We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience all around”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kangaroo House Bed & Breakfast on Orcas Island
Ranked #1 of 12 Eastsound B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We just spent 5 nights at Kangaroo House and absolutely loved it. Charles and Jill clearly love hosting visitors and are very gracious hosts. They are amazing cooks who prepared and presented unique and wonderful multi-course breakfasts. The grounds, common areas and rooms are gorgeous and the location in Eastsound was convenient to shops, restaurants and central for island attractions. And we found the other guests there amazing and enjoyed visiting with them, as everyone eats at the same time. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to stay again.

Jan and Ray

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jan16Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

My husband and I just returned from our trip to the San Juan Islands where we stayed 3 nights on Orcas Island at the kangaroo House. Our suite was very comfortable and on the main level which was nice and quiet. The innkeepers, Jill and Charles, were always available and so warm and friendly, knowledgeable about the island and best of all great cooks. The breakfasts were amazing and they were so nice to accommodate our gluten free diet with great skill. We would definitely recommend staying at this B&B and hope to go back again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank adventurer3705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed for three nights at the Kangaroo House, and were very sad to leave. Jill and Charles are great hosts and will do just about everything to make your stay enjoyable, besides they know everything there is to know about Orcas Island and the other San Juan Islands and will guide you to give you a premium experience. Breakfast was a treat each morning, very tasteful and nicely composed, and we were even given a super performance one morning by a nephew of the original owner, who could possibly tell stories about the kangaroo and related material until the end of the world. Rooms are very quiet and there is a lot to explore on Orcas and we probably could have stayed for a week. Sadly, the Kangaroo House is on the other side of the Globe, or we would go all the time.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Negroamaro69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

My hubby and I stayed at the Kangaroo House B&B for 3 lovely nights. Our experience was wonderful! The house was beautiful and comfortable. The garden hot tub was a special treat (all guests can sign up for time slots in the secluded hot tub)--it was so relaxing and felt great on our sore muscles after a nice hike in the nearby Moran State Park. The B&B features delicious breakfasts, a cozy fireplace (perfect for sipping wine and reading a book in the evening), and innkeepers who truly care about your experience. I can't wait to go back!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Becky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

The owners of the B&B were incredibly sweet and welcoming. My dear friend, her 10 year old daughter stayed for a night and truly enjoyed watching for shooting stars in their hot tub. The breakfast was super delicious and the bed extra comfy! A real delight, not even to mention the loveliness of the island itself.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindseyrhea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Kangaroo House in early October 2013 for 1 night and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Charles is a great host, and made a fabulous breakfast for his guests. He was very helpful in pointing out things to do on Orcas Island, and shared with us after breakfast what it was like to live in such a great place year round. The property has a lot of charm and history, is in great shape, everything clean and functioning well. The hot tub was very relaxing and felt like you were away in the woods. We look forward to staying with Charles again at the Kangaroo House the next time we're in Eastsound.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim-HB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I booked my husband's birthday weekend at the Kangaroo House on Orcas Island at the end of September. Sadly, record rainfall in the Seattle/ Puget Sound/ Washington coastal region kept it from being as scenic and active a trip as we'd both imagined. However, the upside was time spent at the Kangaroo House. Proprietor Charles makes the ABSOLUTE best breakfasts! Our room (to the left of the front door) was lovely and comfortable, and we found the library area for reading to be quite delightful. We even dared to hot tub in the rain in the home's extremely private backyard garden. A very relaxing time - though we missed the chance to kayak with whales. Bonus: We found and purchased a pair of AMAZING Vokl skis at a garage sale on the island. Also HIGHLY recommended: Brown Bear Bakery. Quiche as it is supposed to be, and wonderful pastries (if you have room after breakfast at the Kangaroo House!)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pixielegfiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastsound
1.0 mi away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
12.9 mi away
Edenwild Boutique Inn
Edenwild Boutique Inn
#1 of 2 in Lopez Island
164 reviews
13.2 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 11 in Friday Harbor
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Deer Harbor Inn
Deer Harbor Inn
#1 of 2 in Deer Harbor
271 reviews
6.1 mi away
Pebble Cove Farm
Pebble Cove Farm
#3 of 11 in Orcas Island
252 reviews
4.7 mi away
Rosario Resort and Spa
Rosario Resort and Spa
#2 of 5 in Eastsound
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kangaroo House Bed & Breakfast on Orcas Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kangaroo House Bed & Breakfast on Orcas Island

Address: 1459 N Beach Rd, PO Box 334, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245-5124
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Eastsound
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Eastsound
Price Range: £127 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kangaroo House Bed & Breakfast on Orcas Island 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic Craftsman Bungalow was built as a vacation hotel by a stone mason in 1907. In a later incarnation, colorful resident and steamship captain, "Cap" Ferris brought a baby orphaned kangaroo to live with him and his family. The locals dubbed the sprawling lodge the "Kangaroo House" Since then it has become a B&B and is the longest continually operating bed & breakfast in the San Juan Islands. We have 5 Rooms/Suites, all with Private Bathrooms, King or Queen beds and some with additional beds and DVD players/movies, Free WiFi, Garden Hot Tub, and an exceptional, filling breakfast made from scratch including wholesome, local fruits, meats, vegetables and herbs from Orcas Island's own farms and gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Kangaroo House Bed & Breakfast on Orcas Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kangaroo House Bed & Breakfast On Orcas Island Eastsound, Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing