We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kangaroo House”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kangaroo House Bed & Breakfast on Orcas Island
Ranked #1 of 12 Eastsound B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Kangaroo House B and B made our Orcas Island weekend getaway incredible! We stayed in the Northern Flicker suite, complete with beautiful linens and a nice little sitting area with a TV and DVD's. (although we had no time to watch TV!) The location is perfect, close enough to downtown Eastsound, easily walkable if you want to explore and very close if you want to drive. The breakfast, the hot tub, the hosts (Charles and Jill) all PERFECT! The food was gourmet 5 stars....each day I thought, it can't be as good as yesterday, when are they going to get tired and serve us muffins from the supermarket. NEVER happened! Everything from scratch and perfectly presented with wonderful attention to detail! (I love that) Orcas Island proved to be a fabulous destination for mountain biking in Moran State park. Maybe not for everyone, but perfect for me! Lots of hiking trails too, and gorgeous vistas and lakes. We ate dinner at the Shipyard Inn - SUPER good and the Leaf Cafe, also wonderful. Lunch at Cafe Mia, crazy good fresh made food and then we went shopping at Olga's and the book store. There were plenty of small shops to keep us occupied and entertained. I will return to Orcas and I will stay again at Kangaroo Inn, and recommend it to everyone without hesitation.

Room Tip: I like the Northern Flicker Suite because it has a separate sitting area with TV/DVD and 2 large bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeanette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2011

We needed a little overnight getaway from the hustle and bustle of what we call everyday life, so I did my research online to find the best place on Orcas Island. I originally had another B&B selected but this one kept pulling me in online. I read the reviews and something about it pulled me in. Wow was I glad. Now I have been to a few B&B's but my friend has not. She was a little nervous and didn't know what to expect. When we got there Charles was there to greet us and show us around. We stayed in the Steller's Jay Suite and what a wonderful place. There was a seperate sitting/changing room and a very nice bathroom. Not huge by any means but very charming. The bed was so comfortable and we loved the little touches throughout the suite. We also enjoyed all the books in every room. We took a late night dip in the hot tub (ask for 2 flashlights and a lantern as there are no lights or lighted pathway, also bring flipflops as you have to walk on dirt and grass to get there). The hot tub was pretty secluded and very comfy. In the morning we woke up to a great breakfast with fresh fruit, apple and rhubarb crisp, and a German (I think it was German) hashbrown thing stuffed with herbs and cheese with a side of sweet baked bacon. That's the highlight of this B&B for me, getting the opportunity to try something new and enjoy their delicious breakfast. We also loved watching all the birds feeding right outside the window. Overall we really enjoyed our time here and my friend is a B&B fan. She already wants to plan another trip here. Charles and Jill are wonderful hosts and we will be back. Btw we ate at New Leaf Cafe for dinner (crab cakes, salmon dinner, and seafood pot were all perfectly made- we highly recommend them).

Room Tip: Steller's Jay Suite has a sitting room that separates the bedroom from the bathroom. It is locat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrcruz23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Charles and Jill make their B&B their home, so it is like visiting them to stay there. The greatest stars in the USA are out at their hot tub late and night. My husband loved watching the planes take off in daytime, too. Walk to Eastsound or to the community center and then drive to Moran and Olga. Lots of advice and good food from the owners as if they're your long lost cousins. We also met some international guest there and got to talk to Charles about architecture and the history of the house. LOVELY.

Room Tip: Each room is named for a bird, so pick your favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Charles and Jill are wonderful hosts. The breakfast is amazing. One morning Charles made a fresh blackberry sauce for our pancakes, about 20 minutes prior to serving. It was delicious! He even gave us a second helping. We enjoyed talking with Charles and Jill after breakfast, they are so friendly and have plenty of interesting things to talk about. All the food was very flavorful and nicely plated. We stayed in the Gold Finch room. Our room was very clean, and comfortable, however, a little dark. I loved the bathroom, it had so much character and plenty of sunlight. We definitely felt right at home, especially with the nice deck and front porch to sit and enjoy a glass of wine and a good book. The B&B was also very convenient to town, we had no problems locating it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Justine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Charles and Jill welcomed us into their home,gave us a tour of the house & gardens,a bit of history, and pretty much said "our house is your house" . We stached our booze in the fridge, along with our cheese and unpacked before heading out to our dinner reservation that Jill recommended.
Loved the front porch, the secret hot tub,and did I tell you about the breakfast? Wow! I love to cook, and the reason I booked this B&B was because of the food. Well, let me tell you, Charles & Jill's cooking will not disappoint. Three courses for breakfast, all fresh and homemade. A great start for the day:)
Get those chickens Jill!
We will be back,
Tom and Nancy

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank windtryst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Charming house, centrally located - very close to both restaurants and amenities in Eastsound, as well as proximate to kayaking off north side of island. Hosts were very welcoming, but did not crowd us in any way. Very nicely appointed craftsman, with great porches and nice dining room. Hot tub down long lane in rear was an unexpected plus. Packed nice snacks for our kayaking trip. Library has nice selection of books, and cool dvd collection in rooms. I do not like fussy B&B's - this one fit the bill perfectly.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Metr0traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We biked from the ferry dock to Eastsound and were so happy to land at Kangaroo House and have a much deserved soak in the hot tub. We did not want to get out of that comfortable bed the next morning, but were very glad we did when we tasted the yummy breakfast. We loved it and will be back again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastsound
1.0 mi away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
12.9 mi away
Edenwild Boutique Inn
Edenwild Boutique Inn
#1 of 2 in Lopez Island
164 reviews
13.2 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 11 in Friday Harbor
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Deer Harbor Inn
Deer Harbor Inn
#1 of 2 in Deer Harbor
271 reviews
6.1 mi away
Pebble Cove Farm
Pebble Cove Farm
#3 of 11 in Orcas Island
252 reviews
4.7 mi away
Rosario Resort and Spa
Rosario Resort and Spa
#2 of 5 in Eastsound
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kangaroo House Bed & Breakfast on Orcas Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kangaroo House Bed & Breakfast on Orcas Island

Address: 1459 N Beach Rd, PO Box 334, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245-5124
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Eastsound
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Eastsound
Price Range: £127 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kangaroo House Bed & Breakfast on Orcas Island 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic Craftsman Bungalow was built as a vacation hotel by a stone mason in 1907. In a later incarnation, colorful resident and steamship captain, "Cap" Ferris brought a baby orphaned kangaroo to live with him and his family. The locals dubbed the sprawling lodge the "Kangaroo House" Since then it has become a B&B and is the longest continually operating bed & breakfast in the San Juan Islands. We have 5 Rooms/Suites, all with Private Bathrooms, King or Queen beds and some with additional beds and DVD players/movies, Free WiFi, Garden Hot Tub, and an exceptional, filling breakfast made from scratch including wholesome, local fruits, meats, vegetables and herbs from Orcas Island's own farms and gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Kangaroo House Bed & Breakfast on Orcas Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kangaroo House Bed & Breakfast On Orcas Island Eastsound, Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing