We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Get what you get”
Review of The Hobo Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Elbe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Hobo Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Elbe B&B and Inns
San Juan Capistrano, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Get what you get”
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We had lunch at the restaurant and stayed at the Hobo Inn for 1 night.

This is the perfect place to feel like you are in 1850. Things are not perfect but the atmosphere is. Those who rate this as poor facility need to read the name. Hobo Inn. It is not the Hilton! For the price and the experience this place rocks!

Food was good, a bit pricey but everything in this area was expensive. At the base of a 14,000 mountain I can't really complain.

Room Tip: Bring your own entertainment...Places close early here and the cell service is non existent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank srock22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    20
    18
    7
    6
See reviews for
17
27
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Idaho
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

The novelty was fun. The bed felt like a roll away but expected in a caboose. Breakfast was great which was included in the price.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TammyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenacres, Washington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Loved the room, clean quite and best of all you wake up to the sound of the trains firing up in the morning, its great!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

I ended up at the the Hobo Inn more by accident than anything else: invited to a family get-together at nearby Alder Lake (a beautiful man-made lake and recreation area), I chose the Hobo Inn on a whim. That said, my granddaughters and I enjoyed our stay there immensely--they for the quirkiness of sleeping in real converted train cars, me for the comfort and location. The train cars are all mostly converted to sleeping spaces with bathrooms, but they've left some nice touches--the small observation perches looking out the top of the cars were favorites of my granddaughters. Overall, an enjoyable, memorable experience!!

Room Tip: Rooms to the back side may be a bit quieter, but even the ones fronting the road are not noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

We found the Hobo Inn by word of mouth from friends. Although I feel it is overpriced, the experience is truly unique. We stayed in Red Caboose #1. The caboose was outfitted nicely to pass time with everything you need. Note that the lodging cost includes a morning breakfast. But, be aware that the restaurant next door doesn't open until 9 AM. If you are planning an early start to head to Mount Ranier, this may not be your best option.

We are glad we did it, but we would find a less expensive option next time.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MSUEngineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, Connecticut
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

I have no problem paying $10 for a cheeseburger if I walk away full. But I didn't. The burger wasn't any bigger - or any better - than a QuarterPounder at McDonald's. The hand-cut fries were limp and soggy.
The calamari with garlic aioli, however, were fantastic.
Still, a bill for over $60 for three people to share one appetizer and then each have a burger and a beverage (non-alcoholic) is more than a little ridiculous. Good thing we decided not to get dessert!

Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank CindyJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2011

What a cool hotel! Stay in an actual caboose or railcar overnight. Reasonable rates which included a breakfast from the restaurant, any one off the menu! Don't pass up this chance to stay here.....especially if you have kids!! Right close to the scenic railroad.

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Iloveeatingout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elbe
12.2 mi away
Alexander's Lodge
Alexander's Lodge
#3 of 6 in Ashford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
7.6 mi away
Whittaker's Motel and Historic Bunkhouse
22.5 mi away
Prairie Hotel
Prairie Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yelm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Nisqually Lodge
Nisqually Lodge
#1 of 6 in Ashford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
11.1 mi away
Copper Creek Inn
Copper Creek Inn
#2 of 3 in Ashford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
7.7 mi away
Mill Village Motel
Mill Village Motel
#1 of 1 in Eatonville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hobo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hobo Inn

Property: The Hobo Inn
Address: 54106 Mountain Highway East, P.O. Box 921, Elbe, WA 98330
Region: United States > Washington > Elbe
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Elbe
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
The Hobo Hotel Elbe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing