We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Steak lovers dream” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Forest Steak House

Black Forest Steak House
Ranked #10 of 17 Restaurants in Everson
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, German
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Blaine, Washington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Steak lovers dream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

This is another local hide away the name has been changed to Herb Niemann's Steak and Schnitzel House. do not mistake this location with the 2 other black Forrest steak houses owned by Herbs brother Jack.

I wouldn't say there completely different but this single location is unique in its atmosphere and local appeal.

If you like steak I would recommend the filet mignon bacon wrapped and the owner Herb will hand cut you a portion to order my magic numbers is 13 oz.

and if you on a budget order the bar steak budget minded same great beef server in the bar seating area.

They open at 5pm and the local charm might wear thin if your in for dinner much after 9pm as the close at 10 pm if you get my drift

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vince P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    7
    8
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sandpoint, Idaho
Level Contributor
71 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Best Steak for Hundreds of Miles”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

I don't usually order steak in restaurants because it is almost never as good as I can grill it at home. There are only a three restaurants I have found within a few hundred mile radius of me that are the exceptions (this includes well known, over priced steak houses in both the Seattle and Vancouver BC areas), one of which is this one. Well aged, perfectly seasoned, always perfectly grilled. If you find yourself within 50 miles of this place, and you are Jonesing for a great steak, make the drive.
A couple of things, though. I am basing this review on the steak. While the service is also good and the dining area comfortable, it is not a jacket and tie type establishment. Also, my wife can't wrap herself around the idea of not having any baked potato available. I personally enjoy the fried potatoes they offer.
Oh ya....did I mention the prices are better than reasonable?

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mmik3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Ordered the schnitzel cordon blu, a great German beer, and an order of escargot.
Food and service was good with one exception. The schnitzel was a bit dried out like it had been taken out of the freezer defrosted and flash heated but was ok. I asked for some of the mushroom gravey which helped. The downside to the otherwise great dining experience was tha the manager charged me almost $5.00 for the mushroom gravey which would have been ok but she didn't say anything about an up charge. I didn't find out about it until the bill came. When brought to their attention, the manager chose to Do Nothing!
To spend 1/3 of the entre bill for a small very small cup of mushroom gravey is not good customer service. And not to tell customer about an additional charge is very deceptive.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Favorite steak, but poor food handling hygiene”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

We have been eating here for over ten years, usually sit in the bar. Hands down best steak I have ever had. However, on a recent visit, we noticed our waitress, Angel, using her bare hands to grab the salad croutons. I would have preferred she used a utensil or gloved hand. This is gross. We watched her do this several times. She packed out salads to a large party next to us. We had already had our salad. Not appetizing after she had been handling money, picking up dirty dishes, ink pens and the little folders your bill comes out in. That's disgusting to think we paid to eat contaminated food.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank meelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best food and service... EVER!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

My boyfriend and I came in and got the most amazing service ever I was service name was Angel and boy she was just that the food was phenomenal and the service was spectacular I choose to come back almost 5 days a week now!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lovestofidget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Black Forest Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing