We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm and Secluded Bed and Breakfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bear's Lair Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gig Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bear's Lair Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 6 Gig Harbor B&B and Inns
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Warm and Secluded Bed and Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We wanted to stay at a B & B in Gig Harbor itself, close to the water, with perhaps a view, but our instincts and research kept leading us to Bear's Lair which is located about ten minutes drive from the harbor. Immediately upon arrival we knew we'd made the right choice!

A wonderful property built by the owner's in a secluded wooded area that is quiet and peaceful, with a wonderful and warm interior. We stayed in the Dahlia Room, a very nicely appointed and sizeable room, with a comfy king-sized bed. The lounge/breakfast area that is for all guests, is large, yet cozy, and invites one to linger with a book and a coffee.

The attention to detail that owner's Jen and Giulio have invested into this bed and breakfast, is evident not only in the fine woodwork of the building and furniture, but also in what I call the "extras", like a fridge stocked with drinks, plus cookies and candies which are available 24/7, along with all the nice touches to make your stay more pleasant and effortless. Breakfast was delicious with lovely presentation, all prepared and served by the friendly Jen, who takes the time to get to know her guests and make you feel welcome.

We will return, and highly recommend this bed and breakfast.

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Vancana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
50
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
vancouver wa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

This is a truly beautiful home and we loved our stay there. Jen is a great cook and will difinitely go back,

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deby R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

It's easy to keep coming back to the beautiful house that Jen and Giulio built. Warm hosts, lovely breakfasts, attractive and welcoming rooms -- what more could you want! But there is more ... every detail was lovingly created by your hosts - the finely handmade furniture, cabinetry and hand-laid tiles, the lush landscaping -- the only thing wrong is having to leave. Though surprisingly close to town, the "lair" feels like a country hideaway, with towering trees and fragrant gardens. We're already looking forward to the next visit!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank visitingprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

This was a beautiful little B&B. My girlfriend and I stayed here to get away for the weekend, and we were very happy. The owners were extremely friendly and even upgraded our room for us since they didn't have a full house. We were upgraded to the Rose Room, which was very nicely decorated, with a big bathroom and comfy bed. The overall atmosphere is very relaxing and the breakfast served the next morning was delicious. The owner, Jenn, even leaves out homemade sweets in the dining area for you. The location was not as 'in the woods' as I was expecting, but it was quiet and surrounded by trees. The gazebo that lights up at night was very pretty. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LL7373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed in the Rose Room a couple months ago and we could not have been happier. The room was quite beautiful - everything seemed perfectly placed. When we went out, the owners came in and neatly arranged the blankets and pillows on our bed and even picked up some clothes I had left on the floor (so they wouldn't get stepped on!). These owners really care about their guests and do not hesitate to make the stay as perfect and delightful as possible. I would highly recommended the Bear's Lair Inn to anyone looking to have some relaxing and enjoyble R&R.

-Brianne and Elliott -- Bellevue, WA

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brianne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

When we drove up the main house and grounds looked like a fairy tale. We really enjoyed our night at the Bear's Lair B&B. The carriage house has a full kitchen, large bedroom, murphy bed in the living room, laundry room, everything you could want. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast in the little sunroom off of the deck. The hostess is warm and friendly. Location is a short drive to Gig Harbor. We wish we could have stayed longer. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The Carriage House is quiet & secluded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justhavnfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

This is a wonderful B&B, well appointed and excellant breakfast. The owners, Jenn and Julio, are great people and we enjoyed them as much as we enjoyed the place. Oh, and not to forget Buddy, the most affectionate pal who wags his tail and welcomes their guests.

I would definitely recommend this place and would return whenever I am in the Seattle Area.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gig Harbor
6.3 mi away
The INN at Gig Harbor
The INN at Gig Harbor
#2 of 5 in Gig Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
5.8 mi away
Best Western Wesley Inn & Suites
11.7 mi away
Silver Cloud Inn Tacoma - Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Hotel Murano
Hotel Murano
#3 of 28 in Tacoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,023 reviews
8.2 mi away
Days Inn Port Orchard
Days Inn Port Orchard
#3 of 4 in Port Orchard
3.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
19.2 mi away
Alderbrook Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear's Lair Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear's Lair Bed & Breakfast

Property: Bear's Lair Bed & Breakfast
Address: 13706 92nd Avenue Ct NW, Gig Harbor, WA 98329-7066
Region: United States > Washington > Gig Harbor
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Gig Harbor
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing