We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great beach for Clamming”

Double Bluff County Park
Ranked #2 of 8 things to do in Freeland
Attraction details
Walnut, California
Level Contributor
143 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great beach for Clamming”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This is our visit to the Seattle area for clamming. It is also our first try for clamming. We make sure that the tide was at least negative 1.5. According to the locals, the best area was about 1/4 mile walk from the parking area, near the bluff. We arrived at the beach about 1 hour before the low tide and saw the tide was in deed low and going out. The area was more rocky and full of green sea weed. When we see water shooting out and we would start digging close to the spot. We were successful at our first try and caught enough clams for a good meal.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank Francis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    21
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
258 reviews
107 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Dog friendly beach with nice views”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We walked way down the beach and let our dog run free....he loved it! You can see the Olympics and even Mt. Rainier! It was a clear sunny day and we enjoyed our time there. Great place to kayak....lots of folks going out on the water.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tuxtails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“One of the rare sandy beaches on Whidbey”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Great place to spend an afternoon. Dog friendly, South facing, nice sand. The parking lot is small, so go early or prepare to park on the road and walk.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
298 reviews
120 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great dog walk!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Such a beautiful spot. Walk to the end of the beach to the bluffs. They are clay cliffs. You can take your dog off leash further down..... But make sure you pick up after your puppy!! We love taking our schnauzer there for a run.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KenandDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Dog friendly”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

A beautiful walking, sunning, playing beach that is dog friendly! Easy to find and ample parking, though at busy times some may have to park on the street...Off leash dog area is to the right of the main park/play area...

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ahottoddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Double Bluff County Park also viewed

Langley, Whidbey Island
 
Coupeville, Whidbey Island
Freeland, Whidbey Island
 

Been to Double Bluff County Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing