We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel on the Island” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harbor Inn

Harbor Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Harbor Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Freeland
Monmouth, Oregon
Level Contributor
80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel on the Island”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

Nice and comfortable. Large room, friendly staff. Good price. Good location on the island. Older property but the bed was VERY comfortable and clean Supermarket across the street. Good restaurants walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ysottot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    19
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
15
17
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aloha, Oregon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

The Inn keeper, Sabrina stayed up late to wait for my arrival. The room was spacious and the cost was reasonable. The room was very clean. With the whole Island shutting down early, could have used more channel on the TV. Fortunately it came with free WIFI. The breakfast was not very big, really didn't have much of a selection. Having the grocery store across the street helped.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gejiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

Nice, clean, large rooms. Manager was helplful and brought us a crib for our baby and was accomodating to out other kids. Good beds, small kitchen, and real value. Breakfast was too simple, just cereal, more fresh fruit would have been nice. Right across from big grocery store and central to everything.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vivatommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Augusta, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
99 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

This hotel exceeded our expectations in every way. The owners were friendly and efficient in our check-in. Our rooms were spacious with everything we needed. We had a quiet, peaceful sleep and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Every room is basically the same except for some having a kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

My wife and I stayed here in 2011 and 2013 while visiting relatives on Whidbey. The people are friendly, but the hotel is very dated. And it is pricey. It features the normal amenities such as coffee maker, microwave and fridge. The fridge was oversize and had a freezer. The TV was limited on available stations and the picture quality, overall, was poor. There was plenty of hot water and adequate counter space in the bathroom. The bed was comfortable. They offer a complimentary continental breakfast beginning at 8 am, but it consisted of danish, bananas, cereal, juice and coffee. The Freeland Cafe is 1 1/2 blocks up the hill from the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JJ L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
170 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 609 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

A gem of a hotel! We're up here on Whidbey Island to attend a wedding and needed something close (within 15 miles) of the venue. I read the reviews here, several recommendations and a couple of suspicious looking reviews. I decided to see for myself. I'm going to have to agree with the positives, and discount the negatives - if I were to reserve any hotel for something as important as a wedding, and if I reserved the wrong day, there's not a hotel of this size in existence that could have been able to accommodate; therefore, the negative review regarding this point is wrongfully applied and should be discounted with significant suspicion.

We arrived and found our room to be more than adequate, well designed, and with sufficient room to accommodate our needs. King sized bed, quiet (yes, we requested 'close to the road' to check the other 'loud traffic' issue in a different review) I watched from my window, with wonder and awe, as I SAW traffic, but didn't hear any, not even a tanker truck. We found the linens on the bed and the 'covejas' to be cozy, warm and comfortably relaxing, great night's sleep; no sore back!!

Furniture was coordinated and well placed, lighting was fine, temperature perfect, adjustable and very comfortable. Dressing area well appointed, shower - great water flow! Towels, fluffy and color coordinated!

Front staff (even though this was our FIRST time at this hotel) greeted me BY NAME when we arrived. She saved me some time locating our venue, I would have added 15 miles to our trip had I gone looking for it in the listed city, and yet, it was less than 3 miles from our hotel.

Shopping center (food, pharmacy, restaurants, gas, and so on) right across the street.

Harbour Inn deserves your consideration; it has my unrestricted, top recommendation for a stay on South Whidbey.

Thank you, Harbour Inn for your superb hospitality!!!

Room Tip: Call for reservations, but be smart about it - request the date you'll actually be here - especi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SBruce J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freeland, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2012

I first stayed there 20 years ago while exploring South Whidbey Island. At various times I have also been a guest for extended stays - a month or more - as well as overnight. When living on the Island I always put up my own guests there. It is known locally as "everyone's guest room". It is exceptionally well run. All personnel including Owners, Manager, and the help are friendly, helpful, and competent.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeland
21.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center
17.4 mi away
The Captain Whidbey Inn
The Captain Whidbey Inn
#1 of 2 in Coupeville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
21.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Oak Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
The Resort at Port Ludlow
The Resort at Port Ludlow
#1 of 1 in Port Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
11.2 mi away
Silver Cloud Inn Mukilteo – Waterfront
21.3 mi away
The Coachman Inn
The Coachman Inn
#2 of 4 in Oak Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Inn

Property: Harbor Inn
Address: 1606 Main St, PO Box 1350, Freeland, Whidbey Island, WA 98249-9467
Region: United States > Washington > Whidbey Island > Freeland
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Freeland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Harbor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbor Inn is a popular and affordable motel located in the heart of South Whidbey Island. Guest rooms are clean and spacious and new Sealy mattresses guarantee a good nights sleep. Room amenities include mini-fridge and microwave, telephone, cable TV and WiFi in your room. A continental breakfast is available during the summer months. The motel is close to shops, beaches, the State park, and popular destinations like the village of Langley and historic Coupeville. The Harbor Inn is a pet friendly lodging and welcomes families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Hotel Freeland
Harbor Inn Freeland, WA - Whidbey Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing