We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst Hotel Experience of My Life - STAY AWAY!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Fife
Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst Hotel Experience of My Life - STAY AWAY!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2008

Absolutely worst hotel experience of my life - and I"ve stayed in hundreds of hotels. So for basics, the hotel didn't even hit the mark. Smelly, decrepid room - afraid to take my shoes off. Smelled of bad BO or smoke. Water was only luke warm, bed was not comfortable, and the TV didn't work right. But that was the good part. Upon checkout, hotel charged me for the room - after I already booked/paid through Orbitz. I provided the rude receptionist with a copy of my receipt from Orbitz, and she refused to reverse the charge. When I insisted that the charge be removed, she first called the owner, who refused to speak to me (how unprofessional, right??). Then, the lovely receptionist threatened to call the police if I didn't vacate the property.

So, if it's adventure you are after - I would recommend this place. Just make sure all your vaccines are up to date.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank natrl1der
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beautiful444, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 17 February 2009
Since March 2008 This hotel has been under new Management and Front desk staff. Also, All hotels rooms have been updated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    6
    2
    5
    27
See reviews for
16
7
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2007

Stayed here one night as we needed a place between Seattle and Tacoma. The front end of the hotel looks ok but close inspection reveals it is an older motel with some cosmetic improvements. For the price, I suppose it is decent value. Free morning continental breakfast was good.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dstraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fife hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2005

This place was too sketchy. The room was not that great, actually not very clean. We reserved for non-smoking but the room was filled with the smell of smoke and the owner just refused to help and asked us to suck it up. It was too late, so we did not feel like going out again looking for another place. Anyway, just a sketchy and unpleasant place!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beautiful444, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 17 February 2009
The Howard Johnson is now under new Management,Ownership and recently has been remodeled. I can guarantee all the rooms are extremely clean and checked daily by management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2005

We stayed here at the end of a driving tour of Washington and Oregon, the night before we flew out. We wanted to be close to Tacoma to see Defiance Park in the morning without paying too much, and this was a good solution. It was about 10 minutes from downtown Tacoma and maybe 15 to the park. It's on a busy street near the sound, so there is a decent amount of industrial traffic, but the hotel is set far enough back that we didn't notice any noise.

The rooms were clean enough. Our room wasn't quite ready so we had to wait a few minutes. We were also double-booked by some mistake, but the owners didn't make a big deal of it and canceled the other booking. Breakfast was adequate with about a dozen tables to sit and eat. This was definitely a good bargain if you're looking to be close to Tacoma for a budget price.

  • Stayed October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank spoon.17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fife
0.4 mi away
Extended Stay America - Tacoma - Fife
2.8 mi away
Hotel Murano
Hotel Murano
#3 of 28 in Tacoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,131 reviews
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Fife
Days Inn Fife
#4 of 10 in Fife
3.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Tacoma Dome Hotel
1.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tacoma Seattle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 3501 Pacific Hwy E, Fife, WA 98424-1120 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Fife
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Fife
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Econo Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Fife
Fife Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing