular. There are only three units and each is well-supplied with a refridgerator, microwave (no range), dishes and flatware, as well as other amenities, such as books and even a small carafe of sweet sherry with glasses. Breakfast (quiche, granola, yogurt, fresh fruit, juices, etc.) is served to your room the previous afternoon so you can eat and go as you like. Our room, Seascape, is the corner room and probably has the best view. It has a small corner table, a gas fireplace in the corner for heat, queen bed, a bend-wood rocker, and other chairs and tables. The small deck outside has a table and two chairs. Quite a spacious and confortable unit.
The beach is minimal, but we are not into pacific northwest beaches. Just above the the beach is a two person swinging rocker, protected from the wind, with lovely water and mountain views. The hot tub (102 oF) has an equally nice view over the sound, but we haven't tried that yet.
The owners are very welcoming and the grounds with its gardens are well kept. They have numerous bird feeders on the property, and there are song birds everywhere. There is also a young deer who seems to be another resident of the property. There paths are well-maintained.
We had a very relaxing and enjoyalbe stay at the Anchorage and highly recommend it for couples. If you are looking for quiet at an unhurried pace, this the place.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank James-Corin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastsound hotels
2.8 mi away
Rosario Resort and Spa
Rosario Resort and Spa
#2 of 5 in Eastsound
578 reviews
1.4 mi away
Landmark Orcas Island
Landmark Orcas Island
#3 of 12 in Eastsound
78 reviews
2.2 mi away
West Beach Resort
West Beach Resort
#3 of 5 in Eastsound
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Otters Pond Bed and Breakfast
2.1 mi away
Beach Haven Resort
Beach Haven Resort
#5 of 11 in Eastsound
51 reviews
3.7 mi away
Kingfish Inn
Kingfish Inn
#5 of 12 in Eastsound
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Inn

Address: 249 Bronson Way, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245-9274
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Eastsound
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Eastsound
Price Range: £104 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the water's edge the grounds include a private cove. On a high bluff is a secluded hot tub with dramatic views of the pristine waters of East Sound. Bald eagles frequent the trees next to the inn. Seals, herons, loons, and sea birds populate the area. Each of three suites has a private deck and exceptional water views. All have queen beds, fireplace, private bath, dining area, and kitchenette. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Anchorage Inn Orcas Island/Eastsound, Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing