We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Silver Reef Hotel Casino Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ferndale
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My friend and I stayed here for a night as we were attending a concert at Mount Baker Theatre. Lodging would be considerably more expensive in Bellingham so we decided to stay in Ferndale. We planned on having dinner with friends then playing some slots before going to the concert.

The Silver Reef property is nice looking. Due to the Senior's Convention, there wasn't a lot left to choose from. We ended up in Diamond Executive King suite for $169 per night. It was a spacious room with a spacious Euro-style bathroom. "Diamond" means the top floor which requires a card to access. This floor has its own lounge which would be ideal to invite people over to watch the game or hang out a bit. The bed was too soft for our liking, as we tended to sink into the middle. But there were tons of pillows to choose from.

The casino is deceptively large. There are 1200 slot machines and 20 table games. The restaurants, cafes, bar/lounges are scattered through the casino floor. The dinner buffet was fabulous but expensive if it's not free (see TIPS below). They have a seafood (king crab legs, lobster), and pasta bar along with the regular salad, meat and dessert (gluten-free brownies are to die for) bars. I paid for my dinner buffet which wasn't worth it because I wasn't that hungry. The continental breakfast provides cereals, pastries, some hot items and a make-your-own waffle station. It's nothing to write home about but did the job.

PROS: parking is plentiful, nice property (imagine Vegas lights set against a rural background), some entertainment on-site (mainly for adults with casino, event theatre, evening bands playing at the casino lounges), fitness room, swimming pool, some restaurants on-site, gift shop carries a variety of First Nations products, panoramic views from 6th floor suites, excellent service
CONS: not much to explore in vicinity so will likely require a car to get around, bed was too soft, pizza was a 45-minute wait which they didn't tell me until I paid (pay when you order)

CONCLUSION: I'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: bring a car, get a casino card to get a discount on slots and also get your next stay's buffet f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Vanc0uverght
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AaronThomas, Director of Marketing at Silver Reef Hotel Casino Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for the kind words you've shared regarding your last visit with us. Most importantly, we're happy that we met and exceeded your expectations. We hope to see you back with us very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (390)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 390 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014

What a great place. The venue was fantastic and the employees friendly and helpful. Had a great time and the pricing and variety of eating was nice. There were eating specials also. Very good accommodations. We will definitely be returning when we get the chance. It was a 6 hour drive for us, but we would do it again in a heartbeat to enjoy ourselves once again. And by the way we played slots a little and wound up winning a little to boot. Thank you to everyone there. Top notch job!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tom J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AaronThomas, Director of Marketing at Silver Reef Hotel Casino Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for the positive review you gave TripAdvisor.com users. We relish every kind word you gave us and we are thankful that we met and exceeded your expectations. We do hope to see you back very soon!

Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I only have one beef about the time we spent there. The dinner buffet was horrible as all one got was leftovers from lunch. Absolutely gross. Stay away from it. The Asian restaurant was excellent. Lots of food and delicious. We were only there for a couple of days so didn't get to check out the other dining options on site.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AaronThomas, Director of Marketing at Silver Reef Hotel Casino Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for contacting us through TripAdvisor.com. We are concerned about the comments about your last visit with us. Our culinary staff do a great job of ensuring that our food quality in all of our restaurants are the best that they should be at any given time. I will give your comments to the food and beverage director for him to look into. Please accept our apology.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My boyfriend and I had a special occasion, and I wanted to find a place that offered not only nice accommodations,but entertainment, spa and good food. I chose the Silver Reef and it met each and every one of our needs. From the moment we arrived the staff was outstanding and helpful. We ate at the "The Steakhouse" and it was the most amazing steak I have had in Whatcom County. The wine they suggested to compliment the meal was delicious. We would recommend the Silver Reef Hotel Casino and "Spa" if your looking for any of the above. We will definitely be back!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LenaC888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AaronThomas, Director of Marketing at Silver Reef Hotel Casino Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for all the great words you wrote about your last visit with us. We hope to see you back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I was totally impressed with the great friendly service and super clean rooms. We were in town for a movie premier and stayed there because it was convenient and a great price. To my surprise it was worth twice the price we paid. I am so pleasantly surprised and still smiling. Special thanks to Randi the head of Cust Services for making the weekend so much fun and so special!

Room Tip: Any room facing the Puget Sound- SPECTACULAR SUNSETS!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AaronThomas, Director of Marketing at Silver Reef Hotel Casino Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Your kind words about our property makes us feel great ! Thanks so much and we hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

About a month ago, friend had money stolen from her room while she dined in their restaurant. Staff was unable to offer any help.
Last night in the Casino, I heard a man saying he had lost $220 from his room. My friend compared notes with him and it sounded that his story was exactly the same(money stolen from suitcase).
Security in the rooms appears to be an afterthought.
This is obviously an ongoing problem that could be solved by management(safes in the room).

Room Tip: Don't leave valuables in your room.
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Ken1305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AaronThomas, Director of Marketing at Silver Reef Hotel Casino Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for writing your last review of your visit. We're sorry that you experienced theft at our property. We firmly believe in our policies and procedures that make sure that this type of incident does not occur. We hope that you contacted our security department and wrote an incident report as soon as you noticed something was not right.

Again, please accept our apology and thank you for taking the time to write about your last visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I really enjoy this hotel. The rooms are so comfortable. They are spacious enough, with nice bathrooms, but best of all - the beds are so comfortable. I've never had a bad sleep here. Also, I find the staff to be very helpful and kind. If you are a gambler, and have one of their loyalty cards, you can sometimes get a discounted room rate (or even a free one). Also, you will get a voucher for a basic breakfast in the morning....a nice perk.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minowleaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AaronThomas, Director of Marketing at Silver Reef Hotel Casino Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Thank you so much for your review on TripAdvisor.com. We agree, the beds are probably the best in the market. Here's a secret: Next time, stop by the Front Desk at the Hotel or upon checkout, ask them where you can buy a new one directly from the manufacturer we use.

Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ferndale
5.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bellingham
7.4 mi away
Hotel Bellwether
Hotel Bellwether
#9 of 26 in Bellingham
475 reviews
6.6 mi away
Oxford Suites Bellingham
Oxford Suites Bellingham
#1 of 26 in Bellingham
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Bellingham
6.9 mi away
Best Western Heritage Inn
Best Western Heritage Inn
#6 of 26 in Bellingham
1,011 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Bellingham-Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Reef Hotel Casino Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Reef Hotel Casino Spa

Address: 4876 Haxton Way, I-5 exit 260, Ferndale, WA 98248-9130
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Ferndale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ferndale
Price Range: £86 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver Reef Hotel Casino Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silver Reef is the Home of the Best Slots and Biggest Winners! We are located 90 minutes North of Seattle and 60 minutes South of Vancouver, BC, open 24 hours a day, seven days a week, complete with a non-smoking section. In addition to a high quality gaming experience, we have a 206 room hotel, five restaurants (including our Award Winning Steak House), four bars, two espresso bars, and a relaxing spa. Located off I-5 Exit 260 & 4 minutes West in Ferndale, WA. All hotel rooms on property are now non-smoking and pets will no longer be allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Silver Reef Hotel Casino Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Reef Hotel Ferndale
Silver Reef Hotel Casino Spa Ferndale, Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing