We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a Great location and now a very good Restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kalaloch Lodge in Olympic National Park
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Forks
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Restaurant service is friendly, if not remarkable. What is remarkable is the kitchen, which is turning out well-prepared & flavorful food. While the deft handling of seafood is perhaps most noteworthy, other locally-sourced entrees, kid-friendly options & delicious deserts make for a nice meal.

Room Tip: Cabins on the high bluff over the ocean and creek offer spectacular views, as do the ocean-view room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kalaloch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Kalaloch Lodge in Olympic National Park, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Hello Kalaloch,
Excellent choice for a tripadvisor name! Thank you for your review, we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and meals with us. We will make sure and share your comments with our kitchen, they will be tickled. Please come back and see us again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,507)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,199 - 1,205 of 1,507 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

For the price of the room, I would expect better. It's the only hotel around, so no competition. Filthy carpet in our room; we would not walk barefooted in room. Bad smell in hall and room. Great ocean- front view from room.
Not enough exterior chairs and benches to view ocean. Restaurant: fair. Waiter was creepy with large ear piercings and tattoos. Food was slightly better than expected.
Don't think we'll return here. May do better staying somewhere else on the coast.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Souvenir18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Kalaloch Lodge in Olympic National Park, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Hello Souvenir18,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Kalaloch Lodge. We appreciate your feedback, we take guest comments very seriously. We have made note of the smell and cleanliness level you encountered during your stay. While our lodge is rustic, a clean and comfortable room should have been provided to you. We will talk with our staff about the issues and see where we can make improvements. We assure you that the staff at the Creekside is dedicated to providing an excellent dining experience regardless of their appearance. We apologize if your meal was impacted negatively by our staff. Thank you again for coming to stay with us, we hope that you can make your way back to Olympic National Park again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We loved being lulled to sleep in the cool air hearing the gentle roar of the Pacific from our open windows. There were some special amenities that came in handy -- two walking stick for added stability on our beach hikes, an extra pair of binox so we could each have one.

Room Tip: We had a nice oceanfront room w/ private bath in the main lodge (facing west)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jbear P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Kalaloch Lodge in Olympic National Park, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Hello Jbear,
Thank for sharing you thoughts on your recent stay with us at The Kalaloch Lodge. We are thrilled to hear that you made the most of your time on the coast enjoying the sounds of the ocean. We appreciate hearing about it. Please come back and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stopped by Kalaloch lodge for a walk on the beautiful beach and tea in the restaurant overlooking the cliff and ocean. After the long drive back to where we were staying on Copalis Beach, we realized we had forgotten our backpack, which had my cell phone in it. By talking to the manager on duty the next day, an arrangement was made with one of their employees, Katherine, who was coming to our area to deliver it in person. What terrific service - it saved us a long drive there and back and the risk of an express courier not delivering on time before we left the region. Thanks Kalaloch Lodge!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gis_ley2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Kalaloch Lodge in Olympic National Park, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Greetings Gisèle,
Thank you for choosing to come stay with us at The Kalaloch Lodge, we truly appreciate it and your review of your stay. We are very pleased to hear that our staff was able to help and that you got your backpack back in your hands. We pride ourselves on providing great service and helping guests out whenever we can. We will make sure and share your review with our staff and let them know they were able to offer you some piece of mind. We wish you safe travels and hope to see you in Olympic National Park again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Stayed only one night at the Kalaloch Lodge and our cabin was HUGE. It had two bedrooms/kitchenette/fireplace. It was very nice and clean. We had a great view of the beach. It is a bit expensive, but we thought it was worth it. Ate at the Lodge restaurant and it was good, nothing spectacular though.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank elleberk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Kalaloch Lodge in Olympic National Park, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Hi Elleberk,
Thank for your review and for coming to stay with us at The Kalaloch Lodge. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location and your room. Thank you for dining with us as well, we truly appreciate it. Please come back and see us again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

It is very beautiful by the beach, the facility was very clean and pretty and the food was very good in the restaurant. If you don't have a reservation for the restaurant, they are not happy. They made a big deal about it. The staff were very unfriendly and unwelcoming. We stayed in the lodge but it was noisy in our room, they added charges to our bill and no one made us feel welcome at all. We didn't even get a thank you for coming after spending so much for staying and coming so far. We will not be back, it was not worth that.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Humptulips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Kalaloch Lodge in Olympic National Park, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Hi Humptulips,
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, we appreciate it. We apologize for the lack of appreciation that was shown to you, thank you for choosing to stay with us it means a lot to us. Every guest that chooses to stay with us should always feel appreciated and be thanked. We will speak with our staff and make sure your experience is not replicated. We also apologize for the billing issue, we understand your frustration and thank you for your patience. We aim to offer excellent service in a beautiful location, we apologize for failing to provide the service portion during your stay. We wish you safe travels and hope that you can make your way back to Olympic National Park soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I stayed in a motel style cabin. 4 rooms were attached to one building. I had two beds, bathroom, refrig. No TV. It was quiet and the pillows and beds were comfortable. The Bathroom was huge and a great place to store all of our items. We were on the back section so didn't have a view. The view is the ocean and beach filled with logs. It is a great view. If a view is important to you, you will pay more. The room had a lot of room with extra small tables and a sliding glass door we could exit to walk to the cliffs. There was a picnic table outside of the sliding glass doors. The room was very expensive, but I do understand the location dictates the price. Bring your own food if you aren't prepared to pay a lot in the restaurant. We did eat breakfast there and the average breakfast was $15.00. The breakfast was OK and really reminded me of a Denny's. . Again I understand the expense because of the location. There is a little general store out front by the road with ice, coffee, and small gift items and some camping items. If your cabin does not have a view of the ocean/beach you don't have access to the chairs assigned to those cabins, , so bring your own and set out by the gazebo. By the gazebo there are steps to descend to the beach. The room was clean with lots of towels and extra wash clothes. It had lots of new items like knotty pine on the walls, newish carpet, but then the registers for heat looked like they were 75 years old. We enjoyed our stay here and may do it again some time.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Cynthia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan_Tennant, Manager at Kalaloch Lodge in Olympic National Park, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Hello Cyndywill8,
Thank you for your review and for choosing to come stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and comments regarding our location and your cabin. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and find our views to be equally enjoyable. Many guests do not take into account the cost and challenges of operating in our remote location, we thank you for your grace and positivity. Please do come see us again soon, we would love to have you back anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Forks hotels
23.7 mi away
Forks Motel
Forks Motel
#3 of 5 in Forks
462 reviews
23.7 mi away
The Pacific Inn Motel
22.9 mi away
Quillayute River Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
Miller Tree Inn Bed & Breakfast
23.4 mi away
The Dew Drop Inn Motel
26.7 mi away
Misty Valley Inn B&B
Misty Valley Inn B&B
#1 of 11 in Forks
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalaloch Lodge in Olympic National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalaloch Lodge in Olympic National Park

Address: 157151 Highway 101, Forks, WA 98331-9354
Region: United States > Washington > Forks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Forks
Price Range: £95 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kalaloch Lodge in Olympic National Park 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kalaloch Lodge is an Olympic National Park hotel property located a few sandy steps from the pristine Pacific coast. Tucked between lowland forest, temperate rainforest and marine sanctuary, Kalaloch offers accommodations with spectacular views, comfortable amenities and unrivaled outdoor recreation.Kalaloch is your Olympic Peninsula escape, whether the focus is romance, recreation or rejuvenation. The Main Lodge building is Kalaloch’s focal point, featuring 10 rooms and the Creekside Restaurant. Set just off the Main Lodge are the rustic yet comfortable Bluff and Kalaloch cabins, many with panoramic Pacific Ocean views. Several of Kalaloch’s cabins offer kitchenettes and cozy Franklin fireplaces, and are pet-friendly.Kalaloch’s two-story Seacrest Building is yet another championed Olympic Peninsula lodging option, set just a short walk from the cabins and main lodge. And the Kalaloch Group Campground offers an under-the-stars setting within sight and sound of the thundering Pacific Ocean.Part of the Olympic Coast National Marine Sanctuary, Kalaloch hosts a field guide’s-worth of wildlife including puffins, sea otters and the largest convocation of bald eagles in the continental U.S. Walking, biking, hiking, beachcombing, clamming and whale watching are popular local pastimes. Olympic’s storied Ruby Beach, with legendary mountain, glacier and rain forest views, is just a few miles away. Delaware North Companies Parks & Resorts at Kalaloch, Inc. is a Concessioner authorized by the National Park Service and the Department of the Interior to serve the public within Olympic National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Kalaloch Lodge in Olympic National Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalaloch Hotel Forks
Kalaloch Lodge Forks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing