We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very charming and friendly. The only place I will stay out on Orcas Island”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kangaroo House Bed & Breakfast on Orcas Island
Ranked #1 of 12 Eastsound B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 December 2010

This cozy little B&B was perfect in every way! Breakfast was included and I was amazed at how good the food was. The owner Charles went out of his way to prepare gourmet breakfast’s every morning of our stay.
The rooms were charming with a turn of the century country look. Only a short distance from the center of town gave us the option to drive or walk. We also met some new friends that were also staying at the Kangaroo and enjoyed breakfast together in the mornings and sitting around in the cozy living room with the fire place in the evenings.
I would recommend the Kangaroo Inn to anyone who is interested to spending some quiet time out on Orcas Island.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hortonc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2010

Had a wonderful, relaxing stay at Kangaroo House. Charles is the ultimate host and his breakfasts are as wonderful as have been described. We enjoyed his company each morning as well as that of our fellow travelers. The B&B is an old one, and you have to like that kind of accommodation to enjoy it. We were in the Goldfinch room - lovely. We slept extremely well, and while there are airplanes taking off next door each day, it was not a big deal. Our only complaint was the shower, which in the interest of water conservation, I assume, was no more than a drizzle each morning. My husband hated that, but everything else was just lovely.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BoomerBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2010

They even adjusted the breakfast to my special needs diet. Loved watching the birds.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanielAptos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2010

We absolutely loved staying here. Before we even arrived, Charles left me a voice mail letting me know that our room was ready for us. While the room was pretty standard as far as B&B's go (perfectly comfortable, antique furnishings), the common space was lovely too as was the hot tub. Since we went whale watching, and it got quite chilly on the water, having the hot tub was a real plus. But the best thing about Kangaroo, besides Charles and Jill, are the breakfasts. They were absolutely delicious, organic, and a lot of care went into them. We had three courses each day, a fruit plate, a savory course and then something sweet, using the local produce. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alixw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2010

We spent two nights at Kangaroo House last week during our two week trip through the Pacific NW. This B&B and the Orcas Island was the highlight of our trip. Jill and Charles were the ultimate hosts and breakfast was incredible; made with all fresh and organic ingredients. The room (Goldfinch) was very spacious and comfortable. The garden and grounds made for a very peaceful and relaxing atmosphere. I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone visiting the San Juans.

Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank rgorkowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2010

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at KH. The atmosphere is very relaxing and fits well with the pace of the island. The house is of the craftsman/bungalow style, decorated with a mix of antiques and fine reproductions. Our room was very cozy without being overdone and gracefully private.

Charles and Jill were very pleasant and attentive really made you feel at home. Having that right amount of interaction with the proprieter is a fine line at a B&B, and they have honed it well.

A fireplace was ready for the evening chill with wood stacked and a match ready. Couples moved freely around the home and enjoyed the warmth as well as the small library and territorial views. The house sits close enough to the airport to be convenient, but not so much as to be noisey. A public beach is less than a mile North of the house and there is a walking path all of the way.

The gardens around the house are wonderfully kept with a fitting array of northwest perennials. The massive plum tree in the back yard reminds you of the Island's history in raising abundant fruit.

Breakfast in the morning was at 9am and was tastey with plenty of coffee, tea and OJ to assist the meal. Fruit, un-cured sausage and a potatoe dish that mixed cheeses and hashed potatoes was a great start to a day of activity.

We enjoyed the stay and will definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnLicata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2010

Great Host! Great House! Great Breakfasts! Great Evening fire! What can we say that has not already been said? Best 4 nights of sleep in a long time. Thank you Charles for making our trip so memorable :)
We can't wait to get back!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dimsumNE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastsound
1 mi away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
7.9 mi away
Orcas Hotel
Orcas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Orcas
156 reviews
13.1 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 11 in Friday Harbor
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Edenwild Boutique Inn
Edenwild Boutique Inn
#1 of 2 in Lopez Island
172 reviews
6.1 mi away
Pebble Cove Farm
Pebble Cove Farm
#3 of 11 in Orcas Island
253 reviews
4.7 mi away
Rosario Resort and Spa
Rosario Resort and Spa
#2 of 5 in Eastsound
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kangaroo House Bed & Breakfast on Orcas Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kangaroo House Bed & Breakfast on Orcas Island

Address: 1459 N Beach Rd, PO Box 334, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245-5124
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Eastsound
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Eastsound
Price Range: £122 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kangaroo House Bed & Breakfast on Orcas Island 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic Craftsman Bungalow was built as a vacation hotel by a stone mason in 1907. In a later incarnation, colorful resident and steamship captain, "Cap" Ferris brought a baby orphaned kangaroo to live with him and his family. The locals dubbed the sprawling lodge the "Kangaroo House" Since then it has become a B&B and is the longest continually operating bed & breakfast in the San Juan Islands. We have 5 Rooms/Suites, all with Private Bathrooms, King or Queen beds and some with additional beds and DVD players/movies, Free WiFi, Garden Hot Tub, and an exceptional, filling breakfast made from scratch including wholesome, local fruits, meats, vegetables and herbs from Orcas Island's own farms and gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Kangaroo House Bed & Breakfast on Orcas Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kangaroo House Bed & Breakfast On Orcas Island Eastsound, Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing