We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food at a decent price”

Mika Japanese Buffet
Ranked #87 of 233 Restaurants in Federal Way
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“good food at a decent price”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Decent selection, guys at counter did not speak english a little hard to order certian items..........................................

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank MuglugNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    14
    6
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“For a buffet, decent food”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This is my go-to Asian buffet in the Seattle-Tacoma area. Sushi is generally fresh, and a lot of the regular food is made well. Some items like the General Tso's Chicken and Coconut Chicken taste way too sugary to me. Often I'll just get the sushi when I'm here.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank CharlieShaughnessy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“MSG soup”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Mika is the same owner as Mitzuki in Southcenter. Mika's hot food selection is better than Mitzuki, but their sushi selection is just ok, not like Mitzuki. Mika also has stir fry station and noodle station, but the soup base if full of MSG. Everytime we finish eating soup noodle, we all get very thirsty.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank sliu777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very Good Japanese Buffet”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

This is a buffet. Many choices from fresh fruits through Ice-cream.
It is the only Japanese/Chinese restaurants that I have been in where the clientele has been almost all Asian.
Offerings included small mackerel - lots of work but if you like mackerel (an oily fish) the work to debone it makes it worth it (I had 3), Fried Butterfly shrimp (a little dry), BBQ ribs (rather tender), fried rice, salads, fresh fruit, several kinds of chicken, many kinds of sushi and raw fish.

For desserts there was a chocolate waterfall? with marshmallows (interesting but I did not try this), I did try the cookies and my wife tried the honey glazed wontons. I rank the ice-cream very good.
The real desert treat for me was the mango-moose-cake VERY good.

Good variety, good food, Mon - Thursday is $16.99 per person - definitely worth it, we would go back again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wayne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“A Fine Japanese Buffet”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I am normally reluctant to go to a buffet because the food is usually not very good. The hot items are not hot, and they are often a little on the old and tired side. Mika Japanese Buffet is the exception. Most of the offerings are very good, and some are excellent. Only a few of the approximately twenty items that my spouse and I sampled were below par.

The buffet has a very large selection of dishes. Most were Japanese, but some were other Asian and some were American. The sushi was very good, especially the California rolls. There were various chicken and beef dishes to go with noodles and rice. They had a Mongolian style cooking station where the chef would cook your selection of meat, vegetables, and noodles for you. The desert selection was also good. It included brownies, ice cream, cookies, etc. None of this was Japanese, but it was all good.

The price for a weekday lunch was $9.99 per person. Jasmine tea for two was $1.25. This is a bargain! The price for dinner, or for meals on weekends, is considerably higher.

The buffet is kept clean and continually restocked. The waiter brings you your drinks, but otherwise this is self-service.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Seala_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mika Japanese Buffet also viewed

 

Been to Mika Japanese Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing