We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and fun shopping”

Marlene's Market & Deli
Ranked #9 of 232 Restaurants in Federal Way
Restaurant details
Level Contributor
76 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good food and fun shopping”
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

We ate at Marlene's a year ago and purposely sought it out for lunch today after arriving back in town. The food options are intriguing and tasty. I like making my own sandwich but there are also great soups and others items in the case. Shopping around is fun. Organic and nature are the themes of course. I'd highly recommend a meal at Marlene's!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dalen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    24
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
204 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Great Fresh Food”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

The food is fresh, the service helpful, etc. Why didn't Marlene's get the top rating? The selection is more limited than other top of the line grocery stores and deli's.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BBSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good natural foods market”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

The salad deli bar had a good selection of fixings and the sandwich deli area had a good selection to chose from. They had a good selection of goods.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank ncovelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
197 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“very convenient, deli with organic and vegetarian offerings”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We frequently pick up family members at the airport. Since the airlines don't really offer a satisfactory meal option anymore we have hungry travelers to accomadate. SeaTac has a number of fast food options, and restaurants attached to hotels, but nothing to satisfy our vegetarian family members. Since we head south to get home from the airport we were interested in something nearby that had convenient freeway access and found this deli in Federal Way. The easy access to and from the freeway was appreciated.

The deli is upstairs. The setting is typical of an eating area in a grocery store. It is clean and has plenty of tables in an undecorated space.

The meal offerings are ordered at a deli counter. There is a reasonable spectrum of sandwich offerings including organic and vegetarian choices. There are also a few pre-made dishes in the display counter such as lasagne, both vegetarian and meat containing. They also offer four fresh soups. I had the vegetable.

The food is fresh and the ingredients are good quality. The service seemed a little slower than it had to be. We were the only ones waiting for our food to be prepared yet it took five minutes for the food handlers to start working on preparing our sandwichs. The drinks are sold from a cooler near the deli counter.

The cost was similar to other sandwich shops for the size of the meal. My roast beef sandwich was $6.95.

We will stop there again the next time we need to feed someone we have picked up at the airport.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank schota1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
329 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Great Place for a Late Night Salad Bar”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Close to the hotel we were staying at, we decided to go get a salad for dinner. Eating was upstairs and they have a variety of items on the salad bar, along with soup, sandwiches and pastries. You pay for the salad by weight and we were very pleased with the selection and quality of food.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank jsMT1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marlene's Market & Deli also viewed

 

Been to Marlene's Market & Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing