We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Otters Pond Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 13 Eastsound B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

Otters Pond B & B was such an enjoyable place to stay when we visited in August 2012. All the wonderful things others have commented about are certainly true! Beautiful pond out back, lovely gardens, pristine and very comfortable Hummingbird guest room/bathroom, and outstanding gourmet breakfasts including very tasty coffee, kind and informative hosts Sue and Carl-----all made for an extremely relaxing vacation. I certainly hope we can return someday. We were quite pampered------perfection!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    13
    4
    5
    9
See reviews for
10
136
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

This B&B is on beautiful Orcas Island where it's hard to go wrong, there is an amazing many course gourmet breakfast, and the hosts Carl and Sue take real pleasure in assuring that everything is first class. We definitely recommend it! If you're into birding, it's right on a birding wetland, and it's close to many island destinations such as Rosario Resort and Moran State Park. We really enjoyed meeting the other guests; everyone was very friendly, and we had a wonderful time.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

If you want a well-located, clean and tranquil place to stay with down-to-earth proprietors that offer fantastic customer service in addition to delicious meals and coffee, then we highly recommend Otters Pond Bed & Breakfast. My husband and I stayed at Otters for an early one-year wedding anniversary getaway, and we could not have asked for a better place to stay. The room/bathroom/B&B were incredibly clean, which is really important for us since we’ve had too many bad experiences at hotels and airbnb’s that were a bit on the gross side. The comfortable bed and very quiet location allowed us to sleep in peace. The 9 am to 10-ish breakfasts were outstanding – I especially loved the airy pancakes and delicious sorbets. Many of the recommended restaurants on the island were out of our price range so the B&B’s breakfasts were very helpful. We’re big morning coffee drinkers and we loved that an ample amount of fresh, delicious coffee was always ready for the guests before, during, and after breakfast. Otters is also in a fantastic location a few minutes away from Moran State Park and just a short drive away from the main street with restaurants and shops. Sue and Carl were very friendly – it was our first time meeting them yet it felt like we knew them for many years. They will also take the time to give you suggestions and answer any questions you have about the islands. Sue gave us a tip that proved to be invaluable when we caught the ferry over to San Juan. Another memorable part of our trip were the conversations with the other guests at Otters. In the mornings we enjoyed chatting with the guests that we’d sometimes run late to do things (this is not a bad thing). Perhaps because Sue and Carl are so nice they attract equally nice guests as well.

Our personal recommendations: Drive up to Mount Constitution in Morgan State Park for incredible views and photo opportunities; check out Doe Bay – there’s cute little sitting areas overlooking the water that’s perfect on a sunny day for relaxing or reading (would love to try Doe Bay Café on our next trip - they have a great little deck); and Orcas Island Pottery is a must (it’s a pottery experience more than just a store) – in addition to the beautiful pottery, the quirky tucked away hidden area has beautiful water views, a tree house you can go up, a wooden swing set, and feels like a magical experience; and if you have time, catch the ferry over to San Juan Island for a day trip – but definitely take your car so you can drive around the island to check out the Lavender Farm, Lime Kiln Park and its Lighthouse, and a great outdoor sculpture park at the bottom of Roche Harbor. On our next Orcas Island trip, we’d love to stay with Sue and Carl again!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jegrf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

We went here for our 35th anniversary. It was wonderful. Off the road in the woods. Breakfasts were wonderful. The back deck was a wonderful place to watch birds. Proprietors Sue and Carl were wonderful. I can't wait to go again.

Room Tip: The room that enters off the porch is perfect with a fireplace and view into the front garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScarletandRhett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
216 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

Otters Pond B&B is set on a pond teeming with wildlife, wonderful swamp plants, and providing a soothing and elegant backdrop for a restful and interesting stay. Our hosts Sue and Carl were so informative and generous of both their time and knowledge. The five-course breakfasts were the best we have had in any B&B. Each course was thoughtfully prepared and presented, and celebrated local ingredients. We stayed 3 nights and found each morning's meal was full of creative and healthy surprises.
Not unlike stays in other B&Bs, the other guests were also fun to be with and we engaged in fascinating conversations.
The B&B has a hot tub, in a terrific setting on the deck, and there are comfy chairs and umbrellas which offer a respite at the end of a busy day.
Our room, the Goldfinch Room, was very private, luxuriously appointed, and large and comfortable. It has both a working gas fireplace and a TV, and looks out onto a well designed garden.

Room Tip: Rooms each have different features and their website shows them all. We liked the roominess of the G...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janeaustinNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

Otters Pond is hard to beat. My wife and I recently stayed for three days. All the reviews on here say it well. The rooms are clean as a whistle. Carl and Sue are terrific hosts. The breakfasts are out of this world. They serve a five-course breakfast. Most days, we didn't even need lunch. We had interesting breakfast conversations with other couples. Orcas Island is a great place to visit. Good hiking in Moran State Park. Gorgeous water views. The place attracts accomplished chefs. We ate very well the entire time we were on the island.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CardsFanIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ojai, CA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

Otters Pond Bed and Breakfast was a complete delight: located on a magical pond, run by friendly and efficient owners Sue and Carl, this bed and breakfast came with a scrumptous breakfast, the chirps of feeding birds and a soothing jacuzzi. Sue and Carl are encyclopedias of the myraid offerings of orcas island. Otters Pond is near the entrance of Moran State Park, which is a must see, with waterfalls, serene lakes and a magnificent 360-degree view of the surrounding san juan islands and distant mountain ranges. With our recent visit, this b and b climbed near the top of my list of all-time favorites.

Room Tip: Our little chickadee room was quiet and had an excellent view of the pond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ojaitraveler77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastsound
3.1 mi away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
6.3 mi away
Deer Harbor Inn
Deer Harbor Inn
#1 of 2 in Deer Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
5.4 mi away
Orcas Hotel
Orcas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Orcas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Edenwild Boutique Inn
Edenwild Boutique Inn
#1 of 2 in Lopez Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
5.7 mi away
Pebble Cove Farm
Pebble Cove Farm
#2 of 11 in Orcas Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
11.2 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Otters Pond Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otters Pond Bed and Breakfast

Property: Otters Pond Bed and Breakfast
Address: 100 Tomihi Dr, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245-8567
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Eastsound
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Eastsound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 1st class lodging set in a naturalist's Monet painting on a large wetland/pond at the base of Mt. Constitution. A birder's paradise. An adult getaway, rooms are decorated with an upscale, comfortable flair and gourmet breakfasts are served in the dining room and deck overlooking the pond. Free WiFi. Notebook computer available for e-mail. Hot tub. Island restaurants and Eastsound Village amenities are within four miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Otters Pond Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Otters Pond Bed And Breakfast Orcas Island/Eastsound, Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing