We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Want to go back!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Forks
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Manitou Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 11 Forks B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed here for three nights and were sorry to have to leave. It was relaxing, comfortable, beautifully appointed, hospitable and just what we needed after flying from the east coast and driving for way too many hours from Seattle. Manitou has a magical, enchanted quality about it...the great room, the fire place, the soft music, the lovely grounds....We were in the Pocahontas Room. It was a bit crowded with our large suitcases, but we were honestly in our rooms only to sleep/shower and fix our breakfast. The pre-made breakfasts were fine...I was not particularly fond of the waffles, but the others were great. The bed was great...slept like a rock! Visit Second Beach and take advantage of the sign in LaPush that says "Smoked Salmon". Follow the sign to a house where the owner will greet you in the yard with freshly caught/smoked salmon. We went there 2x..it was so yummy! We got wine, cheese and crackers and enjoyed our salmon overlooking the Pacific at Second Beach two different evenings. We also had a wonderful dinner at a restaurant on main street in Forks..."In Place" or something like that. Great food, clean, friendly and reasonable.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (519)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 519 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

We spent two nights here about 10 days ago and thoroughly enjoyed it. Blooming hydrandea greeted us as we walked up the steps to our cabin that housed two sets of guests. Although the room was small, it was ample space for two adults. The (gas) fire in the lodge building felt great after a cool, damp day spent hiking. We enjoyed the quiet, the log buildings, and easy conversation with other guests by the fire. Sipping the wine and whiskey that we brought along didn't hurt. (I believe other guests enjoyed what we left behind :) ) The breakfast of waffles and toast was not substantial enough for us (no protein) so we ate elsewhere the first morning. The second breakfast of egg, ham, and cheese on a croissant did the trick. We would go back.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the cabin. It was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Katherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We arrived after riding 100 miles on motorcycles in the rain, and were greeted with a blazing fire and a glass of wine. Perfect! The lodge is beautiful, the grounds are really lovely, and the owners are exceptionally nice. The bed could be a little firmer, but I still slept like a rock. We'll definitely be back - hopefully on a sunny dry weekend!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MTC1462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Manitou Lodge is safe, relaxing, and well-appointed. We arrived late, no problem--key and room instructions left at the counter. Each room has an individual seating area for breakfast. Mini-fridge is stocked with carafe of OJ and breakfast. We ate at our leisure...no clocks to race against. Lodge owners keep a well-stocked area for coffee, chocolate, cider, water or tea for guests. Many comfortable seating areas and game boards...Each corner holds an unexpected surprise. The Lily of the Mohawk room has a firm king mattress and well appointed bathroom. Yes, the Lodge is old; no, that is not a problem.
My cousin and I were traveling around the 101 Seattle to Olympia National Forest...this is a jewel!

Room Tip: Bring the detailed directions. At a certain point the GPS signal stops, although the Lodge has WIFI...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GraciousGoodness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

PROS: Absolutely breathtaking area in which Manitou Lodge is located. Tall trees surround the lodge, peaceful, tranquil. The Lodge is One of Kind: full of character, decorated in a manner to match its surroundings - lovingly done. Our room was the Lady of Guadalupe room on the 2nd floor. An outside door opened unto a shared balcony with trees almost close enough to touch - great place if you looking for a quiet place to unwind and get away from it all. Even though we arrived very late, the owner still came up to greet us, although we had been given instructions prior as to how to find our room, etc. It was a nice welcome touch.
SUGGESTIONS: If you have trouble with stairs - make sure what level your room is located! Also if you have back issues - the mattress in the Lady of Guadalupe room definitely gives No Support for the back. Though we were provided with our own mini coffee pot - the Main Coffee pot downstairs for guests - was empty when I wanted some for breakfast. First breakfast of croissant stuffed was ham, egg, and cheese was delicious. Second breakfast of hand-made waffles, although good, was paltry: no meat or fruits, tad disappointing - since the nearest places to eat are driving distance away.
SUMMARY: If you are looking to unwind, mind, body, soul: the surroundings of Manitou Lodge is it. If you are looking for 5-Star accommodations with a lot of night life: Nope! It's unique - beautiful - we're glad we stayed there and would like to return when we have more time.

Room Tip: If you have a lot of luggage or can't do stairs: make sure you find out in advance what level y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leilanikatwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This lodge appeared as a gem on the websites. However, they room we were assigned was by the main hall and all the noises could be heard. People kept on knocking on our room for check-in while the managers were nowhere to be found. For a room that costs $200 per night, we found it absolutely a slap I the face to have such a poor service. We could hear every time people upstairs were flushing the toilet, taking a shower or walking around.
The "breakfast" is less than poor, a sandwich and packaged cookies.
I don't recommend this place to anyone. It is unreasonably expensive for what it offers.

Room Tip: Do not ask for a lower level room (even though we were assigned to it). Even then, extremely expensi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Noelia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eddo42, Owner at Manitou Lodge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

We sincerely regret any disturbance by other guests and late arrivals. Check-in at the Manitou Lodge is from 4-7 PM. Late arrivals are greeted at the front desk by readily visible signs and a house telephone clearly indicating that one should call the resident manager in order to check in. The manager resides on the property, and will usually arrive within a minute or two. We’re also sorry that breakfast was seen as substandard, and that noise levels were perceived to be unacceptably high. Breakfast is, however, a good deal more than a “sandwich and packaged cookies”. Rather, it’s a breakfast basket consisting of a main course (which varies on a daily basis), fruit, juice, homemade muffins, yogurt, toast, and coffee. Occasionally, we do add a granola bar or some packaged cookies. As for noise levels, our main building is a one-of-a-kind structure beautifully constructed in 1970 from fir and cedar. Typical of older buildings, it could do with a bit more interior wall and floor soundproofing, but it is by no means noisy. So that there is no misconception - no guest here is ever “assigned” a room. Guests select for themselves among the rooms available at the time of booking. Finally, management here pays attention to the comfort of guests, and much prefers to solve problems as they occur rather than hearing about them for the first time in a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My husband and I only got to spend one night at the lodge, but everything was wonderful! We had a room in the upper level of the lodge and I would choose that again. The place itself makes you want to curl up by the fire with a bottle of wine - which we did - and the location is great to be close to the beaches. My only comment is that the walls are pretty thin - we could hear people just talking in the room next door, but all around really great.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Forks hotels
23.4 mi away
Kalaloch Lodge
Kalaloch Lodge
#1 of 5 in Forks
1,480 reviews
7.3 mi away
Forks Motel
Forks Motel
#3 of 5 in Forks
455 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Pacific Inn Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Miller Tree Inn Bed & Breakfast
8.3 mi away
Misty Valley Inn B&B
Misty Valley Inn B&B
#1 of 11 in Forks
347 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Dew Drop Inn Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manitou Lodge Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manitou Lodge Bed and Breakfast

Address: 813 Kilmer Rd, Forks, WA 98331-9511
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Forks
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Forks
Price Range: £49 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Manitou Hotel Forks
Manitou Lodge b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing