We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfy pleasant retreat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maritime Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maritime Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Gig Harbor
Tacoma
1 review
“Comfy pleasant retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

My son and I wanted a getaway somewhere clean, safe, quiet, and near the water. The Maritime Inn has a pleasant retreat feeling. The room we had came with a spa bath and fireplace. We had the option to open the window for. Fresh air and the relaxing sound of seagulls,ca/c, heat, or fireplace warmth. The room was clean, shabby chic style, and the people that work here are wonderful! The area is great with shopping, sights, boats, kayaks, and restaurants to choose from. I have no complaints! Heck, i was greeted with a glass of wine upon arrival. Definitely recommending to my friends.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    41
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
24
61
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
85 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Our group was staying here for business meetings twice in the last month. We found the staff (and we have now been there enough in the last month to meet them all) to be friendly and available. Our room is generously appointed. Wireless is strong. The continental breakfast is generous, Though there is no seating, we congregated on the stairs. [And a great Washington State glass of wine selection upon check-in.] The heat is somewhat inconsistent, though opening up the window for the fresh air was a more than adequate solution. We plan to stay there again.

Room Tip: We like rooms 14,15 and 16. One of our partners prefers the rooms on the upper level in the main bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem Oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

I checked in with my teenage daughter and her friend. I was told they had a small room with a queen size bed. When the nice woman held the door open and looked in, she said to the inn keeper, there's only one bed. The inn keeper replied, that's their problem. The room was hot and stuffy. We ran the AC, but it was really noisy. When we told the inn keeper in the morning, she replied that it was probably due to the third person. The younger woman who helped us was very nice, the inn keeper was plain rude.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Graet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
visittheharbor, General Manager at Maritime Inn, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
We are always happy to have our guests write a review of their visit to The Maritime Inn. It helps us to improve our service to all our valued guests. I was somewhat perplexed by this review and certainly very sorry that the guest thought I was rude in any way. All the staff works very hard to make sure we are welcoming and offer the best accommodations for each guest's situation. In this case, when the guest presented themselves for check in to the room they requested on the phone, I was concerned that the room would not be comfortable for three people. When I mentioned this, I was told that they would be fine. Part of their room package included a discounted rate and a bottle of wine which was delivered to their room. To my knowledge, the staff was not told of any problems or discomfort.

When the guest was checking out in the morning she told me the room had been very hot and that the air conditioner was noisy. I mentioned that it was probably caused partly by the pilot light in the fireplace, that does put out heat and possible also because there were three people in the room making it seem warmer. I work very hard to insure that each and every guest enjoys their visit but some things are out of my ability to change. I again apologize if the guest thought any of my comments were rude, they were certainly not meant to be. The Veteran Room is a small but very charming room that many guests specifically request. The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaTac, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

My overnight at the Maritime Inn was wonderful. My room was well appointed with a small, cozy sitting area in addition to a most comfortable bed and charming fireplace. The Tides, the room I stayed in, is boardwalk level, across the street from the harbor, offering a wonderful view of boats arriving and departing as well as great people watching, as shoppers strolled by. The staff was warm and inviting, and the glass of wine given upon check-in was a pleasant added touch. I was surprised that they provided a continental breakfast, and the variety of items for this small, boutique-type inn was impressive. The Maritime is at the center of Gig Harbor, walking distance to a variety of good eateries and quaint shops. Being a latte drinker, I loved that a coffee shop is located next door, though one can find freshly-brewed coffee inside the Maritime Inn as well as a coffee service provided in my room. The 40-minute drive from Seattle took me to a quiet, restful, rejuvenating weekend, which seemed like hours away rather than minutes. Why didn't I do this before? I look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan_Starbucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

This location in Gig Harbor is ideal, the service fabulous and with cozy rooms. There is no restaurant but you are in the heart of this quaint harbor town and lots of restaurants nearby. Just the nicest staff that goes out of their way to help. The fireplace in the room is such a nice touch. My bed was so comfortable. You can't go wrong - all is great!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JMar2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southworth, Wa
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

We were so happy to find this place open with a room available on a snowy February night. We had returned to SeaTac Airport after a week in the Florida Keys. We thought we could make it, but the snow got heavier as we drove through Tacoma, and we decided to look for a place to stay in Gig Harbor. We found the Maritime Inn on the water near the center of town. We stayed in The Shenandoah, a room with a king size bed, a gas fireplace and a large jetted tub. And snacks and breakfast! Lovely.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 60sgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at Maritime Inn over the Thanksgiving holidays and could not have been happier. The room was cosy with a fireplace to use if you got chilly. The staff was so very welcoming, offering us a glass of red wine on our arrival. The coffee in the morning was fantastic and there was fresh fruit and yoghurt if you wanted to skip the packaged pastries or cereal. The annual Turkey Trot kicked off early Thanksgiving morning, and it is such a fun way to start your day, watching all the runners and walkers with music and commentary by a very entertaining MC. We loved every minute of our stay and would highly recommend this lovely inn.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie8460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gig Harbor
1.4 mi away
The INN at Gig Harbor
The INN at Gig Harbor
#2 of 5 in Gig Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Wesley Inn & Suites
6.5 mi away
Silver Cloud Inn Tacoma - Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Hotel Murano
Hotel Murano
#3 of 28 in Tacoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,035 reviews
9.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tacoma Downtown
8.8 mi away
Courtyard Tacoma Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritime Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritime Inn

Property: Maritime Inn
Address: 3212 Harborview Dr, Gig Harbor, WA 98335-2125
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Gig Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Gig Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maritime Inn is the area's most distinctive hotel, where personal service and unequaled comfort are combined to create an atmosphere of casual elegance and charm. This 15 room boutique hotel is situated in an area of pristine beauty and is Gig Harbor's only downtown hotel along the historic waterfront. Located within walking distance to the harbor's finest restaurants, art galleries, wonderful shops and beautiful marinas. Graciously appointed rooms await guests, with friendly staff, cozy fireplaces, luxurious Northwest interiors and picturesque views of the harbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Maritime Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritime Hotel Gig Harbor
Maritime Motel Gig Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing