We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, very relaxing”
Review of Waterfront Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Waterfront Inn
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Gig Harbor
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent location, very relaxing”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

The best part of the Inn is its location, in more ways than one. Being right on the water with a very nice deck and also a dock with kayaks available was just what we were looking for after a warm afternoon ride into Gig Harbor. We used one of their kayaks to paddle around the harbor for a bit before taking an easy stroll down the street for dinner. After dinner it was back out to the deck to relax some more while overlooking the water. We even found ourselves back out on the deck the next morning with our coffee before another walk into town for breakfast. We had what I believe was the smallest room at the Inn, which was still comfortable, though the bathroom reminded of my time in England with its low, sloped ceiling. Overall, a very nice place to stay.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    27
    7
    6
    1
See reviews for
10
72
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We practically lived on the enormous deck overlooking the harbor. We bought deli from the little store a couple blocks away and watched the sunset. Then got up in the morning and watched the sunrise sparkle over the water like little wings. Herons, eagles, and kingfishers all entertained us. The bed was like sleeping on a cloud. The owner and the other guests were delightful. Staying here was the highlight of our NW adventure.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Regatta Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newnan, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Just spent our 3rd consecutive 4th of July in Gig Harbor. My wife's uncle has a boat and we hang out during the day and then see the Tacoma fireworks before retreating to our hotel room.

Last year we stayed at Maritime Inn which overall we found disappointing ... this year, we tried Waterfront Inn which worked much better for us.

The pro's.

1) Good communication via email from the owners. Liked just having a code for the room so we didn't have to check in at a particular time.
2) Having free access to kayaks and paddleboards worked great for us.
3) Room was clean, large with a nice view

Marginal cons

1) I am warm natured and with windows on only one side, we were fairly warm at night. The AC portal unit didn't really cool the room down enough.
2) Owners should consider getting some darker shades like they have in northern Europe - In the summer, first light is by 5am so it made for an early morning after July 4th fireworks.

Overall, when we good back to Gig Harbor, this will be out choice place almost certainly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rogerslb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed here in June of 2013 hoping to have a quiet getaway on the water. The Waterfront fit the bill.

The accommodations were very comfortable and romantic.

There was no restaurant, but the options in the area are good.

Room Tip: It is worth it to choose a room with a view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Jauntsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This Inn is quiet, relaxing and the view of Gig Harbor is outstanding. The bed is very comfortable and to wake up with that view is a great way to start your day. There are 3 wonderful restaurants within a block.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but the Boathouse is our favorite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janie210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission Viejo, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay here. The room was very clean! They have kayaks you can use and we loved our paddle around the harbor, saw a seal pop up right next to us! The owners are so nice and made sure we had everything we needed. She showed us to our room, showed us were everything was (including all the available items in the common room: coffee, hot chocolate, separate kitchen sink, iron, books/magazine, sitting area) and had a couple chocolates for us. Yes, the driveway is steep, but there is parking up top too that is right in front of a couple of the rooms; checkin room is down the driveway. But if you want an inn on the water, the area is hilly so that is to be expected and to us, was not a problem. The pier they have is nicely furnished with tables and chairs to sit and enjoy the view. We loved staying here rather than in Tacoma, much nicer and peaceful and the drive to downtown Tacoma is only 10-15 minutes based on where in Tacoma you are headed. The room had fluffily soft towels, a hair drier, big TV (although we never turned it on), soft mattress, love seat and chair. Within walking distance (less than quarter mile) to a breakfast place that you get 10% off your tab for staying here as well as a dinner place.

Room Tip: They have 6 or 7 rooms and the water view rooms book up first so if you want a view of the harbor an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silverdale, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We checked in on a Friday night for our anniversary getaway. The personal service was impressive, first, while we were en route, Sue called to let us know they were going out for a bit and told us how to check in. Very kind and friendly owners, Sue and Gary, who welcome you and then they leave you alone to enjoy. They live on the main floor and have a totally awesome view of the harbor. When we arrived, there was a bottle of champagne and wonderful chocolates for our anniversary. The Boathouse room on the lower level was quaint. As you enter through the double glass doors facing the water, you are greeted by two chairs by the fireplace in the corner. The bed is behind that. There are two rooms, the bedroom/sitting area and the spacious bathroom behind it. There is a door to a common area for the 3 lower level rooms where you find other amenities, coffee/tea, popcorn, microwave, books, magazines, movies and a refrigerator. They also have kayaks that you can use once you sign the release form (didn’t bring the appropriate clothing for this, but it’s a nice feature).
We are used to a King Bed, so the Queen was “different” but had comfortable linens and pillows. Access to extra pillows would have been awesome… One issue we had was the temperature in the room. The river rock fireplace is a lovely feature but it’s a heater and the room warms up very quickly and we had to turn off this part of the ambiance to try to stay comfortable. For summer, there’s an air conditioner. The décor is lovely and the art work is nice, especially the wonderful old window frame with a map in it.
Easy walk to shops and restaurants on that end of town. We made reservations at Anthony’s Homeport and had a wonderful meal overlooking the harbor and after dark, the stars were out.
We would definitely go back and would encourage others to give it a try. Especially if you’ve been reluctant to try a true bed and breakfast, give this quaint Inn your consideration.

Room Tip: if you have disabilities or difficulty walking, call the owners before booking to ensure accommodati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gig Harbor
1.5 mi away
Best Western Wesley Inn & Suites
2.1 mi away
The INN at Gig Harbor
The INN at Gig Harbor
#2 of 5 in Gig Harbor
336 reviews
7.2 mi away
Silver Cloud Inn Tacoma - Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Hotel Murano
Hotel Murano
#3 of 28 in Tacoma
3,331 reviews
9.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tacoma Downtown
10.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Tacoma Dome Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Inn

Property: Waterfront Inn
Address: 9017 N Harborview Dr, Gig Harbor, WA 98332-2164
Region: United States > Washington > Gig Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Gig Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterfront Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gig Harbor's only waterfront lodging, just 20' from the water's edge, we offer privacy and a peaceful setting. Watch ducks, seals and herons from the Inn, go for a walk or kayaking on the bay. Located steps from shops and restaurants, the History Museum and our famous fly fishing shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Waterfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Hotel Gig Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing