We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Burgers and Shakes”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ray's Drive In

Ray's Drive In
Ranked #31 of 424 Restaurants in Everett
Cuisines: American, Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Burgers and Shakes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

After fifty years Rays Drive-in is still going strong and is run by Rays daughter Debbie. i grew up just a few blocks from this iconic burger joint. The burgers, fish and chips and especially the milk shakes are terrific. After all these years they still haven't gotten the fries right. Opt for the onion rings but Do Not pass up one of their old school fresh flavored shakes. My favorite is still the Green River

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    14
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
new westminster
Level Contributor
180 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“great old school place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

Very friendly staff, fish and chips, fries are great. One of the wonderful place we ever tried in everett area. Price is reasonable.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank jack m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
126 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Have been eating there for over 40 years.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

After 40 years there are two things that haven't changed.

First the fish in the fish and chips is about the best you can get as is the tarter sauce to go with them.

Second the french fries are still the limp greasy tasting fries that I have learned to forego and order their much much better onion rings.

Nothing fancy about this place, just another family owned restaurant that has been around a long long time.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 19Mark55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Absolutely Horrid”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

Limp and flavorless fries, small burned hamburger patties, cold onion rings, all of this can be yours at Ray's in Everett.

My wife and I were staying at the Best Western in Everett on 3-25-12. She wasn't feeling well and wanted to stay in so she suggested Rays on Broadway. My brother in law and I went down there and got dinner.

Our dinner consisted of 3 burgers, 2 doubleRays and 1 single Ray, 1 small and 1 large fry, and 1 onion ring, 2 shakes and 1 Pepsi. The total for this was $37.00 a little steep for 3 hamburger meals but if they were good then ok. Sadly this wasn't to be the case. The fries were limp and flavorless, the onion rings were cold, the hamburger patties were very small and burned, the bacon we ordered on 1 burger was missing as was the cheese on another. The only good thing was the shakes. This place even charges for the ketchup and oher condiments!!!

My suggestion is to skip this place and go somewhere like the Buzz Inn. Might be a couple bucks less and will probably taste ok.

This place is lousy and we will NEVER go back.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fightpiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Everett, Washington
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing "fast" food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

My mom introduced me to Ray's Drive In when I was younger. It has always been a top place to eat for me...amazing food and the workers are always so friendly! This place has been around for a long time...it's been a family favorite for a long time!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ray's Drive In? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing