We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just lovely!”
Review of Waterfront Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Waterfront Inn
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Gig Harbor
Albany, Oregon
1 review
“Just lovely!”
Reviewed 23 February 2013

What a lovely place to stay...right on the bay with a gorgeous view just out our door (see my profile photo!). This was a stop-over for us on our way to Leavenworth, but we plan to visit again and stay longer. Especially liked the jacuzzi tub. I believe that Gary & Sue have kayaks to loan...we couldn't take advantage this time around, but seems like a fun idea for next time.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    27
    7
    6
    1
See reviews for
10
71
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012

We spent Thanksgiving night here in Gig Harbor at the Waterfront Inn (which I picked based on TA reviews!). Nice small inn right on the harbor. Our room was tiny but comfortable with just one window overlooking the bay. Not much to say- we had a nice night's sleep in a cozy room. We would recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodford, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We had three nights in this lovely inn. The first night we were in the Quartermaster Room upstairs, it is a cute room with lots of character, then the Regatta Room, ground floor, facing the harbour, gorgeous. Gary and Sue (the managers), were really friendly and helpful. We had delicious breakfasts just a short walk down the road at the Devoted Kiss, a must visit. Complementary use of the kayaks for guests was great, we got to kayak in the harbour with some seals! So glad we stayed there and we would again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stewie916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

I am quite fond of Waterfront vilages all over the country, and given the unusually warm weather this Fall, had the opportunity to visit the sleepy Fishing Village of 'Gig Harbor' WA. No rainfall - the sun shone brightly entire stay - rare for Seattle! I selected the 'Waterfront Inn B & B" specifically for, the historic interest involved; the home was restored to a charming Inn, once an an old 1800's local fisherman's dwelling - seated right at the foot of the sprawling Puget Sound. The natural rural beauty surrounding the Inn makes for breathtaking photos off the backyard boat-dock. There is a distinctive New England feel about the setting as well, w/ rustic Inlets and barns sprinkled about. The home itself has all the charm and quaintness you would imagine from that period; all wood flooring, charming bed quilts and furnishings, and smallish rooms - appropriate for that century. The Innkeepers, were a lovely husband & wife team, who extended a warmth seemingly consistant about the town. "Sue" was on hand to tend to your every need and I felt like I was staying in someone's home for the week - as opposed to a cold, impersonal Hotel. The only downside I could report, is that there are no "breakfast" amenities which kind of break the "bed & breakfast" format, advertised! The rates were reasonable enough for the 'shoulder-season' (139.00 a nite) however, it would have made all the difference in the world to simply add a lovely in room welcome-basket of breads or fruit, or SOMEthing in the morning - besides a coffee maker. I imagined that in the current down economy likely the Owners were wittling costs, but in the long-run I suggest, a bad move. Personal touches like these can make or break, a small business. I will return next Summer indeed, no matter......one of the MOST charming Boutique Inns I've ever visited, amongst my travels...! 'Gig Harbor (local family-run) Taxi' service is available to shuttle you to & from Inn.

Room Tip: Book in advance and ask for the room of your choice - the 'Quartermaster' is the least expen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewportBeachWords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

The Inn Keepers are terrific, great with suggestions and in our case general conversation on the area and the Inn and their experience. The room was nice, Quartermaster, smallish bathroom but the bed was comfortable and the room was clean. We had two incidents and the Inn Keepers were great. First we broke the in-room coffee pot trying to clean it, they had a spare and would not let us buy a replacement. Second, we took the tandem kayak out into the harbor for about an hour ride, and a rather large yacht put a good wave into the kayak and well, the Inn Keepers dried our clothes when we got back and we really appreciated that as we were just starting our ten day trip. The Kayaks are free for guests to use, just fill out the form and away you go. It is an Inn and not a B&B, we enjoyed our coffee and excellent breakfast at the Devoted Kiss, guest of the Waterfront Inn get 10% off, we found the food excellent and reasonable and a very short walk away. Our sever was Alex, she is excellent, we even took a picture with her the second day. We would not hesitate to stay at the Waterfront Inn again, though we might trade up for one of the larger rooms with bigger view but a nice place and it is just 45 minutes South/West from Sea-Tac. We enjoyed the large deck/dock area with plenty of seating, watching the boats and birds, a great spot to have a glass of wine and take in the views.

Room Tip: Splurge and get a big view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jedidiah1899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

This is a great place to relax...very quiet...rooms are professionally decorated in a nautical theme. There is an adjacent dock with wicker furniture where we sat and enjoyed our magnificent view and lovely, sunny day. Our room was only 20 ft. from the water and had a great view. The room was very clean. We had a large bathroom with a jacuzzi. The managers were wonderful, knowledgeable, accommodating people. Morning coffee was provided. The Inn is within walking distance to good restaurants.

Room Tip: Pictures of the rooms are on the website so you can determine which one you would like if it is avai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lois S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anacortes
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

we booked our room based on it being a bed and breakfast when we checked in we were given a nice welcome letter and a list of where we could go for a discounted breakfast i thought it was a nice touch in case we didn't want the breakfast part " delivered to our front door" but if we wanted a more substantial breakfast we would know were to go i was very surprised the first morning when we got up and there was nothing i must say though there was a very nice coffee and hot drink station in a shared common room with a microwave, a toaster and little refrigerator plus microwave popcorn a nice touch but not the breakfast part that had me booking a room here we were never informed that they had changed what they were doing or maybe we were not in the higher paying rooms so we did not receive the ' small breakfast and glass of wine' the last reviewer received the plus side of this place is sue and Dave very nice people the down side is we were in the wheelhouse room the only room with out a view which we were informed of when we booked so that was okay BUT the only window faced the street and a street light shined in our window all night long lighting it up the only curtain was a white cloth curtain so no blocking out of the light PLUS it was very hot i mean we couldn't sleep hot even though it had a window air conditioner when we turned it on it was so loud we couldn't sleep over the noise the second day i found a small fan that i put in the window to cool us with out the noise so at least the heat didn't keep up awake an other plus was the jacuzzi tub even though both my husband and my self could stand to loose a few pounds it comfortably held us both the down side is even with both of us in the tub we didn't even get a half a tub full of hot water good thing the room was so hot ;] so all in all even though sue and Dave were very nice people i would never come back here because of 1. no breakfast at the B&B [unless maybe you have the right rooms?] 2. so so so hot was unable to sleep 3. even though the shared common room was a very nice touch we so happened to share it with a couple of pigs who left coffee grounds every where , food in the microwave, dirty dished and trash every where i cleaned it up as i felt it wasn't fair to our wonderful hosts to have to clean up after them 4. i left a privacy please sign up when we left for the day as i do not like people to come in to my private space rented 2 days or not and when we came back from a nice day trip some one had come in our room and straightened up would this bother a lot of people probably not but me and my husband most definitely it felt like an Invasion why provide a privacy sign if it is to be ignored?

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank m f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janisdenton, Owner at Waterfront Inn, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
We are sorry about the misunderstanding about the breakfast. Our own website does not speak of any breakfast but trip advisor still had the breakfast on their site. Thank you for pointing this out to us. We hope you enjoyed a breakfast at one of our wonderful Gig Harbor restaurants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gig Harbor
2.1 mi away
The INN at Gig Harbor
The INN at Gig Harbor
#2 of 5 in Gig Harbor
306 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Wesley Inn & Suites
7.2 mi away
Silver Cloud Inn Tacoma - Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Hotel Murano
Hotel Murano
#3 of 28 in Tacoma
3,276 reviews
9.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tacoma Downtown
0.8 mi away
Maritime Inn
Maritime Inn
#3 of 5 in Gig Harbor
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Inn

Property: Waterfront Inn
Address: 9017 N Harborview Dr, Gig Harbor, WA 98332-2164
Region: United States > Washington > Gig Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Gig Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterfront Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gig Harbor's only waterfront lodging, just 20' from the water's edge, we offer privacy and a peaceful setting. Watch ducks, seals and herons from the Inn, go for a walk or kayaking on the bay. Located steps from shops and restaurants, the History Museum and our famous fly fishing shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Waterfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Hotel Gig Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing