We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, informative exhibits”

Forks Timber Museum
Ranked #3 of 26 things to do in Forks
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Early pioneer history museum with a look into the past, preserved for the future - displayed through an inviting collection of rooms depicting the life and times of early settlers on the West End of the Olympic Peninsula - featuring farming, homesteads, early businesses in Forks, logging, native influence and shipwrecks, Fire equipment and a Lookout Tower - with many photographic displays and narrative.
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Cruising down the road, we spotted this museum and stopped. What a delightful treasure! From the chainsaw collection, featuring some of the real old-timey chainsaws, to logging tools, logger cabin set-up, and a fire look-out tower set up exactly as they were used, this place was so much fun! It's run by volunteers, who also sell some items in their boutique. There's a little something for everyone. Out back, there is a nature trail with plant identification. It was a nice and worthwhile stop. Support these small museums! There is a voluntary contribution for entrance, so please be generous.

1  Thank UpNOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda O, Manager at Forks Timber Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2017

Thank you for your kind words! We hope you get a chance to return soon and see what is new.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 73 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

A nice, quick stop. There's not a whole lot here, but interesting enough to stop in and see what there is.

Thank Jena756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda O, Manager at Forks Timber Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2017

We hope you get a chance to come back soon and see what we have added - now open every day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This is a good introduction to the timber industry organized by the local industry members. You are left with a sense of the real experience. Behind the building, there is a pleasant trail.

Thank Henry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda O, Manager at Forks Timber Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2017

We hope you get a chance to come back soon and see what we have added. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We really enjoy this and our teenage daughters enjoyed the "Twilight" aspect. The Pacific Northwest is some of the most beautiful scenery in the United States. Would love to live in this area!

Thank Brandi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda O, Manager at Forks Timber Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2017

Thank you! We hope you get a chance to come back soon and see what we have added - now open every day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I expected so much more. Looks like alot of childrens art projects. Not informative at all. Basic knowledge. . But with a $3 per person price. Not worth the change.

1  Thank subwife89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda O, Manager at Forks Timber Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2017

We have made a lot of changes - and we're open every day - so we hope you get a chance to come back soon to see us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Forks Timber Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing