We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely wonderful B&B!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Miller Tree Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 11 Forks B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington State
1 review
“Absolutely wonderful B&B!”
Reviewed 21 January 2008

The innkeepers, Bill and Susan, were phenomenal ... very accommodating hosts! We stayed in the Orchard Suite, with our golden retriever. The Inn was beautiful and well maintained ... each of the 8 rooms were nicely decorated and very clean. Bill and Susan were very helpful in recommending dinner locations and must-see sights around the Olympic Peninsula. Breakfast was absolutely delicious - made-to-order! Cookies, tea, coffee, etc. was on hand throughout the evening and morning. We plan on returning to their B&B in the future ... highly recommend to future travelers!

  • Liked — Amazing innkeepers!!
  • Disliked — Beds seemed a bit small...2 twin beds in room could be moved together to be king-sized, but still seemed short. We're 5'10" and 5'11" and our feet hung off the end a little bit.
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank WAfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    45
    14
    1
    2
See reviews for
50
120
12
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Tx
Level Contributor
65 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2007

My wife and I stayed for three nights in the Sunset Room. The room was comfortable and clean. The common areas were very nice, full of photographs and reading material. The hot tub was an added treat. Breakfast was good and plentiful. Bill was very helpful with things to do and places to eat. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldwiseHouston_Tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2007

Our extended family of 5 (three adults, a teenager, and a 4-year-old) spent several days in the Orchard Suite at the Miller Tree Inn in late August 2007. We stumbled across the inn somewhat accidentally (we had hoped to stay in one of the lodges inside Olympic National Park, but they were all booked) - but we saw the good reviews on TripAdvisor and decided to give it a try. We were not disappointed.

As many reviewers have commented, Bill and Susan are about the nicest people you could ever hope to meet. As we pulled into the driveway on arrivla, Bill came outside, greeted us by name and helped us carry in our luggage. Both he and Susan are kind and personable, yet not intrusive - which can be a tricky balance to strike at smaller inns like this! Any time we had questions or wanted to chat, they would happily do so; at the same time, they respected our privacy, and they never imposed themselves. They're both extremely knowledgeable about the area (Bill was actually born in the house) and gave us all kinds of detailed information about where to go and what to do - everything from when to hit which beach at low tide to see the tidepools to how to skirt Port Angeles traffic while driving to Hurricane Ridge. We happened to be staying at the inn during Bill and Susan's anniversary, so we had an innsitter named Mary for the two days that Bill and Susan went on vacation. Mary was just as nice and competent, and had that great balance of attentiveness that wasn't intrusive. Both Mary and the Bill-Susan combination served up great breakfasts each morning - anything from gingerbread pancakes with lemon butter to a southwestern-style frittata - always with plenty of fresh fruit, pastries, meat (usually sausage or bacon), and eggs on request. This was a particular treat in Forks, which has pretty limited eating-out options (the primary choices are pizza, burgers, or Mexican).

The property itself is pleasant and comfortable, though not luxurious - it's just simple country comfort. The grounds are lovely, with pastoral views in three directions (the other direction looks toward tiny "downtown" Forks), and lots of charming features like a tandem bike in the garage. Some mornings and evenings we could step outside the Orchard Suite and see herds of elk in the far field (you have to walk or drive up the road to get a good view - but it's only a 5-10 minute walk). There's also an outdoor jacuzzi under the trees, which is a welcome treat after a long day of hiking.

The main house was built in the 1920s and is full of character. It has plenty of books, games, and videos and a piano in the living room, and is constantly stocked with coffee, tea, and snacks. The Orchard Suite is a newer addition - it doesn't have the architectural charm of the main house, but is clean and comfortable, and has the convenience of a kitchenette. I should note that, while the Orchard Suite technically sleeps 5 (between a king bed, a sofabed, and a rollaway cot), it can get quite cramped with that many people, particularly because there's very little storage space for luggage, clothing, etc. (I ended up putting most of our clothes in the drawers in the kitchenette!) But we also had an unusual group - three adults, a 16-year-old, and a small child. Two adults and one or two younger children would be much more comfortable - and for a couple, it would be very spacious. Some older relatives of ours stayed in the main house for a couple of days, and their rooms were very comfortable.

Also, the inn's location is great for exploring Olympic National Park. The park itself is enormous, and there are no roads or accommodations in the center, so there's no way to avoid lots of driving if you want to see different areas of the park. But Forks is central enough for manageable day trips to many different areas - Sol Duc Hot Springs and Lake Crescent, the Hoh Rainforest, the Mora area beaches, etc. It's also far less touristed than the Port Angeles / Port Townsend area. The beaches near Forks are quite spectacular, particularly Second Beach (which involves an easy 20-minute walk through the forest). Forks itself is nothing special - it's just a small, mostly blue-collar logging town - but I liked its authenticity and general lack of tourist-trap shops. And if you're going to stay in Forks, the Miller Tree Inn is perfectly situated - just on the outskirts of the town, so you really get the rural feel, but close enough that you could walk to the main intersection in 10-15 minutes (this is a VERY small town).

All in all, we were extremely pleased with our stay at the Miller Tree Inn - it was comfortable and pleasant and served as the perfect base for exploring Olympic NP. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend it, or to return ourselves.

  • Liked — Location, hospitality, great breakfasts
  • Disliked — Lack of storage space in the Orchard Suite
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Brymel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2007

The owners of this property are extremely friendly and obviously love running a B&B - they make every effort to make your stay comfortable and fun, and they are incredibly knowledgeable about the area. We stayed for one night in the Blue Jay room, which has a private bathroom across the hall, but that was totally fine. The decor is old-fashioned and very homey. The dining options in Forks are pretty limited, and the breakfast at the inn was just OK, but the scenery and surroundings on the olympic peninsula are just lovely and this is a great choice if you are looking for a comfortable and affordable place to stay and don't want to camp.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MrsTaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2007

The Miller Tree Inn is the best place to stay in Forks. The hosts' hospitality, openness, breakfasts, snacks and local insight are priceless. This was our second stay at the Miller Tree Inn. Be sure to tell the hosts your plans, they tactfully make suggestions that will improve your experience, such as looking up the low-tide time and suggesting that is when you should be at Ruby Beach.

Everything was comfortable and clean. They have guest refrigerator space, which we used to keep our Pacific Pizza leftovers from one night until we ate them the next evening.

"Local" sites that I recommend: the Forks Lumber Museum, so that you can understand the purpose of a National Forest; Ruby Beach; Cape Flattery (the best part-well worth the walk); and while passing through Sequim - Purple Haze organic lavender farm (the farm, not the in-town store).

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJTJBQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2007

Bill and Susan are the owners of this B&B. You are made to feel welcome from the moment you arrive. There is practically no check-in but a complete explanation of what is available. You have a access to the complete downstairs and there is always food available. Bill has an incredible ability to remember guests' names and introduces guest to others so that everyone feels welcome. Susan and Bill are also very knowledgeable about the Olympic Peninsula and they offer to make any dinner reservations in the area.

The breakfasts were different each day and delicious. You are also welcome to seconds on everything.

The rooms are varied so that a single person, or a family, could stay there at a reasonable price. This place was a hit for, not only my wife and me, but our close friends traveling with us.

Thank you Susan and Bill.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Wolfe_Photography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco, ca
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2007

We stayed here for two nights over the 4th of July and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. It is a great base location to visit many parts of the Olympic National Park. Susan and Bill were so friendly and helpful from our first call to follow up after our activities. The rooms are wonderful, beds super comfy and the breakfast is delicious. Bill grew up in the area so is full of great tips to make your exploration even better. Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RachelniSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forks
23.8 mi away
Kalaloch Lodge
Kalaloch Lodge
#1 of 5 in Forks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
0.4 mi away
Forks Motel
Forks Motel
#4 of 5 in Forks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
21.9 mi away
Van Riper's Resort
Van Riper's Resort
#1 of 5 in Sekiu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Pacific Inn Motel
0.6 mi away
The Dew Drop Inn Motel
1.0 mi away
Huckleberry Lodge Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miller Tree Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miller Tree Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Miller Tree Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 654 E Division St, Forks, WA 98331-9213
Region: United States > Washington > Forks
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Forks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Miller Tree Inn Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three-story 1916 farm house, located on the edge of town. 8 guest rooms each have a private bath, TV/DVD player and free WiFi access. 3 of these rooms have a whirlpool tub and gas fireplace. A full, hot, sit-down breakfast is included in the room rates. The inn serves as a base to explore the west side of Olympic National Park, including the Hoh Rain Forest (45 minutes away) and the Pacific Ocean at LaPush and Rialto Beach (20 minutes away). Recently, it has become a stand-in for the Cullen House, on tours exploring sites mentioned in Stephenie Meyers' "Twilight" book saga. However, our inn looks nothing like the Hollywood version, which is located in Portland, OR. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Miller Tree Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miller Tree Inn Bed And Breakfast
Miller Tree Hotel Forks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing