We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Ellensburg
Reviewed 19 July 2010

Nothing bad to say, we stayed over for a short time while traveling to the west coast. Clean hotel, great staff, awesome breakfast, nice pool.

Would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank f220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2010

Priority Club Dave here. Booked a suite at the HI Express in Ellensburg, which I had chosen over the Hampton Inn because they were booked. It was Valentines weekend, and we went to look for Ellensburg Blue Agate (I know, romantic eh?)
Check in was so fast I scrambled to find my credit card for her to imprint. A welcome bag with water, snacks, and popcorn was really very cool, and the front desk person was so friendly, I wanted to take her out for supper. She was interested in our stay, why we were there, and she hoped we would find everything in order. The room, 3rd floor suite was very very clean, nicely decorated, cozy, and smelled fresh and inviting. Bathroom (which can be a pet peeve of mine) was absolutely shiny clean. Bed , sheets, and pillows were diverse, and very comfortable indeed. Internet access was super fast, and as easy as pressing the "I accept" button on the licensing page.
We stayed two nights, and hit the jacuzzi the first night. The pool area was very clean, water temp was 104 degrees. Only glitch (and I hate hotels that do this) is no bubbles in the jacuzzi. So, we will call this a soaking tub. There were plenty of towels inside the pool area, and furniture was clean and nicely arranged.
Breakfast at HI Express has become a favorite of mine over the last several trips. Eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy, fruit, breads, doughnuts, cereals, juices....etc. I`m a big feller, and I like a nice hearty breakfast, and the new HI Express knows what fills you up....and the quality is good as well. Went into the business center to do some email and played with everything in there. Nice printer, fast internet, and very well maintained. Even had plenty of paper which I did use to print some maps....in color!!!
My wife and I deliberately looked for something wrong to report at this hotel, which isnt really fair in general, but works to The HI Express` advantage here, because we didnt find a thing. (okay, jacuzzi bubbles please)
Kudos to the staff, the management, and maintenance team at Ellensburg Holiday Inn Express. I started my stay with a smile, and ended the same way. If you are travelling through, and need a place to stay, I highly recomend this HI Express. I promise you will not have any complaints.....Oh yah, I heard someone mention the doors were noisy? I listened deliberately for that, and never heard a peep. There were several rooms with children running amok as well, but when they left the hallway, I never heard them again. This hotel is A+ for me. Will definately stay again, and highly recomend.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveFrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2009

Enroute to Seattle I became ill and stayed in Ellensburg, WA. The staff at Holiday Inn Express were very helpful in getting me checked in. They even upgraded me and later called to see how I was feeling.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank havenwallawalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2009

I stayed here twice a one-week timeframe; Thurs/Fri and again on Mon/Tues for business.

My first visit, as soon as my coworker and I walked in the door we were greeted with cold water bottles. I was quite impressed. The rooms were of decent size, beds nice, bathroom clean. It was quite a hot day outside and the AC was already running for us. The 'gym' consisted of 1 elliptical, 1 treadmill, and 1 bike. Not quite sufficient in my book. After that, I decided to relax my muscles in the hot tub, hoping for some soothing jets, but.....the jets did not work. : ( Minus one star. However, plus one star for having a relaxed enough security system that I could still access the hot tub at 3 am when I came back a little tipsy from the bars. : ) The breakfast in the morning was fantastic!! Best complimentary hotel breakfast I've had. Watch out for their 'famous cinnamon rolls'. I didn't figure out until my second stay that they're 410 calories and 50 grams of carbs each!!

For my second stay Mon/Tues, the elevator was broken, and I happened to be staying on the top floor. It was a slight inconvenience, which they comp'ed me $30 for, but I was not able to enjoy this since my company was paying. Other than that, everything was good. No restaurant in the hotel, so I took a walk across the street and found Los Cabos Mexican Cantina. I'm definitely glad I did! 2 Jumbo margaritas and an enchilada later, I was set for the night. : )

I would certainly stay here again if/when I return to Ellensburg.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aliciact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2009

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express for a week while visiting family. The room was well appointed and easy to settle in to for a longer stay. The beds were comfortable. They do serve a continental breakfast that has both hot and cold breakfast items. They offered a large variety of choices for a variety of diets. The breakfast room was comfortable but we opted not to stay in to eat as the only viewing choice was Fox News.
We had family visit and the pool area and entry area were comfortable for visiting. The hotel is located near several restaurants and fast food establishments so there are several dining options within walking distance.
The exercise room has only a couple pieces of equipment but is easy to use and has convienent hours. We ended up extending our reservation and the front desk staff were friendly and helpful.
We would certainly stay here again when visiting Ellensburg.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wyoming_traveler_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2008

We went to a concert at the Gorge Amphitheatre. This hotel was about 40 miles away but an easy drive with some interesting sites along the way.
Close to Starbucks, grocery stores and very close to Ellensburg Pasta House (very good!).
Room was large and cosy - comfortable bed.
Nice pool (indoor) with a small outside seating area.
Great breakfast!! Lots of selection and open 6 am to 9:30.
Very inexpensive - all around great deal.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Donnie51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2007

Late review.... got busy, but I still think it's there so...
One of the newest hotel in Ellensburg.
By the the nicest in town.
Nice swimming pool, except HVAC is a little raw and loud.
Hot tub nicely designed. Gym is also a nice little one.
Usual HI-Expresss morning grub.
I stay there whenever I go to Ellensburg.

Stayed: June 2007
2  Thank QZOCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellensburg
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Ellensburg Hotel
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Ellensburg
Hampton Inn Ellensburg
#2 of 11 in Ellensburg
523 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 11 in Ellensburg
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Red Lion Hotel & Conference Center Ellensburg
24.6 mi away
Best Western Snowcap Lodge
24.2 mi away
Timber Lodge Inn
Timber Lodge Inn
#4 of 7 in Cle Elum
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express

Address: 1620 S Canyon Rd, Ellensburg, WA 98926-9738
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Ellensburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Ellensburg
Price Range: £81 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express® is conveniently located off Interstate 90 in the heart of the Kittitas Valley. When it comes to outdoor activities, Ellensburg is in a prime location for things like fly fishing, hiking, biking, horseback riding, and snowmobiling. If you'd rather go shopping or see local art, historic downtown Ellensburg boasts many shops and galleries. No matter the reason for your visit, our committed staff is sure to make your stay comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Ellensburg
Holiday Inn Ellensburg
Ellensburg Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Ellensburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing