We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Timber Museum”

Forks Timber Museum
Ranked #3 of 25 things to do in Forks
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Early pioneer history museum with a look into the past, preserved for the future.
Lynnwood, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
377 reviews
181 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 338 helpful votes
“Interesting Timber Museum”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We spent some time at the timber museum after our timber tour and lunch. Most of the museum gives you some very informative history of Forks or life in the timber industry. Everything is well laid out and very interesting to go through. The highlights of this museum are the lookout tower outside that you can walk around and you get to peek inside what the loggers living quarters would look like back in the day. There is a nice nature trail out back and a loggers memorial outside near the visitors center which is next door. There is access to more trails out back too, but most of them are just a walk through the woods. Nice way to spend some time to see what makes the town of Forks go other than Twilight.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rainier72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda O, Manager at Forks Timber Museum, responded to this review, 15 April 2017
Thank you! We hope you get a chance to return and see what we have added.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    35
    6
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
TX
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Wonderful, informative exhibits”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Cruising down the road, we spotted this museum and stopped. What a delightful treasure! From the chainsaw collection, featuring some of the real old-timey chainsaws, to logging tools, logger cabin set-up, and a fire look-out tower set up exactly as they were used, this place was so much fun! It's run by volunteers, who also sell some items in their boutique. There's a little something for everyone. Out back, there is a nature trail with plant identification. It was a nice and worthwhile stop. Support these small museums! There is a voluntary contribution for entrance, so please be generous.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank UpNOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda O, Manager at Forks Timber Museum, responded to this review, 15 April 2017
Thank you for your kind words! We hope you get a chance to return soon and see what is new.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stitzer, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Quick visit”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

A nice, quick stop. There's not a whole lot here, but interesting enough to stop in and see what there is.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jena756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda O, Manager at Forks Timber Museum, responded to this review, 15 April 2017
We hope you get a chance to come back soon and see what we have added - now open every day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Modest, informative, enjoyable trail”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This is a good introduction to the timber industry organized by the local industry members. You are left with a sense of the real experience. Behind the building, there is a pleasant trail.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Henry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda O, Manager at Forks Timber Museum, responded to this review, 15 April 2017
We hope you get a chance to come back soon and see what we have added. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Quaint PNW town.”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We really enjoy this and our teenage daughters enjoyed the "Twilight" aspect. The Pacific Northwest is some of the most beautiful scenery in the United States. Would love to live in this area!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brandi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda O, Manager at Forks Timber Museum, responded to this review, 15 April 2017
Thank you! We hope you get a chance to come back soon and see what we have added - now open every day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Forks Timber Museum also viewed

 

Been to Forks Timber Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing