We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“read the fine print -- please note the railroad reserves the right to change equipment”

Mt. Rainier Scenic Railroad
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Elbe
Type: Rail Tours, Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Fourteen-mile excursion on a train using vintage 1900's steam locomotives on a scenic trip through the Pacific Northwest to Mineral Lake, passing within 25 miles of majestic Mt. Rainier.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“read the fine print -- please note the railroad reserves the right to change equipment”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

If you are wanting a ride pulled by a steam locomotive; you might not get it. We arrived for the 12:45 ride and found out that MRSR was using their diesel engine to pull the train. Looking at the web site it's about steam power and that was the draw for me. As it states in the reservation 'please note the railroad reserves the right to change equipment'. The train ride is fun but there is not much to see. However, the restoration workshops are impressive. If you really like steam trains AND they are running one, this might be worth the trip. Look for 2 for 1 coupons.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank cnord2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    66
    38
    19
    26
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Steam Train Ride with BBQ”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The train ride is fun, it runs from Elbe, WA to Mineral and stops at the museum of antique trains. There is an optional BBQ meal available there, and snacks available for purchase aboard the train. The passenger cars are clean, some are open air, others with windows that open. We rode in the only air-conditioned car where there are tables and chairs. The conductor and other staff were friendly and told us a little about the train's history and made the trip more interesting. There was a band playing at the site of the BBQ, where there are picnic tables with benches to eat the meal. Reservations are necessary for weekends and for the BBQ meal.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank RRrider2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy, Oregon
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“More Fun Than I Expected at Mt. Rainier Scenic Railway”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We had a fabulous time today aboard the Mt. Rainier Scenic Railway. Yes, it did go through a great deal of forest land but that was the original intent when it was used for logging. The staff was very polite and enthusiastic about the railroad operation. We were very impressed when we saw the museum and the number of very old and very big engines. I'm sorry to read reviews where the people were disappointed in this adventure. I guess it's all about attitude and maybe expecting too much.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Augustgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Rail trip through brush and alders”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The foliage didn't represent logging in the Northwest. It was logged off and never replanted. We saw ONE view of the very top of Mt. Rainier. The Logging Camp museum was well cared for, but they need benches for older people to sit. I realize, this is run by volunteers and some employees, but it is poorly run. No time schedules are kept and there are no instructions as to where to stand, and stand you must in the sun and rain as there is no place to sit (2 benches). I detected NO organization.
You do get to see a milky Nisqually River as it comes from the glacier, and I'm sure it takes effort to keep for the elderly steam engines running. We had the 1950's diesel as the steam engine was sick.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank gcmartini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Really disappointed”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

My and I took our 2 year old son for a ride on this today and were very disappointed. We went because of a 2 for 1 coupon offer. Our little boy loves trains, but there was no effort to connect with little fellas--simple things like having the expected "All Aboard" called out would've made a big difference.
Additionally, there was almost no organization, you couldn't tell where to load onto the train, there were no signs or direction. The seats are totally unassigned, and even though we waited in line for 40 minutes prior to departure, we had to walk through several cars to find a seat together. We saw other families that had to sit separately. Just numbering the seats and the tickets would be a very simple solution to alleviate this. Sitting with a group over 4 people together would be pretty difficult as-is.
The trip itself was nothing much, the views were far less than you will get by driving a short distance into Rainier park. My wife and I wished we would've spent the extra time there. Unless you're really, really into trains, skip it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Desiree B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mt. Rainier Scenic Railroad also viewed

Mount Rainier National Park, WA
Mount Rainier National Park, WA
 
Mount Rainier National Park, WA
 

Been to Mt. Rainier Scenic Railroad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing